Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,457 Members 41,498 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to make sd card default storage?

Tip us?
 
TeChNoC4AzY
Old
#1  
TeChNoC4AzY's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kissimmee
Default [Q] How to make sd card default storage?

Hello xda. I just got a Droid incredible 4g lte today and I am loving it so far and hoping to get more in depth with it. But the first thing I must ask is how can I make the apps in my phone go default to the SD card, I have a 32gb SD card. I installed modern combat 4 and then followed by Nova 3, my phone canceled the Nova 3 download because of space problems. So I'm just wanting to have the big apps go to my Android/obb folder on my SD card but they won't. I tryed using es file Explorer to move the mc4 files to SD card then play it. But once I started the game it wanted me to download it.. Is there any way to fix this or will I need a rooted phone and some kind of Rom? Thanks for any help. All will be thanked.
Sent from my ADR6410LVW using xda app-developers app
 
TeChNoC4AzY
Old
#2  
TeChNoC4AzY's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kissimmee
62 people looked at this thread. No one knows? Please reply.

Sent from my ADR6410LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
junkmail9
Old
#3  
junkmail9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 409
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeChNoC4AzY View Post
62 people looked at this thread. No one knows? Please reply.

Sent from my ADR6410LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Wow. Patience is a virtue. Yes, you will need to be rooted. If you just got the phone yesterday, hopefully you are still on build 2.17.605.2 or earlier.

I suggest that you look at the Droid Incredible 4G LTE Resource Index in the General area. That will point you to rooting methods, and there is also a link to Jose's SD Card Swap Mod that does exactly what you are looking for.
The Following User Says Thank You to junkmail9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TeChNoC4AzY
Old
(Last edited by TeChNoC4AzY; 20th February 2014 at 07:45 PM.)
#4  
TeChNoC4AzY's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kissimmee
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkmail9 View Post
Wow. Patience is a virtue. Yes, you will need to be rooted. If you just got the phone yesterday, hopefully you are still on build 2.17.605.2 or earlier.

I suggest that you look at the Droid Incredible 4G LTE Resource Index in the General area. That will point you to rooting methods, and there is also a link to Jose's SD Card Swap Mod that does exactly what you are looking for.
Thank you so much. And I got this phone from a pawnshop lol. It is on the version you said above and hboot 1.15. This is probably the best phone I have ever used, I really like how it has the adreno 225! Can't wait to unlock this baby and get to flashing! The previous phone I had was the HTC evo 3d. So I have experience with HTC phones, but this droid looks like it will be abit of a challenge to s-off. Hopefully I can find a perfect rom that won't require it. I like to use Windows but I think the only methods avaliable to s-off only work with Linux, and I by no means have experience using Linux.

Sent from my ADR6410LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
junkmail9
Old
#5  
junkmail9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 409
Join Date: Jul 2008
Root it now and get on a ROM that isn't subject to the OTA before the OTA finds its way into your phone before it's too late!

I do recommend s,-off, as it makes like much easier. Try making an Ububtu Live CD and play around with it to see if you can get comfortable with it before trying DirtyRacun. You can also look at face palm method.

Sent from my Fireball using Xparent Blue Tapatalk2
The Following User Says Thank You to junkmail9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TeChNoC4AzY
Old
#6  
TeChNoC4AzY's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kissimmee
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkmail9 View Post
Root it now and get on a ROM that isn't subject to the OTA before the OTA finds its way into your phone before it's too late!

I do recommend s,-off, as it makes like much easier. Try making an Ububtu Live CD and play around with it to see if you can get comfortable with it before trying DirtyRacun. You can also look at face palm method.

Sent from my Fireball using Xparent Blue Tapatalk2
(now and get on a ROM that isn't subject to the OTA before the OTA finds its way into your phone before it's too late!) < I'm a little confused with what that means?

Sent from my ADR6410LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
junkmail9
Old
#7  
junkmail9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 409
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeChNoC4AzY View Post
(now and get on a ROM that isn't subject to the OTA before the OTA finds its way into your phone before it's too late!) < I'm a little confused with what that means?

Sent from my ADR6410LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
If you root and stay "rooted stock", you'll get the OTA. No bueño.

The 2.1.1 release of ViperLTE also gets the Verizon OTA notice. No bueño. If like Sense-based ROMs, I highly recommend the latest ViperLTE version 2.2.0, as it has setting to turn off OTA checks. I have not received an OTA notification since installing 2.2.0 and ticking that setting. I was getting them on 2.1.1.

I would fully expect that CyanogenMod to not get an OTA notice, either. However, I cannot confirm.
The Following User Says Thank You to junkmail9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TeChNoC4AzY
Old
(Last edited by TeChNoC4AzY; 21st February 2014 at 03:22 AM.)
#8  
TeChNoC4AzY's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kissimmee
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkmail9 View Post
Root it now and get on a ROM that isn't subject to the OTA before the OTA finds its way into your phone before it's too late!

I do recommend s,-off, as it makes like much easier. Try making an Ububtu Live CD and play around with it to see if you can get comfortable with it before trying DirtyRacun. You can also look at face palm method.

Sent from my Fireball using Xparent Blue Tapatalk2
See here's the thing. I do not have this phone activated, I just use it on wifi. I tried updating the firmware but the checking for New update is there for a split second and goes away. Nothing else happens. So I guess this phone can't be updated. But i will unlock and install a rom asap.
Can you recommend a rom I use? Like jelly bean or Kitkat? Hopefully one rom here has sense 5 :sly:


Sent from my ADR6410LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
junkmail9
Old
#9  
junkmail9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 409
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeChNoC4AzY View Post
See here's the thing. I do not have this phone activated, I just use it on wifi. I tried updating the firmware but the checking for New update is there for a split second and goes away. Nothing else happens. So I guess this phone can't be updated. But i will unlock and install a rom asap.
Can you recommend a rom I use? Like jelly bean or Kitkat? Hopefully one rom here has sense 5 :sly:


Sent from my ADR6410LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I suggest poking around the development section here for various ROMs. Unfortunately, Verizion has (had?) no love for this phone, and they have been blocking bootloader unlocking via HTC. ...[long story and rant omitted]... As a result, there are not a lot of custom ROMs for this phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to junkmail9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TeChNoC4AzY
Old
#10  
TeChNoC4AzY's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kissimmee
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkmail9 View Post
I suggest poking around the development section here for various ROMs. Unfortunately, Verizion has (had?) no love for this phone, and they have been blocking bootloader unlocking via HTC. ...[long story and rant omitted]... As a result, there are not a lot of custom ROMs for this phone.
Wait so how can I unlock my bootloader if they are locking it? Unless it's because I am on hboot 1.15?

Sent from my ADR6410LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes