Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,048 Members 46,968 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I need help! Bootloader nightmare

Tip us?
 
kud0s
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, B.C.
Default I need help! Bootloader nightmare

I have a Bell variant of I317M.

It has no bootloader. The only way I can get it to even boot is to use samsung kies emergency recovery. It will then boot up just fine, however I have the:

baseband - null
Iemi - null

So basically I cannot use any network stuff.

I just want to start over from scratch. I have no idea where things went wrong. The troubles started when I tried to flash DN3 rom. I followed the guide to a tee but something went wrong somehow. I have flashed many many roms. Never had any issues like this before. It is a terrible loop and I need some outside perspectives on what to try next. So many posts and I have read a TON. I think my modem is messed up somehow. I try to flash some things like 4.3Param and bootloaders and Odin begins but every time it fails. So I have to reset it via KIES. It has become overwhelming for me to fix. I worry I need jtag service but I was hoping some kind person on the boards can offer me some hope. My head is spinning and I have a total headache.

Thank you
 
dicksteele
Old
#2  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1159
Posts: 2,068
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s View Post
I have a Bell variant of I317M.

It has no bootloader. The only way I can get it to even boot is to use samsung kies emergency recovery. It will then boot up just fine, however I have the:

baseband - null
Iemi - null

So basically I cannot use any network stuff.

I just want to start over from scratch. I have no idea where things went wrong. The troubles started when I tried to flash DN3 rom. I followed the guide to a tee but something went wrong somehow. I have flashed many many roms. Never had any issues like this before. It is a terrible loop and I need some outside perspectives on what to try next. So many posts and I have read a TON. I think my modem is messed up somehow. I try to flash some things like 4.3Param and bootloaders and Odin begins but every time it fails. So I have to reset it via KIES. It has become overwhelming for me to fix. I worry I need jtag service but I was hoping some kind person on the boards can offer me some hope. My head is spinning and I have a total headache.

Thank you

Can you get to download mode, assuming yes since you can ODIN, and can you get to recovery ?

Stop flashing bootloaders #1.

---------- Post added at 09:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:48 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Can you get to download mode, assuming yes since you can ODIN, and can you get to recovery ?

Stop flashing bootloaders #1.
Have you flashed MeanBean ??

Check this out
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=458
Please get out of my Van Halen t-shirt before you jinx the band and they break up....
 
kud0s
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, B.C.
Yes I can get into Odin and yes I know not to flash bootloaders. I have never flashed a bootloader until my baseband went to Null. and my modem flashes via odin fail all the time. I can flash recoveries yes. I can load DN3 with no network. I can load stock roms with no network.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Can you get to download mode, assuming yes since you can ODIN, and can you get to recovery ?

Stop flashing bootloaders #1.

---------- Post added at 09:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:48 PM ----------



Have you flashed MeanBean ??

Check this out
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=458
 
dicksteele
Old
#4  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1159
Posts: 2,068
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s View Post
Yes I can get into Odin and yes I know not to flash bootloaders. I have never flashed a bootloader until my baseband went to Null. and my modem flashes via odin fail all the time. I can flash recoveries yes. I can load DN3 with no network. I can load stock roms with no network.
Which stock ROM have you tried ? This one?

Model: SGH-I317M
Model name:
Country: Canada (Bell Mobile)
Version: Android 4.3
Changelist: 2156641
Build date: Tue, 19 Nov 2013 08:10:45 +0000
Product Code: BMC
PDA: I317MVLUCMK5
CSC: I317MOYACMK5
MODEM: I317MVLUCMK5

---------- Post added at 11:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Which stock ROM have you tried ? This one?

Model: SGH-I317M
Model name:
Country: Canada (Bell Mobile)
Version: Android 4.3
Changelist: 2156641
Build date: Tue, 19 Nov 2013 08:10:45 +0000
Product Code: BMC
PDA: I317MVLUCMK5
CSC: I317MOYACMK5
MODEM: I317MVLUCMK5
Or do you have a backup ? Sounding like /efs is hosed.
Please get out of my Van Halen t-shirt before you jinx the band and they break up....
 
kud0s
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, B.C.
I have tried that one and the 4.1.2 from Sammobile. I think the problem started with bad storage, which corrupted the EFS folder. Now when I plug it into the PC it reads available storage 0 and -1,400,000 bytes used. I really don't get whats going on. Trying emergency firmware via Kies to try and fix it. The way I see it, fixing it shouldn't be this difficult. I have ran into major problems with funky roms etc where I thought I totally bricked a previous device and was able to save it. This problem sure has a knack for making me feel stupid, that's for sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Which stock ROM have you tried ? This one?

Model: SGH-I317M
Model name:
Country: Canada (Bell Mobile)
Version: Android 4.3
Changelist: 2156641
Build date: Tue, 19 Nov 2013 08:10:45 +0000
Product Code: BMC
PDA: I317MVLUCMK5
CSC: I317MOYACMK5
MODEM: I317MVLUCMK5

---------- Post added at 11:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 PM ----------



Or do you have a backup ? Sounding like /efs is hosed.
 
dicksteele
Old
(Last edited by dicksteele; 4th March 2014 at 03:07 PM.)
#6  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1159
Posts: 2,068
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s View Post
I have tried that one and the 4.1.2 from Sammobile. I think the problem started with bad storage, which corrupted the EFS folder. Now when I plug it into the PC it reads available storage 0 and -1,400,000 bytes used. I really don't get whats going on. Trying emergency firmware via Kies to try and fix it. The way I see it, fixing it shouldn't be this difficult. I have ran into major problems with funky roms etc where I thought I totally bricked a previous device and was able to save it. This problem sure has a knack for making me feel stupid, that's for sure.
Just looked back over threads. Didn't you have this happen back on Feb 11? I'm on my phone I'll try and get in my computer and find thread. It's about efs in this forum.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2645289

I guess you got out of that one????


Have you tried this ?
http://techbeasts.com/2013/11/29/how...alaxy-devices/

http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...ional-t1308546




Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Please get out of my Van Halen t-shirt before you jinx the band and they break up....
 
kud0s
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, B.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Just looked back over threads. Didn't you have this happen back on Feb 11? I'm on my phone I'll try and get in my computer and find thread. It's about efs in this forum.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2645289

I guess you got out of that one????


Have you tried this ?
http://techbeasts.com/2013/11/29/how...alaxy-devices/

http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...ional-t1308546




Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Yes it is the same issue. I bought a nexus 5 so now I would just like to get it fixed so I can give it to my gf. I had tried efs pro. I still do not have an efs folder. I was hoping a proper modem/baseband would bring it back. I am so.lost lol
 
dicksteele
Old
#8  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1159
Posts: 2,068
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s View Post
Yes it is the same issue. I bought a nexus 5 so now I would just like to get it fixed so I can give it to my gf. I had tried efs pro. I still do not have an efs folder. I was hoping a proper modem/baseband would bring it back. I am so.lost lol
Gotta keep the GF happy.

I just ran across eomething. Try ODIN back to 4.1.2 then connect wireless then do OTA update to 4.3.




And I'm wondering if Zen's PIT file will cure it......

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2609871

Digging into PIT file
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2

Check out the first post. EFSs is in there.
Please get out of my Van Halen t-shirt before you jinx the band and they break up....
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kud0s
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, B.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Gotta keep the GF happy.

I just ran across eomething. Try ODIN back to 4.1.2 then connect wireless then do OTA update to 4.3.




And I'm wondering if Zen's PIT file will cure it......

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2609871

Digging into PIT file
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2

Check out the first post. EFSs is in there.
I will take a look at those links tonight. I really do appreciate your efforts. I will try the 4.1.2 OTA as you suggested, but the last time I attempted an OTA it said something my device was not permitted (assuming from the missing IMEI/Baseband). Worth a shot though from 4.1.2
 
kud0s
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, B.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s View Post
I will take a look at those links tonight. I really do appreciate your efforts. I will try the 4.1.2 OTA as you suggested, but the last time I attempted an OTA it said something my device was not permitted (assuming from the missing IMEI/Baseband). Worth a shot though from 4.1.2
Okay I tried and it wont let me OTA from 4.1.2 says processing failed. I am trying to use NV Items reader and it wants me to dial *#7284# and enable qualcomm mode. It says mobile network not found when I try to dial *#7284#. I am beyond lost at the point. Phone is on stock 4.1.1 right now and it is rooted without baseband or IMEI.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Pale Moon Browser Ported to Android

Having a wide choice of third party applications is one of the most beautiful things that Android has to … more

Partial Android Wear Source Uploaded to AOSP

2014 is certainly shaping up to be theyear of the wearables. And thanks to its innovative … more

Street Panorama Combines Google Maps and Street View into One App

Google Maps is a must have application forevery amateur world explorer. … more

XDA Behind the Scenes, Part 3

This is the last part of a series of articles that reveals some of the processes, technology, and systems that … more