Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

UK MK7 to US MK7?

OP Lucent

19th December 2013, 09:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Knoxville, TN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
I installed the UK MK7 update weeks ago and want to switch back to the US now that it's available to get Exchange previews back. What's the CSC code for the US? Kies won't update since it says I already have MK7. Is there another place to download the new ROM? Can I downgrade to an older US ROM and let Kies update that way? I would, but I can't find even the old US ROMs.
19th December 2013, 09:33 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 338
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucent

I installed the UK MK7 update weeks ago and want to switch back to the US now that it's available to get Exchange previews back. What's the CSC code for the US? Kies won't update since it says I already have MK7. Is there another place to download the new ROM? Can I downgrade to an older US ROM and let Kies update that way? I would, but I can't find even the old US ROMs.

Yes you can downgrade, Here is the thread where you can get the USA version. (OLD)

XAR is the USA version - Last one in the list (Labled as Cellular South)

Also you can go here and get the current version, Currently the top one in the list.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to almulder1092 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th December 2013, 11:07 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by almulder1092

Yes you can downgrade, Here is the thread where you can get the USA version. (OLD)

XAR is the USA version - Last one in the list (Labled as Cellular South)

Also you can go here and get the current version, Currently the top one in the list.

Was thinking the same thing but wondering if it even makes sense to do? If the UK gets another update (which I assume will be before the US again) won't Gear Manager download it to my UK rom first?
20th December 2013, 02:43 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
I decided to reload the old ROM and re-upgrade not being sure if were differences. I had some wierdness after loading the old ROM which I suspect was program updates intended for the new ROM. You might want to do a reset to wipe the gear before dropping back to the old version.

Having done so, though, I used Kies to upload the new US ROM and it all went fine. I am now on the US MK7 and all seems well.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
20th December 2013, 03:41 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaltman

I decided to reload the old ROM and re-upgrade not being sure if were differences. I had some wierdness after loading the old ROM which I suspect was program updates intended for the new ROM. You might want to do a reset to wipe the gear before dropping back to the old version.

Having done so, though, I used Kies to upload the new US ROM and it all went fine. I am now on the US MK7 and all seems well.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

So, are the UK and US MK7 firmware versions identical?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
20th December 2013, 03:46 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
I see no discernable differences on the surface. Under the hood, I can't tell. It seems unlikely to me that different versions would be left with the version number. Time will tell.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
20th December 2013, 04:06 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 28
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
How can I tell which version of the MK7 software is installed the Us or the UK. I did both on two devices and don't know if there is a way to.tell

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk
20th December 2013, 06:08 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
214 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67srbell

So, are the UK and US MK7 firmware versions identical?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

I did notice s voice on the great activates a lot quicker, I'm coming from uk mk7, odin'ed to us mk7. Synched to a gs3

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
20th December 2013, 09:22 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 47
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by almulder1092

Yes you can downgrade, Here is the thread where you can get the USA version. (OLD)

XAR is the USA version - Last one in the list (Labled as Cellular South)

Also you can go here and get the current version, Currently the top one in the list.

Thanks for this information, as I was not sure I was on the UK or the US version, having flashed the UK rom, but then being unsure if what appeared to be an update recently actually was. I am in USA and on the XAR version now. All have been working great with Exchange and other notifications.
20th December 2013, 10:57 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 157
 
289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Same size
I opened both .tar files (XAR from USA and BTU from UK) and they have the same exact size on all their subfolders (not a single Byte more, not a single Byte less) I assume they are the same firmware. Why Sammy took too long to update USA firmware? Weird right?
Last edited by danyvw; 20th December 2013 at 11:00 AM.

The Following User Says Thank You to danyvw For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes