5,597,707 Members 35,623 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

6502,6503,6506 Differences?

Tip us?
 
angry_machine
Old
#1  
angry_machine's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 131
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dhaka
Default 6502,6503,6506 Differences?

Besides from Zone related releases, What are the differences on F/W?

I saw that roms and F/w are model depend on the model? And you cannot flash roms for 6503 for 6502 ?

My phone is a 6502 so just want to make sure!
 
yamen-1991
Old
#2  
yamen-1991's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 36
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Damascus
The only thing that I know is c6503 and c6506 works on 4G networks LTE
But c6502 is not a 4G compatible...

I know also that c6506 is much more expensive and not available widely in every country... But why? We will see other's response


Sent from my C6502 using xda app-developers app
 
TheTofu
Old
#3  
TheTofu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 107
Join Date: Nov 2012
There's two differences between the C6502, C6503, and C6506. What network frequencies they support is the main difference, with the second difference being that the C6502 has a barometer and the C6503 and C6506 don't.

C6502: UMTS HSPA+ 850 (Band V), 900 (Band VIII), 1700 (Band IV),
1900 (Band II), 2100 (Band I)
GSM GPRS/EDGE 850, 900, 1800, 1900

C6503: UMTS HSPA+ 850 (Band V), 900 (Band VIII), 2100 (Band I)
GSM GPRS/EDGE 850, 900, 1800, 1900
LTE Band I, Band III, Band V, Band VII, Band VIII and Band XX

C6506: UMTS HSPA+ 850 (Band V), 900 (Band VIII), 1700 (Band IV),
1900 (Band II), 2100 (Band I)
GSM GPRS/EDGE 850, 900, 1800, 1900
LTE Band I, Band II, Band IV, Band V and Band XVII


In terms of price, the C6506 is about the same as the C6503 in america, whereas the C6502 is about $50 cheaper, the reason being that the other two have LTE, which presumably costs more to implement what with licensing fees and whatnot.

Now, the main reason you can't flash C650* specific firmware is because, as far as I know, each phone has a different chip for network radios, plus the C6502 has a barometer.
Current: Xperia ZL C6506 + CM11 w/ Tap2Wake
Previous: Galaxy Exhibit II 4G w/ CM11
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TheTofu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dj_richard05
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 34
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pune
I am currently using the latest firmware 10.3.1.A.0.244 that I downloaded from cad yesterday which was c6503 specific and flashed it on my c6502. Everything works like a charm

Sent from my C6503 using xda premium
 
Enomine
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTofu View Post
There's two differences between the C6502, C6503, and C6506. What network frequencies they support is the main difference, with the second difference being that the C6502 has a barometer and the C6503 and C6506 don't.

C6502: UMTS HSPA+ 850 (Band V), 900 (Band VIII), 1700 (Band IV),
1900 (Band II), 2100 (Band I)
GSM GPRS/EDGE 850, 900, 1800, 1900
I got the C6502 and it doesnt have barometer. I used service test--->Pressure Sensor: "this device does not support the function"
 
droidvijayan
Old
#6  
droidvijayan's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bengaluru
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enomine View Post
I got the C6502 and it doesnt have barometer. I used service test--->Pressure Sensor: "this device does not support the function"
I agree. C6502 Doesn't have a Barometer.

Query on Sonymobile Forum support says it was a mistake in printing:
http://talk.sonymobile.com/t5/Xperia...or/td-p/313008
It was in white papers C6502, by pressure sensor i mean barometer. Its even listed in all major shoppin sites as well as sites like gsmarena.

Reply:
Ah, I understand. Unfortunately there was a mistake in the White Paper for Xperia ZL. It doesn't have a pressure sensor/barometer. The information should be updated in the WP soon.
Nokia 6110, Nokia 3110, Nokia 1110, Sony Ericsson T68i, Motorala A780, iPhone, Spice MI 400, imobile, Celkon A97, Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc, LEPPhone, Samsung Galaxy SIII GT-i9300, iPad 4.
 
bhavstech
Old
#7  
bhavstech's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 553
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidvijayan View Post
I agree. C6502 Doesn't have a Barometer.

Query on Sonymobile Forum support says it was a mistake in printing:
http://talk.sonymobile.com/t5/Xperia...or/td-p/313008
It was in white papers C6502, by pressure sensor i mean barometer. Its even listed in all major shoppin sites as well as sites like gsmarena.

Reply:
Ah, I understand. Unfortunately there was a mistake in the White Paper for Xperia ZL. It doesn't have a pressure sensor/barometer. The information should be updated in the WP soon.
on gsm arena it says on 6502 ha barometer
If i helped you ,you know where the Thanks button is!
 
droidvijayan
Old
(Last edited by droidvijayan; 21st February 2014 at 10:37 AM.)
#8  
droidvijayan's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bengaluru
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhavstech View Post
on gsm arena it says on 6502 ha barometer
Infact, Sony Xperia ZL(C6502) sold in India, doesn't even have LTE Network capability, as Marketed by Sony in Sonymobile India website.
Something seriously wrong by SONY in providing the phone specifications. We are kind of cheated by this.

http://www.sonymobile.com/in/product...ications/#tabs
I have also attached the snapshot of the Xperia ZL India Website. Here is the snip.

--------------------<snip>--------
Memory

RAM: 2GB
Flash memory: Up to 16 GB
Expansion slot: microSD™ card, up to 32 GB

Networks

UMTS HSPA+ (Bands 1, 5, 8 or bands 1, 2, 4, 5, 8) *
GSM GPRS/EDGE 850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz
LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 20 or bands 1, 2, 4, 5, 17)* <=========================LTE

----------------<end>---------------------------------

Indian Variant of Sony Xperia ZL has only, GSM/WCDMA only. No LTE.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xperia ZL Product info.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	197.6 KB
ID:	2592001  
Nokia 6110, Nokia 3110, Nokia 1110, Sony Ericsson T68i, Motorala A780, iPhone, Spice MI 400, imobile, Celkon A97, Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc, LEPPhone, Samsung Galaxy SIII GT-i9300, iPad 4.
 
ATRIXXIRTA
Old
#9  
ATRIXXIRTA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 684
Posts: 2,237
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: The Shangri-La Motel
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidvijayan View Post
Infact, Sony Xperia ZL(C6502) sold in India, doesn't even have LTE Network capability, as Marketed by Sony in Sonymobile India website.
Something seriously wrong by SONY in providing the phone specifications. We are kind of cheated by this.

http://www.sonymobile.com/in/product...ications/#tabs
I have also attached the snapshot of the Xperia ZL India Website. Here is the snip.

--------------------<snip>--------
Memory

RAM: 2GB
Flash memory: Up to 16 GB
Expansion slot: microSD™ card, up to 32 GB

Networks

UMTS HSPA+ (Bands 1, 5, 8 or bands 1, 2, 4, 5, 8) *
GSM GPRS/EDGE 850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz
LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 20 or bands 1, 2, 4, 5, 17)* <=========================LTE

----------------<end>---------------------------------

Indian Variant of Sony Xperia ZL has only, GSM/WCDMA only. No LTE.

You need to learn to read the fine print my friend, or else life will bite you in the ass over and over and over...

Here's the networks listed on the site:

Networks
UMTS HSPA+ (Bands 1, 5, 8 or bands 1, 2, 4, 5, 8) * < --- Notice the asterisk
GSM GPRS/EDGE 850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz
LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 20 or bands 1, 2, 4, 5, 17)*
< --- Notice the asterisk

Here is the fine print located DIRECTLY under the network info:

* This service is not available in all markets.

It's not very obvious, but thats the whole point of fine print.
Phones: Motorola Atrix 4G ---> Samsung Galaxy Nexus (temporarily) ---> LG Optimus 3d ---> Samsung Galaxy SII LTE Skyrocket ---> LG Optimus G ---> Sony Xperia ZL ---> Motorola Moto G
My Roms/Ports: CarbonRom/CarbonClash (port): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2181390
Thanks: XDA and all its members. Without you I'd still be an uneducated bumpkin complaining about my shi**y phone.

 
coglyostro
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 9
Join Date: Oct 2010
Question 6506 to 6503

I have a 6506 model that I bought in Canada, but I live in Brazil now.

What I want to know is:

- It's possible to use the 6503 firmware to have the 2600Mhz frequency?

Or this is something in the hardware?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes