Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Please help

OP yoh65

15th February 2014, 04:42 PM   |  #1  
yoh65's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I've read the Faqs, topics, and looked every where but no where does anyone know what my issue is, so i was hoping someone might know here


Everything i use breakdroid, and do the step by step rooting for the kindle, it wont let me get past step 1 because it's unable to flash to new bootloarder

Attached is the picture and the error message "fail opening shift: no such file or directory" i don't understand what to do to prevent this error message

Also, i've tried breakdroid 0.6.7 and 0.6.4

15th February 2014, 04:57 PM   |  #2  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Muti-Verse
Thanks Meter: 1,741
 
2,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoh65

I've read the Faqs, topics, and looked every where but no where does anyone know what my issue is, so i was hoping someone might know here


Everything i use breakdroid, and do the step by step rooting for the kindle, it wont let me get past step 1 because it's unable to flash to new bootloarder

Attached is the picture and the error message "fail opening shift: no such file or directory" i don't understand what to do to prevent this error message

Also, i've tried breakdroid 0.6.7 and 0.6.4


What is your PC's OS??
15th February 2014, 05:03 PM   |  #3  
yoh65's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj50036

What is your PC's OS??

Mac OSX 10.9.1
15th February 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #4  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Muti-Verse
Thanks Meter: 1,741
 
2,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Feedback
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoh65

Mac OSX 10.9.1

Can you still boot into the stock rom??
15th February 2014, 05:11 PM   |  #5  
yoh65's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj50036

Can you still boot into the stock rom??

what do you mean by stock rom, if you mean the amazon operating system on the kindle then yes, it still lets me turn it on and use it.
15th February 2014, 05:23 PM   |  #6  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Muti-Verse
Thanks Meter: 1,741
 
2,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Root
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoh65

what do you mean by stock rom, if you mean the amazon operating system on the kindle then yes, it still lets me turn it on and use it.

Is your kindle fire rooted??
15th February 2014, 05:30 PM   |  #7  
yoh65's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj50036

Is your kindle fire rooted??

To be honest, i'm not too sure, and i don't know how to check if i am?
15th February 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #8  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Muti-Verse
Thanks Meter: 1,741
 
2,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Feedback
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoh65

To be honest, i'm not too sure, and i don't know how to check if i am?

I hate to say this as I run linux and hate windows.. The Mac utility your trying to use is not very well developed... You need a window machine....
15th February 2014, 05:50 PM   |  #9  
yoh65's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj50036

I hate to say this as I run linux and hate windows.. The Mac utility your trying to use is not very well developed... You need a window machine....

okay, i'm on my windows now, and i've installed all the sdk anroid enviornments needed, and i found out im not rooted, also my issue is that when i use the fire utility 0.9.6 and even 0.9.9 ..it says adb status online, but for boot status it keeps saying unknown
15th February 2014, 05:54 PM   |  #10  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Muti-Verse
Thanks Meter: 1,741
 
2,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Video
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoh65

okay, i'm on my windows now, and i've installed all the sdk anroid enviornments needed, and i found out im not rooted, also my issue is that when i use the fire utility 0.9.6 and even 0.9.9 ..it says adb status online, but for boot status it keeps saying unknown

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQ21pr6_SHI

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes