Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more
Post Reply

Question [SOLVED] Recovery and fastboot problems (soft bricked?)

OP firtvid20

9th January 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 14
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I was given my friends tablet to try and fix for him. Basically the recovery (TWRP 2.5.0.0) cannot mount any partitions at all (and asks for a password for some reason - can be bypassed with the cancel button). The tablet will boot straight into the recovery mentioning that no OS is installed. I have attempted to boot into fastboot to flash an older version of the recovery (which I've read up on a few websites that say it will fix the mounting problem) however while pressing VOL DOWN and POWER it will boot up to the ASUS logo and no message appears about fastboot in the top-left. I'm out of ideas now and the only way I'll be able to fix this (from what I know) is either by flashing the ASUS firmware or an older version of TWRP via fastboot. Has anyone got any ideas on how I can fix this? Thanks.

EDIT: May be of reference https://github.com/TeamWin/Team-Win-...ect/issues/138

EDIT 2: I have finally solved the problem! I have quoted the important parts below in case anyone else has the same problem.

Basically I had some problems with the drivers the whole time on Windows 8. So what I did was disabled driver signature enforcement in Windows 8 (I think it re-enables after some time). I downloaded the drivers from this post and followed this other post , specifically this part:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpasher

Making Windows recognize the TF300T

You will need to add the hardware IDs for the TF300T in the driver to make it recognize the ADB interface

  • Open the file android_winusb.inf in the naked drivers directory.
  • Look for the section titled [Google.NTx86] (for 32-bit systems) or [Google.NTamd64] (for 64-bit systems)
  • Add the following lines to make it recognize the TF300T hardware (it doesn't matter where, but I put it after the existing entries for the TF201 APX interface)
    Code:
    %AsusTransformerADBInterface%		= USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4C81&REV_0232&MI_01
    %AsusTransformerADBInterface%		= USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4C81&MI_01
    %AsusTransformerADBInterface%		= USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4C83&REV_0232
    %AsusTransformerADBInterface%		= USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4C83

After the information is added, you should be able to install the drivers as usual for the device. If for some reason the device is still not recognized, you'll need to find its hardware IDs and add those to the file.

Then I booted up the tablet and connected to my computer. The drivers finally worked! I went into command prompt and typed "adb devices" and the device was there! Then I typed "adb reboot bootloader" and I got into the bootloader.

I had to look for the SKU too and since I couldn't find it cause I couldn't boot into Android it was in really small text in the bootloader at the top. Unfortunately after trying to flash the firmware in the bootloader it would not write over the system every time. So I followed this post instead: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=167

After following the procedure it finally worked! Thanks cmendonc2 and everyone for your help, my friend is happy!
Last edited by firtvid20; 22nd February 2014 at 12:53 AM.
9th January 2014, 10:54 PM   |  #2  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 377
 
1,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by firtvid20

I was given my friends tablet to try and fix for him. Basically the recovery (TWRP 2.5.0.0) cannot mount any partitions at all (and asks for a password for some reason - can be bypassed with the cancel button). The tablet will boot straight into the recovery mentioning that no OS is installed. I have attempted to boot into fastboot to flash an older version of the recovery (which I've read up on a few websites that say it will fix the mounting problem) however while pressing VOL DOWN and POWER it will boot up to the ASUS logo and no message appears about fastboot in the top-left. I'm out of ideas now and the only way I'll be able to fix this (from what I know) is either by flashing the ASUS firmware or an older version of TWRP via fastboot. Has anyone got any ideas on how I can fix this? Thanks.

EDIT: May be of reference https://github.com/TeamWin/Team-Win-...ect/issues/138

What bootloader is it on? It is on the top left corner of the screen wneh you enter the recovery menu in the bootloader.
10th January 2014, 08:49 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 14
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

What bootloader is it on? It is on the top left corner of the screen wneh you enter the recovery menu in the bootloader.

It doesn't say in TWRP recovery. When I boot the device straight up in the top-left corner it saw device is unlocked. However holding VOL DOWN does nothing and the tablet boots straight into TWRP
11th January 2014, 02:52 AM   |  #4  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 377
 
1,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by firtvid20

It doesn't say in TWRP recovery. When I boot the device straight up in the top-left corner it saw device is unlocked. However holding VOL DOWN does nothing and the tablet boots straight into TWRP

You can still use fastboot in TWRP, but you will need to find the bootloader in order to figure out which recovery to flash over TWRP. There should be a fastboot command to find out.
16th January 2014, 09:14 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 14
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

You can still use fastboot in TWRP, but you will need to find the bootloader in order to figure out which recovery to flash over TWRP. There should be a fastboot command to find out.

Okay that's good to know. I am still unfortunately not able to get into fastboot. So I'll have to figure out what version the bootloader is before flash the firmware over.
22nd January 2014, 11:55 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 14
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Okay I got access to APX mode (useless from my understanding since my friends has no backups via nvflash), the bootloader while the recovery is loaded (although the driver isn't working for the bootloader), but I CANNOT GET INTO THE BOOTLOADER VIA VOLUME DOWN + POWER. Please help, somebody!
4th February 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 14
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Here's a video explaining my problem.

4th February 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #8  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 377
 
1,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by firtvid20

Here's a video explaining my problem.

Have you tried pressing the reset pin, then going into TWRP and going into ADB mode.

Then type ADB reboot bootloader and then try getting into fastboot by pressing volume down.
5th February 2014, 11:45 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 14
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

Have you tried pressing the reset pin, then going into TWRP and going into ADB mode.

Then type ADB reboot bootloader and then try getting into fastboot by pressing volume down.

Hmm I'll give that a go. Is ADB already on when I'm in TWRP? Otherwise how do I get into ADB mode?
6th February 2014, 12:24 AM   |  #10  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 377
 
1,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by firtvid20

Hmm I'll give that a go. Is ADB already on when I'm in TWRP? Otherwise how do I get into ADB mode?

Its an option somewhere in TWRP called "ADB sideload".

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
boot, fastboot, problem, recovery
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF300T Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank