FORUMS

[Q] Modules for safestrap?

410 posts
Thanks Meter: 52
 
By Raymondlikesroot, Senior Member on 12th February 2014, 08:03 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi guys,

If I already have a mk2 verizon s4, would I still need to flash the mk2 modules after flashing a mk2 base rom (hyperdrive rls 14)? I have gotten both answers- Yes, flash and No, don't flash- and I am not sure which one is actually correct.
 
 
12th February 2014, 08:07 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymondlikesroot

Hi guys,

If I already have a mk2 verizon s4, would I still need to flash the mk2 modules after flashing a mk2 base rom (hyperdrive rls 14)? I have gotten both answers- Yes, flash and No, don't flash- and I am not sure which one is actually correct.

I'm also a Safestrap user and I ALWAYS flash the MK2 kernel modules. I'm pretty sure you have to, but I'm not positive. Like I said I always flash the modules and I haven't had any problems .
The Following User Says Thank You to riker147 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 10:58 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 844
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymondlikesroot

Hi guys,

If I already have a mk2 verizon s4, would I still need to flash the mk2 modules after flashing a mk2 base rom (hyperdrive rls 14)? I have gotten both answers- Yes, flash and No, don't flash- and I am not sure which one is actually correct.

It's what you have to do...

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to decaturbob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2014, 12:44 AM |#4  
Raymondlikesroot's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

It's what you have to do...

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Ok thanks. Sorry if I disappointed you or anything... it's just that I heard from rootjunky on youtube that I didn't need to flash mk2 modules when I already had mk2.
16th February 2014, 01:20 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 844
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymondlikesroot

Ok thanks. Sorry if I disappointed you or anything... it's just that I heard from rootjunky on youtube that I didn't need to flash mk2 modules when I already had mk2.

if you are running safestrap, you have to flash the kernel modules for your specific build base.
The Following User Says Thank You to decaturbob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 03:25 AM |#6  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,597
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymondlikesroot

Hi guys,

If I already have a mk2 verizon s4, would I still need to flash the mk2 modules after flashing a mk2 base rom (hyperdrive rls 14)? I have gotten both answers- Yes, flash and No, don't flash- and I am not sure which one is actually correct.

That would only be the case if you took the highly risky case of flashing over the stock ROM using Safestrap. If you flash to a non-stock slot, you must always flash the relevant kernel modules.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes