FORUMS

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more

Android’s Consistency and The User Experience

This is a site of power users, and it is fair to say that most of us are more … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Can't Root my xperia Z1??

24th October 2013, 04:11 AM |#1  
dremary's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello..I just had my Xperia Z1 updated to the latest firmware 14.1.G.2.257 and tried over and over to root it using vRoot, 360root and Kingo root but with all the result is "Root failed"!!.can anyone help me to root my device on this firmware? Thanks

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
 
 
24th October 2013, 05:49 AM |#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,166
 
Donate to Me
More
You cannot root this firmware

Sent from my C6903 using xda premium
24th October 2013, 05:50 AM |#3  
hush66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 409
 
More
If you have read the numerous threads before updating, you'll find out that the old methods no longer work as Sony closed the root exploit in the new update.

The "longer" way of rooting the 257 firmware can be found here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2440408
24th October 2013, 09:59 PM |#4  
cocchiararo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Escobar
Thanks Meter: 361
 
Donate to Me
More
today 360root was updated.

dunno if it added support ?
1st January 2014, 04:45 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocchiararo

today 360root was updated.

dunno if it added support ?

i just tried, it didn't work............my z1 come with 257, cann't root now...........
1st January 2014, 04:55 AM |#6  
TagEHeuer's Avatar
Senior Member
Bristol
Thanks Meter: 71
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hikarumk2

i just tried, it didn't work............my z1 come with 257, cann't root now...........

What Android version do you have? What model number is your phone?
1st January 2014, 05:00 AM |#7  
cocchiararo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Escobar
Thanks Meter: 361
 
Donate to Me
More
This thread is super old... Only .534 can be rooted, then you can OTA update to .257

Enviado desde mi C6903 mediante Tapatalk
2nd January 2014, 08:16 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TagEHeuer

What Android version do you have? What model number is your phone?

mine is sony z1 running 4.2.2(257), the problem is sony OTAing the newest version 290, so i couldn't downgreat to the old version than ota update to 257
2nd January 2014, 08:30 AM |#9  
TagEHeuer's Avatar
Senior Member
Bristol
Thanks Meter: 71
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hikarumk2

mine is sony z1 running 4.2.2(257), the problem is sony OTAing the newest version 290, so i couldn't downgreat to the old version than ota update to 257

Downgrade to .534, root and then upgrade OTA.

Download the file here: https://mega.co.nz/#!K1QD1bSK!JkgNvz...Tuzn8IaEFhQhUI (ftf file for .534 firmware)

Use flashtool to downgrade it ( untick wipe data/cache/appslogs )

Then root it with vroot or something else.

Then it will prompt you to download .257, doing do it OTA not through your PC
3rd January 2014, 02:32 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TagEHeuer

Downgrade to .534, root and then upgrade OTA.

Download the file here: (ftf file for .534 firmware)

Use flashtool to downgrade it ( untick wipe data/cache/appslogs )

Then root it with vroot or something else.

Then it will prompt you to download .257, doing do it OTA not through your PC

sony is telling me to update to .290 now, will it tell me to update to .257 after i downgraded to .534? or keep telling me update to .290?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes