5,605,120 Members 37,260 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD][HOW-TO] - Change default Screen Animation speed to .5x

Tip us?
 
bajasur
Old
(Last edited by bajasur; 5th February 2014 at 09:12 AM.)
#1  
bajasur's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 3310
Posts: 1,977
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Silverado

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [MOD][HOW-TO] - Change default Screen Animation speed to .5x

How To Change Default Window Animation Scales!!

As many of you know, defaulting animation scales is no longer located in SecSettingsProvider.apk res/values/fractions.xml as of Android 4.3 and up...Below is how to accomplish this natively and default your speeds to .5x on first boot.
Special thanks to @Cl3Kener for finding this MOD, and to @dwitherell for helping get it to work for us on the Galaxy Note 3!! Also, thanks to @scrosler, @jovy23 @Goldie for helping find this mod!


 
Baksmali services.jar and Navigate to /com/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService.smali
Look for iput-object v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mFocusedApp:Lcom/android/server/wm/AppWindowToken

Orignal Code
Code:
 iput-object v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mFocusedApp:Lcom/android/server/wm/AppWindowToken;

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

    iput v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mWindowAnimationScale:F

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

    iput v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mTransitionAnimationScale:F

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

    iput v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mTransitionAnimationScaleOld:F

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

Change to:

Code:
 iput-object v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mFocusedApp:Lcom/android/server/wm/AppWindowToken;

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f000000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

    iput v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mWindowAnimationScale:F

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f000000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

    iput v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mTransitionAnimationScale:F

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f000000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

    iput v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mTransitionAnimationScaleOld:F

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f000000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0
Make sure to do a full wipe in order to see the animation scales change, this mod will not work if you just push services.jar to system/framework, requires a clean flash

Done!


The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to bajasur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dwitherell
Old
#2  
dwitherell's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6128
Posts: 3,450
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Fwiw - depending on the version of baksmali that is used (for whatever reason I keep using 1.4.2 lol) things like:
Code:
    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000
...may actually look like:
Code:
    const/high16 v14, 0x3f80
Just throwing that out there

Nice work on hunting this down @bajasur!
If you like what I've done... I like sammiches so feel free to buy me one!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dwitherell For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bajasur
Old
(Last edited by bajasur; 5th February 2014 at 02:50 PM.)
#3  
bajasur's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 3310
Posts: 1,977
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Silverado

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for clearing that up! And I have to thank @Cl3Kener again for his hard work in locating this awesome mod.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
 
bajasur
Old
#4  
bajasur's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 3310
Posts: 1,977
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Silverado

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by csstamatin View Post
What's the difference between this and using the developer settings menu to adjust the animations speeds?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
This will bake it into the ROM so that when you first boot up it is already defaulted to .5x

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
 
csstamatin
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 91
Join Date: Aug 2011
But when I set it in dev settings it stays that way on a reboot. It doesn't change for me or anything. Stays at 0, which is what I prefer. Just asking. Thx

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
 
eZdubzitmk4
Old
#6  
eZdubzitmk4's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2405
Posts: 2,863
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: RI

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by csstamatin View Post
But when I set it in dev settings it stays that way on a reboot. It doesn't change for me or anything. Stays at 0, which is what I prefer. Just asking. Thx

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
The whole point of it is so you don't have to do it yourself. Jeez.

Most people like .5 that's why he did it

Sent from my SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
ROMS
AT&T Note II
MeanBean ROM
AllianceROM
MIUI v5 touchwiz
AT&T Infuse4g
Avatar ROM
ThinkingBridge ROM
Hellybean ROM

**If i have helped in any way, please hit the Thanks button!
 
ThdDude
Old
#7  
ThdDude's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4803
Posts: 2,303
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kansas City

 
DONATE TO ME
I will give CL3 a link to this, he is no longer a part of XDA
(Click banner for project links)
"Look, let me explain something to you. I'm not Mr. Lebowski. I'm the Dude. So that's what you call me. That, or His Dudeness Duder or El Duderino, if, you know, you're not into the whole brevity thing."
The Following User Says Thank You to ThdDude For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scrosler
Old
#8  
scrosler's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 47357
Posts: 21,906
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fargo

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by csstamatin View Post
But when I set it in dev settings it stays that way on a reboot. It doesn't change for me or anything. Stays at 0, which is what I prefer. Just asking. Thx

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
Its not for end users its for developers who build ROMS.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scrosler For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Gunthermic
Old
#9  
Gunthermic's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 5656
Posts: 2,687
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by csstamatin View Post
But when I set it in dev settings it stays that way on a reboot. It doesn't change for me or anything. Stays at 0, which is what I prefer. Just asking. Thx

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
This is for Dev to bake into a ROM, a pre-set per say. Thus why its posted in Android Dev sir..

He is sharing a dev mod.. not a user mod..


Wanna Chat? Looking for theming advice, answers..
Join me at -> guntherm66@gmail.com Use Gtalk to Join!
Team BlackOut Email: teamblackoutapps@gmail.com
Average Joes Team Memebers: Me, jonathanphx1, dan_joegibbsf, strongsteve
Team BlackOut Memebers: Me, B-Boy, DJ, Trapv and more
The Following User Says Thank You to Gunthermic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KennyG123
Old
#10  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 23917
Posts: 26,502
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
Thread cleaned
This is in the exact right place it is supposed to be
Please read the sticky
The Dev only subforum is ONLY for developers to solve problems
Not for releasing any work
Thank you for your cooperation
Friendly Neighborhood Senior Moderator

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to KennyG123 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes