Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Will I lose OTA if I root?

OP alrosh7

12th December 2013, 11:14 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
I am thinking of rooting so I can move some apss in the sd card. I am going to keep the stock rom, just root. Now if I do that, wil I lose the OTA updates? I am expecting 4.3 to hit my device any day now, and I dont want to lose it.
12th December 2013, 11:46 AM   |  #2  
sks93's Avatar
Senior Member
Shah Alam
Thanks Meter: 42
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
yes u can't update thru OTA

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk
15th February 2014, 01:16 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
OTA
Is there a way to install OTA updates by other method ?
15th February 2014, 01:24 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 720
 
1,117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivbsd1

Is there a way to install OTA updates by other method ?

Yes via Odin and the firmware. sammobile.com/firmware
15th February 2014, 01:31 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chemicalrage

Yes via Odin and the firmware. sammobile.com/firmware

But in this way I loss my applications and data, correct ?

BTW - sammobile.com/firmware link does not work.
Last edited by ivbsd1; 15th February 2014 at 02:09 PM.
16th February 2014, 04:52 AM   |  #6  
rolo143's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Yes you lose all your apps if you don't make a backup first through cwm or something..

And sammobile.com/firmware works just fine. Just download your firmware of your phone and flash via Odin.

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk
16th February 2014, 09:53 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 720
 
1,117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivbsd1

But in this way I loss my applications and data, correct ?

BTW - sammobile.com/firmware link does not work.

Sorry its http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/

& they are currently upgrading their website to 3.0 So expect some glitches for a few days.
Last edited by chemicalrage; 16th February 2014 at 09:59 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes