FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Q] i337 - MF3 v4.2.2; unable to change ROM

11 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Vishoka, Junior Member on 18th February 2014, 04:24 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I currently have the Samsung Galaxy S4 - MF3; v4.2.2; i337. I got the phone unlocked (direct from AT&T); and then

1. followed this method to root my phone - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2387577- Worked.
2. Got Safestrap v3.65 - http://blog.hash-of-codes.com/downloads/safestrap/ - Worked.
3. Tried 3-4 different ROMs, none of them have worked.
a. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2356276
b. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2418522
c. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2630085
d. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2537495
4. Tried above ROMs with kernels from here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2292341 (v4.2.2 or v4.4 - depending on the ROM) and also the MF3 kernel (can't find the link)

But, irrespective of what I try, I still get stuck while loading the ROM - blank screen, not moving forward. Could you please shed some light on what I should try to do?

Thanks!
 
 
18th February 2014, 04:52 AM |#2  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 685
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishoka

I currently have the Samsung Galaxy S4 - MF3; v4.2.2; i337. I got the phone unlocked (direct from AT&T); and then

1. followed this method to root my phone - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2387577- Worked.
2. Got Safestrap v3.65 - http://blog.hash-of-codes.com/downloads/safestrap/ - Worked.
3. Tried 3-4 different ROMs, none of them have worked.
a. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2356276
b. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2418522
c. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2630085
d. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2537495
4. Tried above ROMs with kernels from here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2292341 (v4.2.2 or v4.4 - depending on the ROM) and also the MF3 kernel (can't find the link)

But, irrespective of what I try, I still get stuck while loading the ROM - blank screen, not moving forward. Could you please shed some light on what I should try to do?

Thanks!

ROM's C and D didn't work because they're AOSP ROMs, and 4.4. You can't cross versions. Besides that, I'd get the safestrap 3.65 APK from our own safestrap thread to make sure you get the correct JFLTEATT version and the MF3 kernel modules which you need to flash after every ROM. What exactly is your process for flashing, and what slot are you flashing to?
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 04:58 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

ROM's C and D didn't work because they're AOSP ROMs, and 4.4. You can't cross versions. Besides that, I'd get the safestrap 3.65 APK from our own safestrap thread to make sure you get the correct JFLTEATT version and the MF3 kernel modules which you need to flash after every ROM. What exactly is your process for flashing, and what slot are you flashing to?

Thanks for the prompt reply! Appreciate it. I did get the exact safestrap 3.65 APK from my JFLTEATT version.

I'm flashing into Slot 1. Size - 1GB, 1GB, 300MB. I'm not entirely sure what you mean by what process, by here goes - Factory Wipe, Flash ROM, Flash MF3/v4.2.2 Kernal, Wipe Dalvik/Cache, attempt to fix permissions (always fails with same message). Restart into slot 1.
18th February 2014, 05:42 AM |#4  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 685
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishoka

Thanks for the prompt reply! Appreciate it. I did get the exact safestrap 3.65 APK from my JFLTEATT version.

I'm flashing into Slot 1. Size - 1GB, 1GB, 300MB. I'm not entirely sure what you mean by what process, by here goes - Factory Wipe, Flash ROM, Flash MF3/v4.2.2 Kernal, Wipe Dalvik/Cache, attempt to fix permissions (always fails with same message). Restart into slot 1.

I would try bigger partition sizes. Leave them at their defaults, because sizing them down likes to cause issues sometimes. Also, flashing that kernel does nothing as safestrap never touches the kernel partition. You do still need the MF3 module zip from the Safestrap thread however. Also, if you've previously flashed a ROM in the slot, you need to wipe the system in that slot too.
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 07:17 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

I would try bigger partition sizes. Leave them at their defaults, because sizing them down likes to cause issues sometimes. Also, flashing that kernel does nothing as safestrap never touches the kernel partition. You do still need the MF3 module zip from the Safestrap thread however. Also, if you've previously flashed a ROM in the slot, you need to wipe the system in that slot too.

Thanks again for the prompt reply, I hope you don't mind me taking more of your time. But, I'm having a hard time finding "latest" ROMs for my version, could you point me to one? I've been scouring through Android Original Development, but they're all 4.3 and 4.4, versions you said I couldn't cross-install. Thank in advance!
18th February 2014, 09:48 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

I would try bigger partition sizes. Leave them at their defaults, because sizing them down likes to cause issues sometimes. Also, flashing that kernel does nothing as safestrap never touches the kernel partition. You do still need the MF3 module zip from the Safestrap thread however. Also, if you've previously flashed a ROM in the slot, you need to wipe the system in that slot too.

I tried what you said, and it worked! With ROM (a), I'm now running into System UI ran into an error, problem. Still looking around.
19th February 2014, 01:32 AM |#7  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 685
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishoka

I tried what you said, and it worked! With ROM (a), I'm now running into System UI ran into an error, problem. Still looking around.

Did you sign in to a google account at the initial setup? I know there's some issues involving that on the Google ROMs.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes