5,593,401 Members 36,196 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] No recovery, no fastboot?

Tip us?
 
Verfassergeist
Old
(Last edited by Verfassergeist; 16th February 2014 at 04:50 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 139
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Default [Q] No recovery, no fastboot?

So, one of my family members was mucking around on their tablet. I was sure that I has locked down the appropriate areas, but as of right now, I think I'm looking at a hard-brick. I'm not sure what kind of fastboot capabilities I have, turning it off, and on again boots to what looks like fastboot, but I have a Google splash screen. Using the vol up/down/pwr button does boot into fastboot, but I'm not sure what I have at my disposal for flashing. Any suggestions? I've just never seen anything like this before.
Sprezzatura
 
Pirateghost
Old
#2  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4607
Posts: 9,063
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
If you can boot into fastboot, it isn't a hard brick. A brick doesn't turn on.

Just try fastboot flashing the stock image on it from Google.

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to Pirateghost For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bsquare
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jul 2011
Another alternative would be to boot into recovery, if you can.

I assume you had twrp or cwm? If so, you could reflash the rom you're using. If not, you could install twrp from fastboot and then sideload a rom of your choice.
The Following User Says Thank You to bsquare For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Verfassergeist
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 139
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post
If you can boot into fastboot, it isn't a hard brick. A brick doesn't turn on.

Just try fastboot flashing the stock image on it from Google.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsquare View Post
Another alternative would be to boot into recovery, if you can.

I assume you had twrp or cwm? If so, you could reflash the rom you're using. If not, you could install twrp from fastboot and then sideload a rom of your choice.
ADB push wasn't accepting anything. What I ended up doing, was using the Wug toolkit to force-flash a stock image. Still not sure what the hell happened, I'm just happy it works now.

Thanks for your help!
Sprezzatura
 
Pirateghost
Old
#5  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4607
Posts: 9,063
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verfassergeist View Post
ADB push wasn't accepting anything. What I ended up doing, was using the Wug toolkit to force-flash a stock image. Still not sure what the hell happened, I'm just happy it works now.

Thanks for your help!
Fastboot and adb are not interchangeable.

Adb doesn't work in fastboot mode

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
Verfassergeist
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 139
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post
Fastboot and adb are not interchangeable.

Adb doesn't work in fastboot mode

Sent from my Nexus 5
I....*facepalm*
Sprezzatura
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes