FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

Most popular touchwiz based rom?

191 posts
Thanks Meter: 9
 
By nodyarg, Senior Member on 19th April 2014, 12:11 AM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I like the touchwiz UI but i want the added enhancements of custom firmware, i know ill probably get flamed with people saying "search
for asking this, but can you guys recommend a custom touchwiz rom? preferably the most popular/up to date
 
 
19th April 2014, 04:07 AM |#2  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 973
 
More
DN3 if you want a 4.3 Rom
Tweaked if you want a 4.1.2 Rom
The Following User Says Thank You to Double0EK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2014, 08:11 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Double0EK

DN3 if you want a 4.3 Rom
Tweaked if you want a 4.1.2 Rom

So DN3 looks great but its a N7105 rom, which apparantly is fine, except that it insists that i flash one of 3 modem options, none of which are for my phone. also i heard that for my phone (t889v), once you flash a modem for the wrong device you cant get the correct modem back again.
19th April 2014, 08:40 PM |#4  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 973
 
More
The T889v doesnt have a flashable modem available?
20th April 2014, 02:30 AM |#5  
cnote74's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag oklahoma city
Thanks Meter: 2,579
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodyarg

So DN3 looks great but its a N7105 rom, which apparantly is fine, except that it insists that i flash one of 3 modem options, none of which are for my phone. also i heard that for my phone (t889v), once you flash a modem for the wrong device you cant get the correct modem back again.

I would take the dn3 zip and take out the n7105 modem files and replace them with t889v modem files.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
21st April 2014, 10:59 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnote74

I would take the dn3 zip and take out the n7105 modem files and replace them with t889v modem files.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I tried that by replacing the modem.bin files in the rom's folders for the 3 modem versions with the wind 4.3 modem.bin, it took 2 flashes before my phone would start working but still had a no network symbol instead of signal bars. i also tried flashing the wind 4.1.1 modem through recovery after but no luck. i can see that others on the t889 have had success with this rom, so i should be able to use it on a t889v, cant figure out what the problem is.
Last edited by nodyarg; 21st April 2014 at 11:02 PM.
21st April 2014, 11:55 PM |#7  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 929
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodyarg

I tried that by replacing the modem.bin files in the rom's folders for the 3 modem versions with the wind 4.3 modem.bin, it took 2 flashes before my phone would start working but still had a no network symbol instead of signal bars. i also tried flashing the wind 4.1.1 modem through recovery after but no luck. i can see that others on the t889 have had success with this rom, so i should be able to use it on a t889v, cant figure out what the problem is.

Once the 889V gets the wrong devices modem you will have a tough time getting it out from what I have seen.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
22nd April 2014, 07:49 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

Once the 889V gets the wrong devices modem you will have a tough time getting it out from what I have seen.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

I got it working by wiping basically everything except external sd, and incidentally soft bricking my phone, then going into download mode and using odin to flash a factory rom. got signal bars back, so then i reflashed custom recovery and tried flashing dn3 with a new modem again but im not having any luck with it.
22nd April 2014, 04:35 PM |#9  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 973
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodyarg

I got it working by wiping basically everything except external sd, and incidentally soft bricking my phone, then going into download mode and using odin to flash a factory rom. got signal bars back, so then i reflashed custom recovery and tried flashing dn3 with a new modem again but im not having any luck with it.

Not having luck with data? Have you set your APNs? Check the obvious stuff first.
22nd April 2014, 06:59 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Double0EK

Not having luck with data? Have you set your APNs? Check the obvious stuff first.

Its not data. Its just plain network signal. Instead of seeing bars at the top right ive got a no smoking sign without the cigarette in the middle. Thats what i meant by "no network" symbol. Im pretty sure that its a modem issue. Strange taht flashing a modem over it wonrt work, and other than that the rom works perfectly, but not being able to use my phone to make calls is kind of a dealbreaker.
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes