Post Reply

[Q] Difference between 800Mhz Cortex-A5 and 800Mhz ARMv6

OP AGazzaz

13th February 2013, 04:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Hello,
I already have a Samsung Galaxy Pro with a 800 Mhz Cortex A5 processor and I was looking up the Sony Xperia tipo and found that it has a 800 MHz ARMv6 I want to know what is the difference between the two processors.
Thanks.
13th February 2013, 05:32 AM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Flag Lucedale
Thanks Meter: 844
 
3,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Re: [Q] Difference between 800Mhz Cortex-A5 and 800Mhz ARMv6
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGazzaz

Hello,
I already have a Samsung Galaxy Pro with a 800 Mhz Cortex A5 processor and I was looking up the Sony Xperia tipo and found that it has a 800 MHz ARMv6 I want to know what is the difference between the two processors.
Thanks.

The arm6 will smoke the arm5 probably take more over clock and have a better graphics proccesor

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to bbrad For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 11:27 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrad

The arm6 will smoke the arm5 probably take more over clock and have a better graphics proccesor

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2

Thanks bbrad! I was just about to ask the same question!!
14th February 2013, 03:54 AM   |  #4  
sy224048's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) Y U WANT MY LOCATION?
Thanks Meter: 196
 
884 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Re: [Q] Difference between 800Mhz Cortex-A5 and 800Mhz ARMv6
What? All the new phones are armv7,
And the majority of older and cheaper phones are armv6. Its a completely different thing from cortex. Cortex a8 is what's in the sensation and gs2, cortex a9 or a hybrid of it is in the gs3 and all the current generation phones, and cortex a15 is not in any phones yet but there are partially a15 based phones. Each generation is said by arm to be twice as fast and efficient than the last. Anything armv6 is probably old and won't be able to run as well as an armv7 device. However while they are related armv6 is not the same as cortex a6.

Sent from my HTC Sensation using Tapatalk 2
30th March 2013, 04:30 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrad

The arm6 will smoke the arm5 probably take more over clock and have a better graphics proccesor

Quote:

Hello,
I already have a Samsung Galaxy Pro with a 800 Mhz Cortex A5 processor and I was looking up the Sony Xperia tipo and found that it has a 800 MHz ARMv6 I want to know what is the difference between the two processors.
Thanks.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2



The ARM Cortex-A5 is ARMv7 and is newer and better than the ARMv6

The Samsung Galaxy Pro with ARM Cortex A5 has a faster graphics output and memory bus so will performe better than the Sony Xperia tipo ARM11-ARMv6

so Samsung Galaxy Pro has the better processor

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...rocessor_cores

The ARM Cortex A5 ARMv7 is intended to replace the ARM11-ARMv6 for use in devices. Compared to the ARMv6, the Cortex-A5 offers the advanced features of the ARM v7 architecture over ARM11-ARMv6 architectures e.g VFPv4 and NEON advanced SIMD. It also allows devices to run current software
Last edited by craigboro; 30th March 2013 at 04:53 AM.
30th March 2013, 04:36 AM   |  #6  
Account currently disabled
Flag Lucedale
Thanks Meter: 844
 
3,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Re: [Q] Difference between 800Mhz Cortex-A5 and 800Mhz ARMv6
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigboro

wrong

The ARM Cortex-A5 is ARMv7 and is newer and better than the ARMv6


The Samsung Galaxy Pro with ARM Cortex A5 has a faster graphis output and memory bus so will performe better than the Sony Xperia tipo ARM11-ARMv6

so Samsung Galaxy Pro has the better processor

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...rocessor_cores

Really are you fking kidding me you bring up this old thread for something that's already been established

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
15th February 2014, 05:30 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Need your favor
How to root android cortex a-5 ???

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank