Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unfixable Google Loop - So frustrated

OP buelldozer

16th January 2014, 06:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
I bought my Nexus 7 2013 shortly after they were available and it was a good device until the release of KitKat. After the KitKat OTA it's been a piece of junk.

After the KitKat OTA it developed a problem where the tablet was on but the touchscreen was unresponsive. The only way to fix it was to shut it down by holding the power button. Eventually it started being stubborn and I'd have to power cycle it several times before it would clear the Google screen. That gradually progressed to having to do a system reset before it would come back to life.

On December 15th it finally refused to go past the Google splash. Attempting to boot into recovery also left you stuck at the Google logo. At the time I tried the WUGFresh tools to do a stock recovery and while I was successful in unlocking no amount of flashing / formatting / erasing would give you a normal boot or a recovery screen.

I sent it off to ASUS on 12/17 and got it back this past Monday (1/13). It worked fine until Tuesday night when once again the screen was unresponsive and I had to shut it down by holding the power button. It's now stuck at the Google screen and no amount of flashing / formatting / erasing using FreshWug or fastboot directly via command line has brought it back.

Here's what I've done so far:
  • Spammed flash-all at least 6 times
  • fastboot format of /boot /system /userdata /cache multiple times
  • Multiple runs of WUGFresh
  • Flashed 4.4.2 and 4.3 images

What else is there I can do aside from sending it back to ASUS?
16th January 2014, 09:10 PM   |  #2  
Michealtbh's Avatar
Senior Member
Belfast
Thanks Meter: 844
 
2,713 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Does it boot to bootloader?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
16th January 2014, 09:15 PM   |  #3  
Pandae's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
As Micheal said, can you get to the bootloader? Do all of these commands go successfully?

fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata

I don't use Wug's tool, preferring to do things from the command line so I know exactly what's being done and to see error messages.
17th January 2014, 12:07 AM   |  #4  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 424
 
1,742 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandae

As Micheal said, can you get to the bootloader? Do all of these commands go successfully?

fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata

I don't use Wug's tool, preferring to do things from the command line so I know exactly what's being done and to see error messages.

This

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Odex SinLess ROM 4.4.2 with ElementalX kernel using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
17th January 2014, 02:52 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandae

As Micheal said, can you get to the bootloader? Do all of these commands go successfully?

fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata

I don't use Wug's tool, preferring to do things from the command line so I know exactly what's being done and to see error messages.

Yes to all of those, I just did them again to verify. FYI WUG opens a command shell as it runs fastboot so you can see what it's up to.

Anywhoo I reflashed kot49h (manually) and got the same result, stuck at Google. If this thing wasn't still under warranty I'd snap it in half and light the two halves on fire.

Any other ideas?
17th January 2014, 03:00 AM   |  #6  
Pandae's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
What if you tried a custom recovery and custom ROM?
17th January 2014, 04:11 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
So I ran through the procedure once more last night and it worked! After about 20 minutes the tablet rebooted on it's own, displayed the working android and then booted up. I guess you just need to reflash 22 times?
18th January 2014, 07:01 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
TORONTO
Thanks Meter: 131
 
2,062 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buelldozer

So I ran through the procedure once more last night and it worked! After about 20 minutes the tablet rebooted on it's own, displayed the working android and then booted up. I guess you just need to reflash 22 times?

any updates? is it working fine now? any random reboots? god i hated that on my 1st nex7fhd, im on my 2nd one, its and perfect aside from the 'low speaker volume' stock
19th January 2014, 11:41 AM   |  #9  
Dakura's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Samsun
Thanks Meter: 48
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Might be an hardware issue, don't get stuck with software too much, send it again until they replace it.
The Following User Says Thank You to Dakura For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2014, 01:39 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Soggy New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 193
 
899 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
I'd be interested in what ASUS did to it.
Did they include a list of parts replaced, etc?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes