Open War for Open Android: Antitrust for Cyanogen?

Android and openness is something we talk about all the time, but the recent … more

What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more

New Cyanogen Partnerships Bring Privacy Concerns

New Privacy concerns have emerged regarding Cyanogen’s latest announcements, … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Fastboot not working on windows 8.1, any solutions?

21st February 2014, 09:52 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 369
 
1,270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Title says it all.

Things I've done:

Reinstall HTC Sync and latest device drivers.
Tried every possible USB port, including USB 3.0 ports.

I'm trying to return my phone to stock but without fastboot it seems impossible. On hboot 1.44.

Thanks in advance.
 
 
21st February 2014, 09:57 PM |#2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,636
 
5,875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

Title says it all.

Things I've done:

Reinstall HTC Sync and latest device drivers.
Tried every possible USB port, including USB 3.0 ports.

I'm trying to return my phone to stock but without fastboot it seems impossible. On hboot 1.44.

Thanks in advance.

you need another PC or a Ubuntu live boot cd

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606577

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/deskt...ick-on-windows

http://www.ubuntu.com/start-download...release=latest
21st February 2014, 10:00 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 369
 
1,270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
No other solutions? If so I'd rather just pop by a friend some time and steal his computer for an hour.
21st February 2014, 10:04 PM |#4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,636
 
5,875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

No other solutions? If so I'd rather just pop by a friend some time and steal his computer for an hour.

not really ..some have luck with an intel driver ..it never worked for me
the Ubuntu live boot drive is very easy to do
21st February 2014, 11:02 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 369
 
1,270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Oh well, thanks I guess ):
22nd February 2014, 03:36 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Mobile, AL
Thanks Meter: 60
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
There is an updated driver floating around here somewhere. I downloaded it, but haven't got around to upgrading to Win 8.1, but others say it works fine. Search for it.
22nd February 2014, 05:11 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 369
 
1,270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Looked around, couldn't find anything besides an old windows 8 driver which I tried but didn't work.
22nd February 2014, 05:23 AM |#8  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 11,538
 
8,848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
This is how I do it for my Win8.1

Check this for a workaround : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

For the old way: (I didn't try the update yet)
When you first run the script it will rename the files to *.bak
If the new file is not copied, just manually copy them to the directory
(make a backup of the original files first)
The Following User Says Thank You to ckpv5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2014, 07:23 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 369
 
1,270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

This is how I do it for my Win8.1

Check this for a workaround : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

For the old way: (I didn't try the update yet)
When you first run the script it will rename the files to *.bak
If the new file is not copied, just manually copy them to the directory
(make a backup of the original files first)

Thanks, this method worked perfectly!
22nd February 2014, 08:47 PM |#10  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,636
 
5,875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

This is how I do it for my Win8.1

Check this for a workaround : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

For the old way: (I didn't try the update yet)
When you first run the script it will rename the files to *.bak
If the new file is not copied, just manually copy them to the directory
(make a backup of the original files first)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

Thanks, this method worked perfectly!

Great .. I'm glad this is finally fixed !!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes