Post Reply

changing HDMI output resolution

OP ovidiugr

9th January 2014, 09:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Ok so I have this TV that supports FHD resolution up to 1080p@24Hz. It runs smooth on 1080i it's probably at 60Hz and also runs smooth at lower resolutions like 720p. the problem is I can't set the resolution to run on. I just connect the cable and it automatically runs on 1080p.
at first I thought it might be something wrong with the 11pin cable I bought but then I tested it on another TV and it automatically entered 720p mode... which is interesting because as far as I know that TV is also a FHD TV. the thing is... it ran pretty smooth at that resolution and I would be happy if I could set the Note 3 to run on a custom resolution on my TV like 1080i or at least 720p.
any way I could do that?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
10th January 2014, 02:51 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 261
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Its up to the TV if it has resolution setting. If not, Take a look at "Resolution Changer Pro"
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ter.miniscaler
10th January 2014, 11:32 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Barrett

Its up to the TV if it has resolution setting. If not, Take a look at "Resolution Changer Pro"
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ter.miniscaler

Not only is that a paid app but also requires root.
any free workaround that doesn't require root?
I called Samsung service a couple of minutes ago and they said the phone automatically connects to a certain resolution (yeah tell me something new). the point is this: it actually connects to various resolutions depending on the TV. for example on my tv it connects to 1080p@24Hz but on another tv it conmects to 720p@60Hz (which btw is way smoother). on my TV even the Note1 knows how to connect to 1080i@60Hz instead of 1080p@24Hz (which is laggy). I wonder what makes the Note3 connect to certain resolution: is it the TV's software or is it the Note3's software...?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
10th January 2014, 09:47 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 261
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Its up to both phone and TV about resolutions.

About the app - not everything is free and non-root.
11th January 2014, 12:57 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Barrett

Its up to both phone and TV about resolutions.

About the app - not everything is free and non-root.

agreed, so I would like if I could choose among all the possible resolutions my TV supports.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
11th January 2014, 12:29 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
-
i connect my note 3 to tv and its automatic connect at 1080p/30hz but my tv can support 60hz can i change it somehow?
11th January 2014, 07:39 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
why didn't samsung allow us to choose among all the possible resolutions it can connect to successfully (obviously the phone can detect that)? what do they think, are we that stupid not to make the right choice for us when it comes to resolution?
actually what they're doing, they try to push their TVs on our through. when I called service they asked if my TV was a Samsung TV almost like if they weren't willing to offer support unless my TV was Samsung.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
17th January 2014, 10:15 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 261
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Sounds familiar. I also contacted them to fix their crappy HDMI settings in firmware as Im not getting more than 720p on 1080p HDTV. They said they will let know their devs and hopefully soon be resolved. Seems like nobody speaks about HDMI but many people have issues
17th January 2014, 11:41 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
well.. at least it runs smooth on your TV. If only it ran at 720p@60Hz on my TV it would be ok for me. The ideal solution for my TV would be 1080i and it's interesting that both my ex-Note 1 and 2 run at that resolution..

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
17th January 2014, 12:31 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 261
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
ok my mistake. today got the genuine hdmi mhl adapter from samsung and all is great 1080p/60. check my thread. the guy explained well about my problem. you will need mhl1 (I posted link where I bought it). it works on 720/60 and 1080i only
Last edited by Jack Barrett; 17th January 2014 at 12:34 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank