App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more
Post Reply

[Q] Fastboot not working on windows 8.1, any solutions?

21st February 2014, 09:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 354
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Title says it all.

Things I've done:

Reinstall HTC Sync and latest device drivers.
Tried every possible USB port, including USB 3.0 ports.

I'm trying to return my phone to stock but without fastboot it seems impossible. On hboot 1.44.

Thanks in advance.
21st February 2014, 09:57 PM   |  #2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,007
 
3,763 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

Title says it all.

Things I've done:

Reinstall HTC Sync and latest device drivers.
Tried every possible USB port, including USB 3.0 ports.

I'm trying to return my phone to stock but without fastboot it seems impossible. On hboot 1.44.

Thanks in advance.

you need another PC or a Ubuntu live boot cd

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606577

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/deskt...ick-on-windows

http://www.ubuntu.com/start-download...release=latest
21st February 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 354
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
No other solutions? If so I'd rather just pop by a friend some time and steal his computer for an hour.
21st February 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,007
 
3,763 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

No other solutions? If so I'd rather just pop by a friend some time and steal his computer for an hour.

not really ..some have luck with an intel driver ..it never worked for me
the Ubuntu live boot drive is very easy to do
21st February 2014, 11:02 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 354
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Oh well, thanks I guess ):
22nd February 2014, 03:36 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Mobile, AL
Thanks Meter: 34
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
There is an updated driver floating around here somewhere. I downloaded it, but haven't got around to upgrading to Win 8.1, but others say it works fine. Search for it.
22nd February 2014, 05:11 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 354
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Looked around, couldn't find anything besides an old windows 8 driver which I tried but didn't work.
22nd February 2014, 05:23 AM   |  #8  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 8,908
 
6,928 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
This is how I do it for my Win8.1

Check this for a workaround : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

For the old way: (I didn't try the update yet)
When you first run the script it will rename the files to *.bak
If the new file is not copied, just manually copy them to the directory
(make a backup of the original files first)
The Following User Says Thank You to ckpv5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2014, 07:23 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 354
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

This is how I do it for my Win8.1

Check this for a workaround : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

For the old way: (I didn't try the update yet)
When you first run the script it will rename the files to *.bak
If the new file is not copied, just manually copy them to the directory
(make a backup of the original files first)

Thanks, this method worked perfectly!
22nd February 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #10  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,007
 
3,763 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

This is how I do it for my Win8.1

Check this for a workaround : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

For the old way: (I didn't try the update yet)
When you first run the script it will rename the files to *.bak
If the new file is not copied, just manually copy them to the directory
(make a backup of the original files first)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

Thanks, this method worked perfectly!

Great .. I'm glad this is finally fixed !!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes