TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more
Post Reply

[Q] i337 - MF3 v4.2.2; unable to change ROM

OP Vishoka

18th February 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
I currently have the Samsung Galaxy S4 - MF3; v4.2.2; i337. I got the phone unlocked (direct from AT&T); and then

1. followed this method to root my phone - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2387577- Worked.
2. Got Safestrap v3.65 - http://blog.hash-of-codes.com/downloads/safestrap/ - Worked.
3. Tried 3-4 different ROMs, none of them have worked.
a. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2356276
b. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2418522
c. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2630085
d. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2537495
4. Tried above ROMs with kernels from here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2292341 (v4.2.2 or v4.4 - depending on the ROM) and also the MF3 kernel (can't find the link)

But, irrespective of what I try, I still get stuck while loading the ROM - blank screen, not moving forward. Could you please shed some light on what I should try to do?

Thanks!
18th February 2014, 04:52 AM   |  #2  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 635
 
1,266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishoka

I currently have the Samsung Galaxy S4 - MF3; v4.2.2; i337. I got the phone unlocked (direct from AT&T); and then

1. followed this method to root my phone - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2387577- Worked.
2. Got Safestrap v3.65 - http://blog.hash-of-codes.com/downloads/safestrap/ - Worked.
3. Tried 3-4 different ROMs, none of them have worked.
a. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2356276
b. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2418522
c. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2630085
d. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2537495
4. Tried above ROMs with kernels from here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2292341 (v4.2.2 or v4.4 - depending on the ROM) and also the MF3 kernel (can't find the link)

But, irrespective of what I try, I still get stuck while loading the ROM - blank screen, not moving forward. Could you please shed some light on what I should try to do?

Thanks!

ROM's C and D didn't work because they're AOSP ROMs, and 4.4. You can't cross versions. Besides that, I'd get the safestrap 3.65 APK from our own safestrap thread to make sure you get the correct JFLTEATT version and the MF3 kernel modules which you need to flash after every ROM. What exactly is your process for flashing, and what slot are you flashing to?
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 04:58 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

ROM's C and D didn't work because they're AOSP ROMs, and 4.4. You can't cross versions. Besides that, I'd get the safestrap 3.65 APK from our own safestrap thread to make sure you get the correct JFLTEATT version and the MF3 kernel modules which you need to flash after every ROM. What exactly is your process for flashing, and what slot are you flashing to?

Thanks for the prompt reply! Appreciate it. I did get the exact safestrap 3.65 APK from my JFLTEATT version.

I'm flashing into Slot 1. Size - 1GB, 1GB, 300MB. I'm not entirely sure what you mean by what process, by here goes - Factory Wipe, Flash ROM, Flash MF3/v4.2.2 Kernal, Wipe Dalvik/Cache, attempt to fix permissions (always fails with same message). Restart into slot 1.
18th February 2014, 05:42 AM   |  #4  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 635
 
1,266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishoka

Thanks for the prompt reply! Appreciate it. I did get the exact safestrap 3.65 APK from my JFLTEATT version.

I'm flashing into Slot 1. Size - 1GB, 1GB, 300MB. I'm not entirely sure what you mean by what process, by here goes - Factory Wipe, Flash ROM, Flash MF3/v4.2.2 Kernal, Wipe Dalvik/Cache, attempt to fix permissions (always fails with same message). Restart into slot 1.

I would try bigger partition sizes. Leave them at their defaults, because sizing them down likes to cause issues sometimes. Also, flashing that kernel does nothing as safestrap never touches the kernel partition. You do still need the MF3 module zip from the Safestrap thread however. Also, if you've previously flashed a ROM in the slot, you need to wipe the system in that slot too.
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 07:17 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

I would try bigger partition sizes. Leave them at their defaults, because sizing them down likes to cause issues sometimes. Also, flashing that kernel does nothing as safestrap never touches the kernel partition. You do still need the MF3 module zip from the Safestrap thread however. Also, if you've previously flashed a ROM in the slot, you need to wipe the system in that slot too.

Thanks again for the prompt reply, I hope you don't mind me taking more of your time. But, I'm having a hard time finding "latest" ROMs for my version, could you point me to one? I've been scouring through Android Original Development, but they're all 4.3 and 4.4, versions you said I couldn't cross-install. Thank in advance!
18th February 2014, 09:48 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

I would try bigger partition sizes. Leave them at their defaults, because sizing them down likes to cause issues sometimes. Also, flashing that kernel does nothing as safestrap never touches the kernel partition. You do still need the MF3 module zip from the Safestrap thread however. Also, if you've previously flashed a ROM in the slot, you need to wipe the system in that slot too.

I tried what you said, and it worked! With ROM (a), I'm now running into System UI ran into an error, problem. Still looking around.
19th February 2014, 01:32 AM   |  #7  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 635
 
1,266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishoka

I tried what you said, and it worked! With ROM (a), I'm now running into System UI ran into an error, problem. Still looking around.

Did you sign in to a google account at the initial setup? I know there's some issues involving that on the Google ROMs.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes