Post Reply

[Q] Can't enter fastboot.

OP Saintom

20th February 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #1  
Saintom's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Hi guys,

i've decided to finaly unlock my bootloader and flash a new rom, i thought maybe KitKat...
unfortunately i can't get into fastboot...i keep getting the dead android with red triangle.
tablet is working as usual, and i get the 3 options when trying to get into fast boot ( vol. down+ power)
but when i chose RCK it starts loading for a sec' and the dead android apears.

is this some kind of brick?
i have JB 4.2.1 OTA

i've search the forum & googled it, and i couldn't find a clear answer...

any solutions for this?
thanks!
20th February 2014, 01:58 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 299
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
When the 3 icons/options show it means you're already in fastboot mode. Regards.

Sent from my GS3 on Carbon KK using Tapatalk 4
The Following User Says Thank You to ebildude123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #3  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Muti-Verse
Thanks Meter: 1,537
 
1,904 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saintom

Hi guys,

i've decided to finaly unlock my bootloader and flash a new rom, i thought maybe KitKat...
unfortunately i can't get into fastboot...i keep getting the dead android with red triangle.
tablet is working as usual, and i get the 3 options when trying to get into fast boot ( vol. down+ power)
but when i chose RCK it starts loading for a sec' and the dead android apears.

is this some kind of brick?
i have JB 4.2.1 OTA

i've search the forum & googled it, and i couldn't find a clear answer...

any solutions for this?
thanks!

Yes and the RCK is were you will enter your custom recovery once you put one on your tablet with fastboot..
The Following User Says Thank You to lj50036 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2014, 09:53 AM   |  #4  
Saintom's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebildude123

When the 3 icons/options show it means you're already in fastboot mode. Regards.

Sent from my GS3 on Carbon KK using Tapatalk 4

so there's no need to select anything? that's it?
and flash recovery from here?

thanks
20th February 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 299
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saintom

so there's no need to select anything? that's it?
and flash recovery from here?

thanks

Yep.
Make sure your device is detected first, by typing fastboot devices

Sent from my TF300T on CM11 using Tapatalk 4
The Following User Says Thank You to ebildude123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2014, 05:54 PM   |  #6  
Saintom's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebildude123

Yep.
Make sure your device is detected first, by typing fastboot devices

Sent from my TF300T on CM11 using Tapatalk 4

Yeah, i did, and it is...!
last time i was following these subjects, i had ICS and remembered there was a USB icon so i thought the RCK is similar. guess not..
thanks.

one more question tho'...
is there a differance between *.blob and *.img, flashing Recovery wise?
20th February 2014, 05:58 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 299
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saintom

Yeah, i did, and it is...!
last time i was following these subjects, i had ICS and remembered there was a USB icon so i thought the RCK is similar. guess not..
thanks.

one more question tho'...
is there a differance between *.blob and *.img, flashing Recovery wise?

They will both flash to your recovery partition, so there is nothing to worry about the difference
Make sure after you flash the recovery, you reboot fully into android first before you go back into recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to ebildude123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2014, 06:59 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 407
 
511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saintom

is there a differance between *.blob and *.img, flashing Recovery wise?

Most *.img files you get for our TF300T are actually (misnamed) blobs and can be flashed fine using fastboot. If you are not sure, check the header:
If the file starts with "-SIGNED-BY-SIGNBLOB-" it is an Asus blob file and can be flashed.
If the file starts with "ANDROID!" it is an Android boot image and cannot be flashed directly, but can be easily converted into a flashable blob.

Sent from my TF300T using Tapatalk

The Following User Says Thank You to f69m For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF300T Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank