Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,105 Members 52,191 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nandroid restore fail HELP!

Tip us?
 
GWS2012
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Nandroid restore fail HELP!

I am cid_044... updated OTA to jelly bean and all was fine. rooted phone and did a nandroid back up of rom, then installed ARHD 15 and didnt like it so tried to restore the back up of stock rom that I made and it didnt work properly.

when I restore the back up of stock rom it comes to lock screen, then I unlock and it goes to white screen with green HTC logo and doesnt go past it.

so for now i am stuck on ARHD 15.

any ideas on what is wrong with my nanroid back up of stock rom?

and any estimate on when the JB RUU's will be available?
 
ali3nfr3ak
Old
#2  
ali3nfr3ak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 136
Posts: 536
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Christchurch
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWS2012 View Post
I am cid_044... updated OTA to jelly bean and all was fine. rooted phone and did a nandroid back up of rom, then installed ARHD 15 and didnt like it so tried to restore the back up of stock rom that I made and it didnt work properly.

when I restore the back up of stock rom it comes to lock screen, then I unlock and it goes to white screen with green HTC logo and doesnt go past it.

so for now i am stuck on ARHD 15.

any ideas on what is wrong with my nanroid back up of stock rom?

and any estimate on when the JB RUU's will be available?
im thinking you probably need to flash the boot.img from the ota update,

fastboot flash boot boot.img
The Following User Says Thank You to ali3nfr3ak For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GWS2012
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ali3nfr3ak View Post
im thinking you probably need to flash the boot.img from the ota update,

fastboot flash boot boot.img
ill need to extract this from the backup file yes?
 
ali3nfr3ak
Old
#4  
ali3nfr3ak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 136
Posts: 536
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Christchurch
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWS2012 View Post
ill need to extract this from the backup file yes?
I would use the one from the OTA but you could try the one from the nandroid backup
The Following User Says Thank You to ali3nfr3ak For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GWS2012
Old
(Last edited by GWS2012; 29th November 2012 at 08:32 PM.)
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ali3nfr3ak View Post
I would use the one from the OTA but you could try the one from the nandroid backup
where can I get that from?

I've got access to the one from the nandroid back up of OTA JB, but not sure where I can get the original one you are talking about.

EDIT:: used boot image from nandroid back up and worked a treat. cheers for your help bro. im up in auckland! been a while since you guys had a decent quake aye!
 
Mr Hofs
Old
#6  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8299
Posts: 13,585
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWS2012 View Post
where can I get that from?

I've got access to the one from the nandroid back up of OTA JB, but not sure where I can get the original one you are talking about.
Look in the nandroid backup folder. Copy the boot.img from it and flash it with fastboot. Go to recovery and wipe all after that restore the nandroid !
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kolniklaus
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kuala Lumpur
I also have problem with nandroid restore, it says volume not found. and when i reboot the phone it stuck at htc logo. any idea how to solve this?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes