ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Rooting the AT&T LG G2

OP DoubleA319

17th February 2014, 07:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 3
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
My friend has the AT&T G2 and she received an OTA update to her phone on 2/13/14. I want to help her root her phone but I am not sure if the update she received will present any challenges. Can I still use the rooting methods that were already established before her phone received this update ?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to DoubleA319 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleA319

My friend has the AT&T G2 and she received an OTA update to her phone on 2/13/14. I want to help her root her phone but I am not sure if the update she received will present any challenges. Can I still use the rooting methods that were already established before her phone received this update ?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app

Sub'd.

I was literally doing the exact same thing this afternoon too. My friends phone has the newest OTA and is on firmware D80010q.

I tried the normal methods to no avail. I was able to get Superuser on the phone, however, didn't have root access. From what I've been able to come up with we have to downgrade to D80010d in order to root it. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2121


I also am looking for some confirmations on what I mentioned above. Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to iksnoved25 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 11:56 PM   |  #3  
ratibars's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by iksnoved25

Sub'd.

I was literally doing the exact same thing this afternoon too. My friends phone has the newest OTA and is on firmware D80010q.

I tried the normal methods to no avail. I was able to get Superuser on the phone, however, didn't have root access. From what I've been able to come up with we have to downgrade to D80010d in order to root it. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2121


I also am looking for some confirmations on what I mentioned above. Thanks!

Yep that's true. From what I have read in this forum if you have q or o then you have to downgrade to d in order to root. At least that seems to be the proven way!
The Following User Says Thank You to ratibars For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 03:08 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 3
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iksnoved25

Sub'd.

I was literally doing the exact same thing this afternoon too. My friends phone has the newest OTA and is on firmware D80010q.

I tried the normal methods to no avail. I was able to get Superuser on the phone, however, didn't have root access. From what I've been able to come up with we have to downgrade to D80010d in order to root it. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2121


I also am looking for some confirmations on what I mentioned above. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratibars

Yep that's true. From what I have read in this forum if you have q or o then you have to downgrade to d in order to root. At least that seems to be the proven way!

Thanks for the info guys. It seems my friend is on the q update also. I'll run this by her. Hey iksnoved25, if you happen to attempt this method before me let me know how it goes for you. Good luck to both of us.
18th February 2014, 03:31 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleA319

Thanks for the info guys. It seems my friend is on the q update also. I'll run this by her. Hey iksnoved25, if you happen to attempt this method before me let me know how it goes for you. Good luck to both of us.

Yeah its not my phone, its a girl who lives a few hours away. But if the rooting software isn't updated by the next time I see her (2 weeks or so), I'll most likely give it a shot. Post here or PM me and keep me updated on how it all goes. I found a youtube video that went through it and it doesn't seem that difficult.
18th February 2014, 03:54 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 3
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Yea my friend isn't exactly close and she is likely to be deterred by any extra steps.
Does that video cover downgrading the software version back to d? If so post the link. If it's just a rooting a video I don't need it. I already rooted my Sprint G2.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app
18th February 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleA319

Yea my friend isn't exactly close and she is likely to be deterred by any extra steps.
Does that video cover downgrading the software version back to d? If so post the link. If it's just a rooting a video I don't need it. I already rooted my Sprint G2.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app

here ya go http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqw_LFuyHbE
18th February 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 3
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Thanks

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app
20th February 2014, 02:39 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I was able to root while using D80010o. The instructions in this thread were helpful.. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2633150

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes