Post Reply

Thumbs up [FIX] Dust under the screen? Read here.

OP felixoanta

4th February 2012, 04:43 AM   |  #1  
felixoanta's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Sibiu
Thanks Meter: 8
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I had dust under my screen. Here's a easy solution.

Items needed: heat gun
razor blade
guitar pick/credit card
silicone/ or any other rubbery glue
3m tape

1. Heat outer edges of screen with heat gun, for about a minute.
2. Use razor blade, or something very thin to fit between digitizer and plastic frame of the phone. ( I suggest starting on the right hand side of the screen towards the top, as the connector is on the top left side for the digitizer, and there's a strip at the bottom for the buttons)
3. Once it has started separating, use the guitar pick, or credit card and work your way around the screen, going down the right hand side, bottom( careful of the little white strip for the buttons) and back up the left hand side.
4. When you've done that, you will be able to flip back the digitizer, DON'T TRY TO YANK IT OFF THE PHONE, it's still connected inside, JUST FLIP IT BACKWARDS.
5. Clean off all the crappy double sided tape from the factory.
6. Apply 4 SMALL squares of 3M double tape to the corners, cut them small enough, and place them on the corners, so they don't show up when you put the digitizer back on. You'll see how there's a certain amount of room to work with.
7. Apply with a toothpick, or something similiar, silicone, or your rubbery glue, to the raised edge of the frame, you know the one you just cleaned the factory tape from. ( LESS IS BETTER, if you use too much, when you press the digitizer back on, it will spread between the screen and digitizer, so you will have to remove it again, clean and start over.)
8.Then once you applied your glue, apply your digitizer back on, carefully pushing around the edges, not extra hard, just so it sits nice and flush like it did from the factory.
9. Wipe any excess glue that comes out around the edges.

Enjoy your dust free Sensation.

PS you can search youtube for sensation digitizer replacement, and use the part towards the end, for picture/video reference. YOU DON'T NEED TO TAKE YOUR PHONE APART for this because you don't need to disconnect the digitizer, like I said just flip it back.


ALMOST FORGOT, GET THE THINNEST POSSIBLE 3M TAPE, OR DOUBLE SIDED TAPE, SO THE SCREEN WILL SIT FLUSH WITH THE FRAME AFTER INSTALLING.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Q_Ki...eature=related - SKIP TO 4:30 for digitizer removal. IF NOT I'M ALLOWED TO POST LINKS TO YOUTUBE, PLEASE LET ME KNOW, I WILL REMOVE IT.
Last edited by felixoanta; 6th February 2012 at 11:11 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to felixoanta For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th February 2012, 05:44 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Tallahassee
Thanks Meter: 260
 
1,542 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I wouldn't even consider this if your phone is still under warranty. This is a known problem and HTC readily admitted it for me. I got a new phone for free and it IS dust free for months now.

Matt
4th February 2012, 06:03 AM   |  #3  
felixoanta's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Sibiu
Thanks Meter: 8
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
True, if I was under warranty I probably would've sent it in too but I got my phone from the US so I probably would've had to send it back there for replacement...but for those of us that don't have warranty and are rooted, flashed, and supercid, and don't want lose all that its a decent alternative in my opinion.

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G with Beats Audio using XDA App
4th February 2012, 11:18 PM   |  #4  
dexter93's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,995
 
11,465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
That sounds a bit scary heat gun on my screen? No no no...

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio using XDA App
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dexter93 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th February 2012, 11:44 PM   |  #5  
cyanogendroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
548 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
just wanted to ask because i may end up doing this, what specific glue did you use and how were your results?
5th February 2012, 12:15 AM   |  #6  
felixoanta's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Sibiu
Thanks Meter: 8
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanogendroid

just wanted to ask because i may end up doing this, what specific glue did you use and how were your results?

I'm in Romania at the moment, and they don't have stuff here that they have in the US. So I just used the thinnest double sided tape I could find here, generic brand, and universal black silicone.

Being in the US, I can tell you that the best tape would be 3M double sided FILM tape( it's very thin, business card like and will allow your digitizer to sit flush with the frame like stock) since you can get it there. And for the sealing part of it, either silicone(black) or a glue that will NOT harden completely when dry, that way if you need to ever remove the digitizer again you are able to do so.

As for my results, you can't tell anything was ever done to the phone!
Last edited by felixoanta; 5th February 2012 at 12:35 AM.
5th February 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Technical otaku. My G3 hero has this problem too.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using XDA App
5th February 2012, 04:43 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Muntinlupa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Lol what? If you just got it then just get it replaced.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio using XDA App
5th February 2012, 11:11 AM   |  #9  
felixoanta's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Sibiu
Thanks Meter: 8
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I bought mine used, so I'm not even sure if it was still under warranty. And I'm in Romania right now and I got it from the US, so I don't know how that would've worked. I'm rooted, flashed, supercid, and all that good stuff, and the back cover is polished. I'm sure HTC would've had something to say about that. And then to sit without a phone for who knows how many weeks and the replacement to get dust too.. at least now I know it'll never have dust again.
5th February 2012, 12:13 PM   |  #10  
donwhann's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag somewhere near York
Thanks Meter: 115
 
1,158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
lol, extreme to the limits !!!. i'll pass on the op "advice" and just call HTC if dust gets under my screen.......

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes