Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Fastboot not working on windows 8.1, any solutions?

OP seshmaru

21st February 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 359
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Title says it all.

Things I've done:

Reinstall HTC Sync and latest device drivers.
Tried every possible USB port, including USB 3.0 ports.

I'm trying to return my phone to stock but without fastboot it seems impossible. On hboot 1.44.

Thanks in advance.
21st February 2014, 10:57 PM   |  #2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,248
 
4,534 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

Title says it all.

Things I've done:

Reinstall HTC Sync and latest device drivers.
Tried every possible USB port, including USB 3.0 ports.

I'm trying to return my phone to stock but without fastboot it seems impossible. On hboot 1.44.

Thanks in advance.

you need another PC or a Ubuntu live boot cd

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606577

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/deskt...ick-on-windows

http://www.ubuntu.com/start-download...release=latest
21st February 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 359
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
No other solutions? If so I'd rather just pop by a friend some time and steal his computer for an hour.
21st February 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,248
 
4,534 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

No other solutions? If so I'd rather just pop by a friend some time and steal his computer for an hour.

not really ..some have luck with an intel driver ..it never worked for me
the Ubuntu live boot drive is very easy to do
22nd February 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 359
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Oh well, thanks I guess ):
22nd February 2014, 04:36 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Mobile, AL
Thanks Meter: 56
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
There is an updated driver floating around here somewhere. I downloaded it, but haven't got around to upgrading to Win 8.1, but others say it works fine. Search for it.
22nd February 2014, 06:11 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 359
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Looked around, couldn't find anything besides an old windows 8 driver which I tried but didn't work.
22nd February 2014, 06:23 AM   |  #8  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 9,530
 
7,366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
This is how I do it for my Win8.1

Check this for a workaround : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

For the old way: (I didn't try the update yet)
When you first run the script it will rename the files to *.bak
If the new file is not copied, just manually copy them to the directory
(make a backup of the original files first)
The Following User Says Thank You to ckpv5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2014, 08:23 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 359
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

This is how I do it for my Win8.1

Check this for a workaround : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

For the old way: (I didn't try the update yet)
When you first run the script it will rename the files to *.bak
If the new file is not copied, just manually copy them to the directory
(make a backup of the original files first)

Thanks, this method worked perfectly!
22nd February 2014, 09:47 PM   |  #10  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,248
 
4,534 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

This is how I do it for my Win8.1

Check this for a workaround : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

For the old way: (I didn't try the update yet)
When you first run the script it will rename the files to *.bak
If the new file is not copied, just manually copy them to the directory
(make a backup of the original files first)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

Thanks, this method worked perfectly!

Great .. I'm glad this is finally fixed !!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes