5,596,784 Members 47,199 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

S-OFF still possible anymore with latest phones?

Tip us?
 
xtacydima
Old
(Last edited by xtacydima; 9th February 2014 at 09:10 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 118
Join Date: May 2010
Default S-OFF still possible anymore with latest phones?

I had a phone replacement done after my power button stopped working properly, and the latest phone comes with what appears to be the latest firmware and latest everything.

Is it possible to still get S-OFF anymore or did they disbale that all too well?

My phone info:
VLE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.15.0000
RADIO-1.13.50.05.31
OpenDSP-v31.1.0.45.0815
eMMC-boot
Dec 14 2012,17:10:57:-1

I tried to downgrade via different RUU's to lower firmware's but the HBOOT and Radio versions stay, only the software version downgrades.

I can easily always get back to Unlock Recovery, install Teamwin, and SuperSU for stock ROM afterwards.

I have tried all of the following with no success:
-Moonshine
-Rumrunner
-Revone method
-FacePalm method

I am sure I am doing all the steps right, got latest HTC driver, only via USB2.0, NO AV, no Firewall, and it just won't work. The furthest I got was with Rumrunner and after pouring first time and a few extra steps I got a WTF are you doing message.

So is it possible anymore, anything else I can try, or is it a dead cause?

Thanks for any help!!!
 
proudazzzm
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 60
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtacydima View Post
I had a phone replacement done after my power button stopped working properly, and the latest phone comes with what appears to be the latest firmware and latest everything.

Is it possible to still get S-OFF anymore or did they disbale that all too well?

My phone info:
VLE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.15.0000
RADIO-1.13.50.05.31
OpenDSP-v31.1.0.45.0815
eMMC-boot
Dec 14 2012,17:10:57:-1

I tried to downgrade via different RUU's to lower firmware's but the HBOOT and Radio versions stay, only the software version downgrades.

I can easily always get back to Unlock Recovery, install Teamwin, and SuperSU for stock ROM afterwards.

I have tried all of the following with no success
Moonshine
Rumrunner
Revone method
FacePalm method

I am sure I am doing all the steps right, got latest HTC driver, only via USB2.0, NO AV, no Firewall, and it just won't work. The furthest I got was with Rumrunner and after pouring first time and a few extra steps I got a WTF are you doing message.

So is it possible anymore, anything else I can try, or is it a dead cause?

Thanks for any help!!!
Which CID and build version your Phone Have?
TELUS_WWE_3.16.661.4?
TMOUS_3.14.531.11?
Phone: HTC One S (S4)
ROM: Liberty ROM [JB 4.3][SENSE 5.5]
Kernel: Liberty Kernel with V6b
S-OFF: Yes
CID: 11111111
 
xtacydima
Old
(Last edited by xtacydima; 8th February 2014 at 08:27 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 118
Join Date: May 2010
3.14.531.17 710RD - it's tmobile so should be TMOUS
CID according to my mmcblk0p4 file is T-MOB01
 
808phone
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 148
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtacydima View Post
3.14.531.17 710RD - it's tmobile so should be TMOUS
CID according to my mmcblk0p4 file is T-MOB01
OK, I have the same version.

You have not tried this one:
http://firewater-soff.com

Let us know unless I try it before you.
 
xtacydima
Old
(Last edited by xtacydima; 9th February 2014 at 12:01 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 118
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808phone View Post
OK, I have the same version.

You have not tried this one:
http://firewater-soff.com

Let us know unless I try it before you.
just tried
it stopped after chugging.........

Rumrunner and moonshine and this all appear to be related, same menu and startup screen
 
808phone
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 148
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtacydima View Post
just tried
it stopped after chugging.........

Rumrunner and moonshine and this all appear to be related, same menu and startup screen
Sounds almost exactly like what happened to me. I could unlock boot loader, install TWRP, then even got superSU going. But couldn't do much more until I got my phone stuck in the HTC logo with red text boot loop.

I guess I will try either moonshine or firewater. Will let you know.
 
808phone
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 148
Join Date: Jan 2014
OK, you are not going crazy. Moonshine and firewater do not work. Tried them both.
Firewater crashes out of the adb shell.
Moonshine gets stuck on waiting for fastboot Try 3)

I give up.
 
xtacydima
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 118
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808phone View Post
OK, you are not going crazy. Moonshine and firewater do not work. Tried them both.
Firewater crashes out of the adb shell.
Moonshine gets stuck on waiting for fastboot Try 3)

I give up.
I know how you feel, every post that reports success basically directs you towards an older RUU so you can be on a different HBOOT, BUT, that is no longer the case as older RUU's will install OK - however - will only change the base software version, the HBOOT version remains the same now. Whatever they did to lock down the latest build they Nerf'd it good, unless a new exploit comes out I am afraid we are stuck.

What sucks is even after getting root back on stock ROM you don't truly have full control, I tried to delete some apk's and they are read only. Will try to mess with it later, I already invested way more hours than I care for on this thing.
 
808phone
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 148
Join Date: Jan 2014
Well I have a matching HBOOT I think. 2.15. In addition, there's a post saying it works - but it doesn't.
 
xtacydima
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 118
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808phone View Post
Well I have a matching HBOOT I think. 2.15. In addition, there's a post saying it works - but it doesn't.
I thought maybe Windows was somehow just in general the problem, so just tried in Ubuntu off of a live USB drive.

I got up to step 2 and after "Waiting for Device", next line "Device detected....."
got an "ERROR: ADB failure" and then it stops and goes back to default prompt

I think I officially give up

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Sony Xperia Z, ZL, ZR, and Tablet Z to Receive Official KitKat Update in May

It’s no secret that although Sony is one of the most … more

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more