Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,023 Members 41,220 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

changing HDMI output resolution

Tip us?
 
ovidiugr
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 264
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default changing HDMI output resolution

Ok so I have this TV that supports FHD resolution up to 1080p@24Hz. It runs smooth on 1080i it's probably at 60Hz and also runs smooth at lower resolutions like 720p. the problem is I can't set the resolution to run on. I just connect the cable and it automatically runs on 1080p.
at first I thought it might be something wrong with the 11pin cable I bought but then I tested it on another TV and it automatically entered 720p mode... which is interesting because as far as I know that TV is also a FHD TV. the thing is... it ran pretty smooth at that resolution and I would be happy if I could set the Note 3 to run on a custom resolution on my TV like 1080i or at least 720p.
any way I could do that?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
 
Jack Barrett
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 543
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Its up to the TV if it has resolution setting. If not, Take a look at "Resolution Changer Pro"
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ter.miniscaler
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (SM-N9005, 0x1) > ASUS Nexus 7 > Samsung Galaxy S III > HTC One X > Samsung Galaxy S II > Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc > Sony Ericsson Xperia X8
 
ovidiugr
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 264
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Barrett View Post
Its up to the TV if it has resolution setting. If not, Take a look at "Resolution Changer Pro"
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ter.miniscaler
Not only is that a paid app but also requires root.
any free workaround that doesn't require root?
I called Samsung service a couple of minutes ago and they said the phone automatically connects to a certain resolution (yeah tell me something new). the point is this: it actually connects to various resolutions depending on the TV. for example on my tv it connects to 1080p@24Hz but on another tv it conmects to 720p@60Hz (which btw is way smoother). on my TV even the Note1 knows how to connect to 1080i@60Hz instead of 1080p@24Hz (which is laggy). I wonder what makes the Note3 connect to certain resolution: is it the TV's software or is it the Note3's software...?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
 
Jack Barrett
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 543
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Its up to both phone and TV about resolutions.

About the app - not everything is free and non-root.
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (SM-N9005, 0x1) > ASUS Nexus 7 > Samsung Galaxy S III > HTC One X > Samsung Galaxy S II > Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc > Sony Ericsson Xperia X8
 
ovidiugr
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 264
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Barrett View Post
Its up to both phone and TV about resolutions.

About the app - not everything is free and non-root.
agreed, so I would like if I could choose among all the possible resolutions my TV supports.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
 
tamahos
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default -

i connect my note 3 to tv and its automatic connect at 1080p/30hz but my tv can support 60hz can i change it somehow?
 
ovidiugr
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 264
Join Date: Mar 2011
why didn't samsung allow us to choose among all the possible resolutions it can connect to successfully (obviously the phone can detect that)? what do they think, are we that stupid not to make the right choice for us when it comes to resolution?
actually what they're doing, they try to push their TVs on our through. when I called service they asked if my TV was a Samsung TV almost like if they weren't willing to offer support unless my TV was Samsung.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
 
Jack Barrett
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 543
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Sounds familiar. I also contacted them to fix their crappy HDMI settings in firmware as Im not getting more than 720p on 1080p HDTV. They said they will let know their devs and hopefully soon be resolved. Seems like nobody speaks about HDMI but many people have issues
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (SM-N9005, 0x1) > ASUS Nexus 7 > Samsung Galaxy S III > HTC One X > Samsung Galaxy S II > Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc > Sony Ericsson Xperia X8
 
ovidiugr
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 264
Join Date: Mar 2011
well.. at least it runs smooth on your TV. If only it ran at 720p@60Hz on my TV it would be ok for me. The ideal solution for my TV would be 1080i and it's interesting that both my ex-Note 1 and 2 run at that resolution..

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
 
Jack Barrett
Old
(Last edited by Jack Barrett; 17th January 2014 at 12:34 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 543
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
ok my mistake. today got the genuine hdmi mhl adapter from samsung and all is great 1080p/60. check my thread. the guy explained well about my problem. you will need mhl1 (I posted link where I bought it). it works on 720/60 and 1080i only
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (SM-N9005, 0x1) > ASUS Nexus 7 > Samsung Galaxy S III > HTC One X > Samsung Galaxy S II > Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc > Sony Ericsson Xperia X8

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes