Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,198 Members 41,248 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS Issues

Tip us?
 
akastixx
Old
#1  
akastixx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 278
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default GPS Issues

Has anyone else said any trouble with the GPS? It seems that I have to restart my phone in order for it to work a lot of times. It will not pick up any satellites (GPS Status, for example, will show 0 out of 0,) and then once I restart the phone, it will work like normal. What can I do to make this work right without restarting? I have yet to root the phone. I am on the Sprint version.
Smartphone History: Hitachi G1000 > HTC PPC-6700 > HTC Mogul > HTC Touch Pro > HTC Evo > Samsung Galaxy Nexus > HTC Evo 4G LTE > HTC One Max
Current Smartphone Plan: $50 Unlimited, My Way/$20 Everything Data Plus
 
pradeepvizz
Old
#2  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 615
Posts: 1,902
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by akastixx View Post
Has anyone else said any trouble with the GPS? It seems that I have to restart my phone in order for it to work a lot of times. It will not pick up any satellites (GPS Status, for example, will show 0 out of 0,) and then once I restart the phone, it will work like normal. What can I do to make this work right without restarting? I have yet to root the phone. I am on the Sprint version.
You could probably try safemode / factory reset and see how the phone works.

I would suggest to go to Sprint and exchange the phone if it persists.
HTC One MAX ||| HTC ONE > HOX+ > Nexus 7 > HOX > Xperia Arc > Xperia X10 Mini > K810 > K550 > K750
 
Jiggity Janx
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 329
Posts: 1,388
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz View Post
You could probably try safemode / factory reset and see how the phone works.

I would suggest to go to Sprint and exchange the phone if it persists.
+1
2 Verizon G3 io-rooted stock 2 Verizon One MAX rumrunner.us s-off Note 8.0 & 3 2 OG Nexus 7 w/ CM11
 
DeadPhoenix
Old
#4  
DeadPhoenix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 296
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sacramento

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz View Post
You could probably try safemode / factory reset and see how the phone works.

I would suggest to go to Sprint and exchange the phone if it persists.
Also you want to calibrate your Compass. Or you will spin around and around if it does work after a reset. I tried using maps prior and the locks were roaming because of the missed calibration.
Cell:
Phone: HTC One Max (Verizon)
S-Off: Rumrunner Verizon
Rom: Stock
Recovery: TWRP

Tablet: Nexus 10 16GB Wi-Fi
Memory: 16GB Internal
Rom: Paranoid Android
Recovery: CWM

Retired Devices:
iPhone 5 16GB Black (Verizon) <- Verizon Motorola RAZR HD 16GB <- Verizon Samsung Galaxy SIII Pebble Blue 16GB <- Verizon Galaxy Nexus

The Following User Says Thank You to DeadPhoenix For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
akastixx
Old
#5  
akastixx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 278
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz View Post
You could probably try safemode / factory reset and see how the phone works.

I would suggest to go to Sprint and exchange the phone if it persists.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiggity Janx View Post
+1
Thanks. I took it to a store, but it wasn't a tech store, so I will factory reset soon and then try the store if it persists.
Smartphone History: Hitachi G1000 > HTC PPC-6700 > HTC Mogul > HTC Touch Pro > HTC Evo > Samsung Galaxy Nexus > HTC Evo 4G LTE > HTC One Max
Current Smartphone Plan: $50 Unlimited, My Way/$20 Everything Data Plus
 
akastixx
Old
#6  
akastixx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 278
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiggity Janx View Post
+1
I finally made it to a tech store. I hate dealing with Sprint Customer Service. Before I went there, I did a hard reset, waited it out a week, used it without my case for a few days, did GPSCLRX, used GPS Status, all the combinations of location and sprint/qualcomm "optimizations" and still had the issue.

When I took it to the store, the guy was trying to do everything in his power to give the phone back. He was checking stuff that had no bearing on anything, like adding the gps button to quicksettings, and adding my city to the world clock list. "Well it's working now, so you should be good." Of course it's working. I told you five times that GPS is ok when the phone is restarted, but gets 0/0 sats a few hours later. "It's the magnet on the case" I tried it for a couple of days without the case, next. "What is that program you showed me with the satellites, it's probably intefering." Take it off. Hard reset the phone again, just don't erase my SD card (with that level of incompetence, I should have brought it to them freshly reset without the card.) After a few more guesses, he finally gave it to the repair person. I had brought my other phone so they could activate it so I could take care of other business and come back, but the guy kept on doing other stuff. I was ready to go full retard on him, but the repair person came out, took me outside with the phone, told me he concluded that even the gps radio at that point in time was not behaving correctly, and that his htc one max had the same issue before he traded it in for a note 3. I get to pick up a new max on Wednesday. Hopefully this one will be ok.
Smartphone History: Hitachi G1000 > HTC PPC-6700 > HTC Mogul > HTC Touch Pro > HTC Evo > Samsung Galaxy Nexus > HTC Evo 4G LTE > HTC One Max
Current Smartphone Plan: $50 Unlimited, My Way/$20 Everything Data Plus
 
pradeepvizz
Old
#7  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 615
Posts: 1,902
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
Cool, can't you guys contact htc service directly? But I would love a new proper phone instead of repaired one, which might develop other problems later.

Sent from my HTC One max using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
HTC One MAX ||| HTC ONE > HOX+ > Nexus 7 > HOX > Xperia Arc > Xperia X10 Mini > K810 > K550 > K750
 
akastixx
Old
#8  
akastixx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 278
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz View Post
Cool, can't you guys contact htc service directly? But I would love a new proper phone instead of repaired one, which might develop other problems later.

Sent from my HTC One max using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
HTC usually only does that if you buy it directly from them. As long as the phone is in the same or better condition than what I brought in (with the problems fixed, and rootable,) I'm good.
Smartphone History: Hitachi G1000 > HTC PPC-6700 > HTC Mogul > HTC Touch Pro > HTC Evo > Samsung Galaxy Nexus > HTC Evo 4G LTE > HTC One Max
Current Smartphone Plan: $50 Unlimited, My Way/$20 Everything Data Plus
 
akastixx
Old
#9  
akastixx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 278
Join Date: Nov 2007
The new phone gets a nice GPS lock in my apartment. That hardly happened with any phone. If only it would pick up the LTE better, but I have to fault Sprint and my apartment, not HTC on that one.
Smartphone History: Hitachi G1000 > HTC PPC-6700 > HTC Mogul > HTC Touch Pro > HTC Evo > Samsung Galaxy Nexus > HTC Evo 4G LTE > HTC One Max
Current Smartphone Plan: $50 Unlimited, My Way/$20 Everything Data Plus
The Following User Says Thank You to akastixx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pradeepvizz
Old
#10  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 615
Posts: 1,902
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by akastixx View Post
The new phone gets a nice GPS lock in my apartment. That hardly happened with any phone. If only it would pick up the LTE better, but I have to fault Sprint and my apartment, not HTC on that one.
Good to hear rock on!
HTC One MAX ||| HTC ONE > HOX+ > Nexus 7 > HOX > Xperia Arc > Xperia X10 Mini > K810 > K550 > K750

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more