A Look at the Telegram+ Situation

more

Remove Unlocked Warning Message from Moto E 2015

more

Multi Boot: The Fall of Nandroid?

more

NVIDIA SHIELD: The Tegra X1 Powered Android TV Box

The post NVIDIA SHIELD: The Tegra X1 Powered Android TV Box appeared first on … more
Post Reply

Info 2 [Q] Twrp won't install custom rom gives error message

OP Jacobloveskindles

22nd April 2013, 12:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
the error message was error flashing zip then it went to updating partition details.should i just continue with it or what?edit:it also shows the 3 buttons that you get at the end of an installation and the rom i was flashing was cyanogenmod 10
Last edited by Jacobloveskindles; 22nd April 2013 at 01:35 AM. Reason: not enough details
The Following User Says Thank You to Jacobloveskindles For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2013, 06:11 AM   |  #2  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,447
 
4,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacobloveskindles

the error message was error flashing zip then it went to updating partition details.should i just continue with it or what?edit:it also shows the 3 buttons that you get at the end of an installation and the rom i was flashing was cyanogenmod 10

That's a known bug in TWRP. Install a version previous to the one you're using, or install COTR.
22nd April 2013, 02:40 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
safe method of doing that
Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet

That's a known bug in TWRP. Install a version previous to the one you're using, or install COTR.

my kindle has no system files and i forgot to make a backup.how do i do that in linux
22nd April 2013, 05:09 PM   |  #4  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,447
 
4,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacobloveskindles

my kindle has no system files and i forgot to make a backup.how do i do that in linux

fastboot
22nd April 2013, 05:27 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet

fastboot

not to sound like a total noob but how do I do it in fastboot
22nd April 2013, 05:49 PM   |  #6  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,447
 
4,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1668159
22nd April 2013, 06:03 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
if i do this will it overwrite my other recovery?
Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1668159

If I use your soup kit to change into fast boot can I just install twrp on soup kit and it will downgrade me to an older version?
Last edited by Jacobloveskindles; 22nd April 2013 at 06:31 PM. Reason: easier way
22nd April 2013, 06:44 PM   |  #8  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,447
 
4,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacobloveskindles

If I use your soup kit to change into fast boot can I just install twrp on soup kit and it will downgrade me to an older version?

Yes, the SoupKit that is posted now has an older version of TWRP. I'm in the process of updating it so you should probably grab it while you have the chance, should you decide to go that route. You could also install Cannibal Open Touch Recovery. All versions of it are quite stable.
22nd April 2013, 07:49 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
confused
Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet

Yes, the SoupKit that is posted now has an older version of TWRP. I'm in the process of updating it so you should probably grab it while you have the chance, should you decide to go that route. You could also install Cannibal Open Touch Recovery. All versions of it are quite stable.

So if I'm inside twrp and have soupkit up on the PC and have my kindle plugged in and change it to fast boot then hit flash twrp will it do its thing and downgrade me and reboot my kindle into twrp 2.2 and let me install a ROM.
22nd April 2013, 08:35 PM   |  #10  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,447
 
4,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
It has been brought to my attention that you may be confused between the KFU (Kindle Fire Utility) and TWRP (Team Win Recovery Project). The KFU is a Windows based utility used to change bootmodes, install custom versions of the recovery and bootloader partition images along with various other tasks. It has no affiliation with TWRP, COTR, or FireFireFire, other than it installs them to your device for you.

However, the "bug" in TWRP mentioned earlier is due to that way it handles the updater scripts in certain ROMS. It has nothing to do with your system files. The reason you have no system files right now, is because you wiped them prior to attempting to flash a ROM. Since the ROM was never successfully flashed, you have no system files in place, therefore nothing to boot to.

Downgrade your version of TWRP, or install a different recovery altogether, make sure you have wiped data (factory reset) and reinstall your ROM. After that, you should no longer have any problems.

I strongly suggest you take the time to read the guides and tutorials available for the Kindle Fire and make sure you understand how everything works before you do something and get yourself in a situation that you can't get out of on your own.
Last edited by soupmagnet; 22nd April 2013 at 08:43 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes