Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tablet [Q] Kindle Fire HD 7' 2013 model stuck at boot logo

OP davethebrave14

13th February 2014, 03:02 PM   |  #1  
davethebrave14's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
So well recently i had been messing around with my kindle fire hd running 11.3 firmware and bricked it by messing with the system. I am currently stuck on the kf bootlogo every time i power on. i have purchased a factory cable from ebay, and when i plugged it into my pc it went straight into fastboot. im not really sure on what to do now. tried so many forums but nothing seems to work. please someone help me to restore to stock firmware or unbrick it. please guyss! will be so grateful!

thanksss
dave
13th February 2014, 09:48 PM   |  #2  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Braunfels, TX
Thanks Meter: 610
 
2,231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
You need to flash a system image to it to fix it, unfortunately I don't know where to get hold of a 2013 one, but it should be fixable. The 2012 images wouldn't be compatible so don't bother with trying them.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD running CM10.1 Tablet UI using xda-developers app
14th February 2014, 08:20 AM   |  #3  
davethebrave14's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stunts513

You need to flash a system image to it to fix it, unfortunately I don't know where to get hold of a 2013 one, but it should be fixable. The 2012 images wouldn't be compatible so don't bother with trying them.

Thanks for the really quick reply, but can you please guide me on how to do this?
Thanks so much!
14th February 2014, 08:32 AM   |  #4  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Braunfels, TX
Thanks Meter: 610
 
2,231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davethebrave14

Thanks for the really quick reply, but can you please guide me on how to do this?
Thanks so much!

You would run something like this
Code:
fastboot -i 0x1949 flash boot stock-boot.img
fastboot -i 0x1949 flash recovery stock-recovery.img
fastboot -i 0x1949 flash system stock-system.img
but you will need the images and the fastboot command.
15th February 2014, 04:55 AM   |  #5  
davethebrave14's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stunts513

You would run something like this

Code:
fastboot -i 0x1949 flash boot stock-boot.img
fastboot -i 0x1949 flash recovery stock-recovery.img
fastboot -i 0x1949 flash system stock-system.img
but you will need the images and the fastboot command.

Thanks again man, but can you please provide the images and the commands, cant seem to find them anywhere. when you mean run the code, you mean using terminal right? sorry for all the hassle, kinda new to this whole rooting thing.
ps; will i be able to use KFFAIDE to help me? everytime i run a command, it says "device not reccognized" and similar quotes.

thanks mate for the help!
15th February 2014, 11:54 AM   |  #6  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Braunfels, TX
Thanks Meter: 610
 
2,231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
As far as I know kffa doesn't support the new HD model, and I don't know where to get images for it. If someone else with a rooted device would simply just dd a copy of their system partition and host it, it would be very useful... And yes you run it from a terminal/command prompt.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD using Tapatalk
15th February 2014, 02:21 PM   |  #7  
davethebrave14's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stunts513

As far as I know kffa doesn't support the new HD model, and I don't know where to get images for it. If someone else with a rooted device would simply just dd a copy of their system partition and host it, it would be very useful... And yes you run it from a terminal/command prompt.

So that means I would have to wait a while for someone to do a copy? that would be in, say a few months right?
15th February 2014, 04:36 PM   |  #8  
Ph0enix_216's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag /system/xbin/su
Thanks Meter: 101
 
446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stunts513

As far as I know kffa doesn't support the new HD model, and I don't know where to get images for it. If someone else with a rooted device would simply just dd a copy of their system partition and host it, it would be very useful... And yes you run it from a terminal/command prompt.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD using Tapatalk

With the number of bricks this device has had, I'm suprised no one has done this already. If only I could get my hands on my mom's KFHD 2013..

>>>Sent from my homebuilt TARDIS running Android 4.4... or maybe it's a rooted Kindle Fire HD running CyanogenMod 11<<<

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes