Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nandroid restore fail HELP!

OP GWS2012

29th November 2012, 02:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I am cid_044... updated OTA to jelly bean and all was fine. rooted phone and did a nandroid back up of rom, then installed ARHD 15 and didnt like it so tried to restore the back up of stock rom that I made and it didnt work properly.

when I restore the back up of stock rom it comes to lock screen, then I unlock and it goes to white screen with green HTC logo and doesnt go past it.

so for now i am stuck on ARHD 15.

any ideas on what is wrong with my nanroid back up of stock rom?

and any estimate on when the JB RUU's will be available?
29th November 2012, 05:26 AM   |  #2  
ali3nfr3ak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Christchurch
Thanks Meter: 136
 
536 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWS2012

I am cid_044... updated OTA to jelly bean and all was fine. rooted phone and did a nandroid back up of rom, then installed ARHD 15 and didnt like it so tried to restore the back up of stock rom that I made and it didnt work properly.

when I restore the back up of stock rom it comes to lock screen, then I unlock and it goes to white screen with green HTC logo and doesnt go past it.

so for now i am stuck on ARHD 15.

any ideas on what is wrong with my nanroid back up of stock rom?

and any estimate on when the JB RUU's will be available?

im thinking you probably need to flash the boot.img from the ota update,

fastboot flash boot boot.img
The Following User Says Thank You to ali3nfr3ak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th November 2012, 06:39 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ali3nfr3ak

im thinking you probably need to flash the boot.img from the ota update,

fastboot flash boot boot.img

ill need to extract this from the backup file yes?
29th November 2012, 06:59 AM   |  #4  
ali3nfr3ak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Christchurch
Thanks Meter: 136
 
536 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWS2012

ill need to extract this from the backup file yes?

I would use the one from the OTA but you could try the one from the nandroid backup
The Following User Says Thank You to ali3nfr3ak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th November 2012, 09:14 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ali3nfr3ak

I would use the one from the OTA but you could try the one from the nandroid backup

where can I get that from?

I've got access to the one from the nandroid back up of OTA JB, but not sure where I can get the original one you are talking about.

EDIT:: used boot image from nandroid back up and worked a treat. cheers for your help bro. im up in auckland! been a while since you guys had a decent quake aye!
Last edited by GWS2012; 29th November 2012 at 09:32 PM.
29th November 2012, 09:28 PM   |  #6  
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,842
 
14,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWS2012

where can I get that from?

I've got access to the one from the nandroid back up of OTA JB, but not sure where I can get the original one you are talking about.

Look in the nandroid backup folder. Copy the boot.img from it and flash it with fastboot. Go to recovery and wipe all after that restore the nandroid !
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2014, 08:31 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I also have problem with nandroid restore, it says volume not found. and when i reboot the phone it stuck at htc logo. any idea how to solve this?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes