Galaxy Note 3 Lollipop Leak, Failed Find 5 Update – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 has been leaked! That and … more

Firefox OS Architecture and Collaboration Opportunities w/ Asa Dotzler – XDA:DevCon 2014

We were privileged to host many presentations … more

Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

I need help! Bootloader nightmare

OP kud0s

4th March 2014, 06:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Coquitlam, B.C.
Thanks Meter: 7
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
I have a Bell variant of I317M.

It has no bootloader. The only way I can get it to even boot is to use samsung kies emergency recovery. It will then boot up just fine, however I have the:

baseband - null
Iemi - null

So basically I cannot use any network stuff.

I just want to start over from scratch. I have no idea where things went wrong. The troubles started when I tried to flash DN3 rom. I followed the guide to a tee but something went wrong somehow. I have flashed many many roms. Never had any issues like this before. It is a terrible loop and I need some outside perspectives on what to try next. So many posts and I have read a TON. I think my modem is messed up somehow. I try to flash some things like 4.3Param and bootloaders and Odin begins but every time it fails. So I have to reset it via KIES. It has become overwhelming for me to fix. I worry I need jtag service but I was hoping some kind person on the boards can offer me some hope. My head is spinning and I have a total headache.

Thank you
4th March 2014, 06:53 AM   |  #2  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,585
 
2,428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s

I have a Bell variant of I317M.

It has no bootloader. The only way I can get it to even boot is to use samsung kies emergency recovery. It will then boot up just fine, however I have the:

baseband - null
Iemi - null

So basically I cannot use any network stuff.

I just want to start over from scratch. I have no idea where things went wrong. The troubles started when I tried to flash DN3 rom. I followed the guide to a tee but something went wrong somehow. I have flashed many many roms. Never had any issues like this before. It is a terrible loop and I need some outside perspectives on what to try next. So many posts and I have read a TON. I think my modem is messed up somehow. I try to flash some things like 4.3Param and bootloaders and Odin begins but every time it fails. So I have to reset it via KIES. It has become overwhelming for me to fix. I worry I need jtag service but I was hoping some kind person on the boards can offer me some hope. My head is spinning and I have a total headache.

Thank you


Can you get to download mode, assuming yes since you can ODIN, and can you get to recovery ?

Stop flashing bootloaders #1.

---------- Post added at 09:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:48 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

Can you get to download mode, assuming yes since you can ODIN, and can you get to recovery ?

Stop flashing bootloaders #1.

Have you flashed MeanBean ??

Check this out
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=458
4th March 2014, 07:18 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Coquitlam, B.C.
Thanks Meter: 7
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Yes I can get into Odin and yes I know not to flash bootloaders. I have never flashed a bootloader until my baseband went to Null. and my modem flashes via odin fail all the time. I can flash recoveries yes. I can load DN3 with no network. I can load stock roms with no network.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

Can you get to download mode, assuming yes since you can ODIN, and can you get to recovery ?

Stop flashing bootloaders #1.

---------- Post added at 09:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:48 PM ----------



Have you flashed MeanBean ??

Check this out
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=458

4th March 2014, 08:02 AM   |  #4  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,585
 
2,428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s

Yes I can get into Odin and yes I know not to flash bootloaders. I have never flashed a bootloader until my baseband went to Null. and my modem flashes via odin fail all the time. I can flash recoveries yes. I can load DN3 with no network. I can load stock roms with no network.

Which stock ROM have you tried ? This one?

Model: SGH-I317M
Model name:
Country: Canada (Bell Mobile)
Version: Android 4.3
Changelist: 2156641
Build date: Tue, 19 Nov 2013 08:10:45 +0000
Product Code: BMC
PDA: I317MVLUCMK5
CSC: I317MOYACMK5
MODEM: I317MVLUCMK5

---------- Post added at 11:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

Which stock ROM have you tried ? This one?

Model: SGH-I317M
Model name:
Country: Canada (Bell Mobile)
Version: Android 4.3
Changelist: 2156641
Build date: Tue, 19 Nov 2013 08:10:45 +0000
Product Code: BMC
PDA: I317MVLUCMK5
CSC: I317MOYACMK5
MODEM: I317MVLUCMK5

Or do you have a backup ? Sounding like /efs is hosed.
4th March 2014, 09:13 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Coquitlam, B.C.
Thanks Meter: 7
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
I have tried that one and the 4.1.2 from Sammobile. I think the problem started with bad storage, which corrupted the EFS folder. Now when I plug it into the PC it reads available storage 0 and -1,400,000 bytes used. I really don't get whats going on. Trying emergency firmware via Kies to try and fix it. The way I see it, fixing it shouldn't be this difficult. I have ran into major problems with funky roms etc where I thought I totally bricked a previous device and was able to save it. This problem sure has a knack for making me feel stupid, that's for sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

Which stock ROM have you tried ? This one?

Model: SGH-I317M
Model name:
Country: Canada (Bell Mobile)
Version: Android 4.3
Changelist: 2156641
Build date: Tue, 19 Nov 2013 08:10:45 +0000
Product Code: BMC
PDA: I317MVLUCMK5
CSC: I317MOYACMK5
MODEM: I317MVLUCMK5

---------- Post added at 11:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 PM ----------



Or do you have a backup ? Sounding like /efs is hosed.

4th March 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #6  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,585
 
2,428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s

I have tried that one and the 4.1.2 from Sammobile. I think the problem started with bad storage, which corrupted the EFS folder. Now when I plug it into the PC it reads available storage 0 and -1,400,000 bytes used. I really don't get whats going on. Trying emergency firmware via Kies to try and fix it. The way I see it, fixing it shouldn't be this difficult. I have ran into major problems with funky roms etc where I thought I totally bricked a previous device and was able to save it. This problem sure has a knack for making me feel stupid, that's for sure.

Just looked back over threads. Didn't you have this happen back on Feb 11? I'm on my phone I'll try and get in my computer and find thread. It's about efs in this forum.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2645289

I guess you got out of that one????


Have you tried this ?
http://techbeasts.com/2013/11/29/how...alaxy-devices/

http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...ional-t1308546




Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by dicksteele; 4th March 2014 at 04:07 PM.
4th March 2014, 05:09 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Coquitlam, B.C.
Thanks Meter: 7
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

Just looked back over threads. Didn't you have this happen back on Feb 11? I'm on my phone I'll try and get in my computer and find thread. It's about efs in this forum.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2645289

I guess you got out of that one????


Have you tried this ?
http://techbeasts.com/2013/11/29/how...alaxy-devices/

http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...ional-t1308546




Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yes it is the same issue. I bought a nexus 5 so now I would just like to get it fixed so I can give it to my gf. I had tried efs pro. I still do not have an efs folder. I was hoping a proper modem/baseband would bring it back. I am so.lost lol
4th March 2014, 06:11 PM   |  #8  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,585
 
2,428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s

Yes it is the same issue. I bought a nexus 5 so now I would just like to get it fixed so I can give it to my gf. I had tried efs pro. I still do not have an efs folder. I was hoping a proper modem/baseband would bring it back. I am so.lost lol

Gotta keep the GF happy.

I just ran across eomething. Try ODIN back to 4.1.2 then connect wireless then do OTA update to 4.3.




And I'm wondering if Zen's PIT file will cure it......

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2609871

Digging into PIT file
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2

Check out the first post. EFSs is in there.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 08:54 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Coquitlam, B.C.
Thanks Meter: 7
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

Gotta keep the GF happy.

I just ran across eomething. Try ODIN back to 4.1.2 then connect wireless then do OTA update to 4.3.




And I'm wondering if Zen's PIT file will cure it......

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2609871

Digging into PIT file
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2

Check out the first post. EFSs is in there.

I will take a look at those links tonight. I really do appreciate your efforts. I will try the 4.1.2 OTA as you suggested, but the last time I attempted an OTA it said something my device was not permitted (assuming from the missing IMEI/Baseband). Worth a shot though from 4.1.2
5th March 2014, 03:48 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Coquitlam, B.C.
Thanks Meter: 7
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kud0s

I will take a look at those links tonight. I really do appreciate your efforts. I will try the 4.1.2 OTA as you suggested, but the last time I attempted an OTA it said something my device was not permitted (assuming from the missing IMEI/Baseband). Worth a shot though from 4.1.2

Okay I tried and it wont let me OTA from 4.1.2 says processing failed. I am trying to use NV Items reader and it wants me to dial *#7284# and enable qualcomm mode. It says mobile network not found when I try to dial *#7284#. I am beyond lost at the point. Phone is on stock 4.1.1 right now and it is rooted without baseband or IMEI.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes