FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Most popular touchwiz based rom?

19th April 2014, 12:11 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I like the touchwiz UI but i want the added enhancements of custom firmware, i know ill probably get flamed with people saying "search
for asking this, but can you guys recommend a custom touchwiz rom? preferably the most popular/up to date
 
 
19th April 2014, 04:07 AM |#2  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 973
 
More
DN3 if you want a 4.3 Rom
Tweaked if you want a 4.1.2 Rom
The Following User Says Thank You to Double0EK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2014, 08:11 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Double0EK

DN3 if you want a 4.3 Rom
Tweaked if you want a 4.1.2 Rom

So DN3 looks great but its a N7105 rom, which apparantly is fine, except that it insists that i flash one of 3 modem options, none of which are for my phone. also i heard that for my phone (t889v), once you flash a modem for the wrong device you cant get the correct modem back again.
19th April 2014, 08:40 PM |#4  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 973
 
More
The T889v doesnt have a flashable modem available?
20th April 2014, 02:30 AM |#5  
cnote74's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag oklahoma city
Thanks Meter: 2,578
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodyarg

So DN3 looks great but its a N7105 rom, which apparantly is fine, except that it insists that i flash one of 3 modem options, none of which are for my phone. also i heard that for my phone (t889v), once you flash a modem for the wrong device you cant get the correct modem back again.

I would take the dn3 zip and take out the n7105 modem files and replace them with t889v modem files.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
21st April 2014, 10:59 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnote74

I would take the dn3 zip and take out the n7105 modem files and replace them with t889v modem files.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I tried that by replacing the modem.bin files in the rom's folders for the 3 modem versions with the wind 4.3 modem.bin, it took 2 flashes before my phone would start working but still had a no network symbol instead of signal bars. i also tried flashing the wind 4.1.1 modem through recovery after but no luck. i can see that others on the t889 have had success with this rom, so i should be able to use it on a t889v, cant figure out what the problem is.
Last edited by nodyarg; 21st April 2014 at 11:02 PM.
21st April 2014, 11:55 PM |#7  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 925
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodyarg

I tried that by replacing the modem.bin files in the rom's folders for the 3 modem versions with the wind 4.3 modem.bin, it took 2 flashes before my phone would start working but still had a no network symbol instead of signal bars. i also tried flashing the wind 4.1.1 modem through recovery after but no luck. i can see that others on the t889 have had success with this rom, so i should be able to use it on a t889v, cant figure out what the problem is.

Once the 889V gets the wrong devices modem you will have a tough time getting it out from what I have seen.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
22nd April 2014, 07:49 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

Once the 889V gets the wrong devices modem you will have a tough time getting it out from what I have seen.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

I got it working by wiping basically everything except external sd, and incidentally soft bricking my phone, then going into download mode and using odin to flash a factory rom. got signal bars back, so then i reflashed custom recovery and tried flashing dn3 with a new modem again but im not having any luck with it.
22nd April 2014, 04:35 PM |#9  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 973
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodyarg

I got it working by wiping basically everything except external sd, and incidentally soft bricking my phone, then going into download mode and using odin to flash a factory rom. got signal bars back, so then i reflashed custom recovery and tried flashing dn3 with a new modem again but im not having any luck with it.

Not having luck with data? Have you set your APNs? Check the obvious stuff first.
22nd April 2014, 06:59 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Double0EK

Not having luck with data? Have you set your APNs? Check the obvious stuff first.

Its not data. Its just plain network signal. Instead of seeing bars at the top right ive got a no smoking sign without the cigarette in the middle. Thats what i meant by "no network" symbol. Im pretty sure that its a modem issue. Strange taht flashing a modem over it wonrt work, and other than that the rom works perfectly, but not being able to use my phone to make calls is kind of a dealbreaker.
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy Note II General by ThreadRank