Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,101 Members 43,146 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Replacing default android launcher

Tip us?
 
EXilE51
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: windsor
Phone [Q] Replacing default android launcher

hello xda
i have an lg c800g (or lg my touch q) and i absolutely hate the default home screen or launcher and i was wondering if I could switch it out with another launcher (my favorite so far is adw EX) unfortunately my phone is needed everyday and i don't want to spend 250$ for a new one. the reason why i haven't just used a ROM is because i'm having a lot of trouble with clock work mod so roms aren't an option. however I've found a way to keep apps installed to the firmware using an app called link2sd one of its features is to install and remove straight to the firmware as I've just tested sucsesful. so if it was possible can anyone take an old 2.3 android and use this app to install a launcher and see if it works after system reset it would be great to never have to deal with this ugly home screen again. any feedback would be appreciated i am rooted but no clockwork mod or roms can be used.
 
immortalneo
Old
#2  
immortalneo's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1626
Posts: 4,430
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Malappuram, Kerala
From my experience, I believe you can simply install a launcher from the Playstore and start using it (set it as default too).

If you want to remove ur stock launcher, root ur phone and then use a root explorer to delete the launcher's apk.

"To err is human, to forgive is divine"
Sent from my SGS II

 





Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 | ROM: Omega v23 - XWLSN - 4.1.2 | Theme: Crussader's JB Reloaded v1.07 | Kernel: PhilZ v4.93.6 | Baseband: I9100DDLS9
Life's kinda busy. So you won't be seeing much of me. Still I'm available via PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to immortalneo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
EXilE51
Old
(Last edited by EXilE51; 18th April 2013 at 09:15 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: windsor
Quote:
Originally Posted by immortalneo View Post
From my experience, I believe you can simply install a launcher from the Playstore and start using it (set it as default too).

If you want to remove ur stock launcher, root ur phone and then use a root explorer to delete the launcher's apk.

"To err is human, to forgive is divine"
Sent from my SGS II
yes that is what i have done so far but if my phone gets reset i would like to only have adw EX.
would it be ok to delet the home.apk file and when reset it would boot with the adw home
 
gagdude
Old
#4  
gagdude's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 564
Posts: 2,496
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northbrook

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by EXilE51 View Post
yes that is what i have done so far but if my phone gets reset i would like to only have adw EX.
would it be ok to delet the home.apk file and when reset it would boot with the adw home
When the phone reboots it should default to your chosen launcher

Sent from my MB865 using xda premium
MY LINE OF DEVICES

Bold indicates daily driver, r indicates rooted/ROM'd

iPod Touch 4 | Motorola Cliq - r | LG Ally - r | Motorola Droid - r | Motorola Droid 2 | Samsung Focus | Motorola Flipside - r | LG MyTouch Q - r | Kyocera Rise | LG Nexus 4 - r | Motorola Atrix 2 | HTC Droid DNA - r | LG Nexus 5 - r | HTC One M8 - r

The Following User Says Thank You to gagdude For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
immortalneo
Old
#5  
immortalneo's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1626
Posts: 4,430
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Malappuram, Kerala
How does ur phone get reset like that??

"To err is human, to forgive is divine"
Sent from my SGS II

 





Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 | ROM: Omega v23 - XWLSN - 4.1.2 | Theme: Crussader's JB Reloaded v1.07 | Kernel: PhilZ v4.93.6 | Baseband: I9100DDLS9
Life's kinda busy. So you won't be seeing much of me. Still I'm available via PM.
 
connorc0405
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Aug 2012
I would NOT delete the launcher.apk, just set your downloaded launcher as default
 
EXilE51
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: windsor
Quote:
Originally Posted by connorc0405 View Post
I would NOT delete the launcher.apk, just set your downloaded launcher as default
i didnt delete the launcher i backed up the apk file but it works fine
 
EXilE51
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: windsor
Quote:
Originally Posted by immortalneo View Post
How does ur phone get reset like that??

"To err is human, to forgive is divine"
Sent from my SGS II
if you have seen the lg c800 with 2.3.6 its impossible to boot into recovery mode it just resets you phone and i haven't found a way around it so i've just been manually removing bloatware and upgrading basic apps
 
alicarbovader
Old
#9  
alicarbovader's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 874
Posts: 736
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: In Emperor's Chamber in Death Star 1
There is no way that you reset the phone and it would return to your ADW by default. Resetting erases the usbale memory on your phone, and makes it like new, of course if you haven't done any hacking onto it, like rooting and stuff. But if you want that, I would suggest a custom ROM, and edit the zip file, replacing the launcher2(that's what HTC Desire ROMs have, if your ROM doesn't have that, try looking for an alternative) with your ADW launcher in WinRAR or 7-Zip. That ought to do the trick.
I am the Supreme Patayto Overlord... Got problems...?

MyColorScreen Profile. Click here and you won't be bored




By the way, the thanks button's down there. Press it if my post helps you or makes you laugh
 
Bagne
Old
#10  
Bagne's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Semarang
i have done this to my phone, deleting the default launcher from /system/app folder (using root explorer), then i copy the launcher that i want to the same folder, change its permission to rw-r--r--, and reboot...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes