5,606,465 Members 33,397 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] Enable soft keys on Droid DNA CM10.1

Tip us?
 
FeaR_x_KhAoS
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 134
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default [HOW TO] Enable soft keys on Droid DNA CM10.1

THIS INCLUDES MODIFYING BUILD.PROP AND SYNAPTICS-RMI-TOUCHSCREEN.KL SO MAKE SURE YOU HAVE BACKUPS!!
I thought i might share this to everyone since i tested it and it works nicely for me so far

1) Go to your build.prop using root explorer or any app that allows access to system files

2) Go to the bottom of the file, and enter the following without the quotes "qemu.hw.mainkeys=0" (MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A BACKUP IN CASE SOMETHING DOESNT WORK OUT)

3) Find "Synaptics-rmi-touchscreen.kl" located at (system>usr>keylayout) that controls the capacitive keys. Delete everything by editing it with a text editor

4) Reboot and you should have softkeys with the capacitive ones disabled


*I used this app http://goo.gl/JUWqs to disable the capacitive lights*
**If you wish to kepp the capacitive keys enabled skip step 3**
**to Reverse this just replace the build.prop with your backup and replace your Synaptics-rmi-touchscreen.kl with your backup**

Enjoy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-04-15-17-43-51.jpg
Views:	1363
Size:	19.4 KB
ID:	1886792   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-04-15-17-44-06.jpg
Views:	1222
Size:	24.1 KB
ID:	1886793  
Phones - Moto X XT1060 ( Rooted stock )
- HTC Droid DNA S-OFF ENG HBOOT
- DROID Razr HD XT926 Unlocked
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to FeaR_x_KhAoS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
afazel
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 395
Join Date: Dec 2009
This would be great in conjunction with enabling some gestures in the capacitive area a la WebOS

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app

Not bad for one bar of 4G service.0000000000000000And this is work :P
The Following User Says Thank You to afazel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rhettnis
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 91
Join Date: Oct 2010
I sure do hate sense, but this feature if ever somehow made available for a sense rom it would make it a little better, because im not ever really expecting to get e fully functional AOSP based rom anytime soon.
 
Bigandrewgold
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 530
Posts: 2,371
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhettnis View Post
I sure do hate sense, but this feature if ever somehow made available for a sense rom it would make it a little better, because im not ever really expecting to get e fully functional AOSP based rom anytime soon.
They almost have cm to a dd state.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app
 
rhettnis
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 91
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigandrewgold View Post
They almost have cm to a dd state.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app
I doubt the camera will ever be fully functional, which is a no go for me, I can live without Bluetooth, but I need the camera for work.
 
Upstreammiami
Old
#6  
Upstreammiami's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 697
Posts: 3,213
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Davie

 
DONATE TO ME
Any idea why the menu button won't do nothing it just vibrates

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2
 
Codiusprime
Old
(Last edited by Codiusprime; 19th April 2013 at 04:57 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 138
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhettnis View Post
I doubt the camera will ever be fully functional, which is a no go for me, I can live without Bluetooth, but I need the camera for work.



Chad has said the exact opposite in the development thread.

Edit: Sorry, he said it in the Cm 10.1 Rom thread.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda premium
 
jamiethemorris
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 642
Posts: 1,497
Join Date: Jan 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Okay, so on any jelly bean device with soft keys, pushing up from the home soft key brings up a little ring with google now on it. Is there any way to enable this functionality with the hardware keys? It's kind of weird having both hardware and soft keys but I really like this functionality.
 
Argumentation
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 377
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Washinton, DC

 
DONATE TO ME
Any way to shrink the height of the nav bar? It's a bit too tall for my liking.
Phone - Google Nexus 5 White 32GB
ROM - PAC-ROM Pre-Release Alpha1 (2/26 Build)
Kernel - Stock from PAC-Team
Recovery - TWRP 2.6.3.4 with KitKat Holo theme

Retired Phones - Droid X2, HTC Rezound, HTC Droid DNA



Owner of PAC-ROM Build Machine NIGHTMARE
 
Stoney 666
Old
(Last edited by Stoney 666; 13th May 2013 at 12:26 AM.)
#10  
Stoney 666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 736
Posts: 2,700
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SUR GATE!!
Been trying to get this to work on pacman... Should it be any different?

Edit... Got it working. But I can't get the backlights to turn off with the app linked in op.

Check out Bad Seeds Work HERE!

HTC DNA BIATCH!!


Like my work... NEW DEVICE FUNDS HERE!! THANX...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Speed up the ROM or Kernel Build Process

Creating a kernel, ROM, or any other development projectrequires knowledge and tools. While … more

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more