Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Freezing on boot when data is restored

OP Fry-kun

14th February 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
So I have an Exhibit that started freezing up on the red AOIP logo with "pulse" animation..

Clearing cache/dalvik doesn't help -- phone reboots to "optimizing apps" but gets stuck on "starting apps". If power cycled, it gets stuck at AOIP logo (it's an AOIP rom)

Tried reflashing the rom (AOIP-2.0-ancora_tmo-OFFICIAL-20131006) -- same result

The internal SD card appeared to be out of space -- mounted it over USB (thanks to CWM) and cleaned it out so it's at ~60% now.. but the phone still doesn't want to boot!

Created a backup with CWM and wiped the data (after removing the ext sd card) -- phone boots up properly!
Restored from the backup -- phone doesn't boot

What else can I do?
14th February 2014, 01:15 AM   |  #2  
det0xx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Riverside
Thanks Meter: 136
 
409 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fry-kun

So I have an Exhibit that started freezing up on the red AOIP logo with "pulse" animation..

Clearing cache/dalvik doesn't help -- phone reboots to "optimizing apps" but gets stuck on "starting apps". If power cycled, it gets stuck at AOIP logo (it's an AOIP rom)

Tried reflashing the rom (AOIP-2.0-ancora_tmo-OFFICIAL-20131006) -- same result

The internal SD card appeared to be out of space -- mounted it over USB (thanks to CWM) and cleaned it out so it's at ~60% now.. but the phone still doesn't want to boot!

Created a backup with CWM and wiped the data (after removing the ext sd card) -- phone boots up properly!
Restored from the backup -- phone doesn't boot

What else can I do?

wipe both internal and exernal sd cards and do a fresh install
14th February 2014, 01:47 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by det0xx

wipe both internal and exernal sd cards and do a fresh install

I think it was implied that I'm able to boot after /data wipe -- but I'd like the data back!
And it's not so much the apps themselves (which can be reinstalled pretty easily) -- but the data that they saved for the user.

Oh, and it's not my phone per se
14th February 2014, 02:32 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
BTW, I have adb set up on my laptop, and I'm able to get shell at the frozen boot.. just don't know what command(s) to give it since I'm not really familiar with android environment
14th February 2014, 02:48 AM   |  #5  
det0xx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Riverside
Thanks Meter: 136
 
409 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fry-kun

BTW, I have adb set up on my laptop, and I'm able to get shell at the frozen boot.. just don't know what command(s) to give it since I'm not really familiar with android environment

do you have your app data in a nandroid backup?

if you do install the rom freshly and download app nandroid manager. app will let you restore apps and its data through its app to your current rom
14th February 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by det0xx

do you have your app data in a nandroid backup?

if you do install the rom freshly and download app nandroid manager. app will let you restore apps and its data through its app to your current rom

No, it was a CWM backup... and I didn't see an option in nandroid to restore just the data or just the apps from this backup..
14th February 2014, 03:40 AM   |  #7  
det0xx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Riverside
Thanks Meter: 136
 
409 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fry-kun

No, it was a CWM backup... and I didn't see an option in nandroid to restore just the data or just the apps from this backup..

cwm backup is a nandroid back up...
14th February 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #8  
Dvarl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orland Park
Thanks Meter: 87
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fry-kun

No, it was a CWM backup... and I didn't see an option in nandroid to restore just the data or just the apps from this backup..

In CWM look in advanced restore.

Sent from my SGH-T679 using xda app-developers app
15th February 2014, 07:56 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by det0xx

cwm backup is a nandroid back up...

After trying a few things, looks like Nandroid finally found my backup and is letting me restore things one by one.. yay

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes