Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] RMA'ing phone, HBOOT 1.56 Locked w/ S-OFF

OP dxdisaster

7th February 2014, 10:16 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 5
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I'm going to RMA my One due to the camera tint issue. I RUU'd back to stock, however the bootloader is showing I'm on HBOOT 1.56 locked and S-OFF.

Does anyone know if this will be an issue for the RMA? If so, how can I go back to locked/s-on?

Just to clarify: Stock --> moonshine S-OFF --> RUU 3.05.651.6 (fail) --> RUU 3.05.651.6 (success) --> OTA 4.06.651.4 --> Now

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hboot.jpg
Views:	223
Size:	77.8 KB
ID:	2565505  
Last edited by dxdisaster; 7th February 2014 at 10:21 PM. Reason: attached image
8th February 2014, 03:09 AM   |  #2  
jblaze10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gold Canyon,Az
Thanks Meter: 102
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Check around the threads. Rootlinux created a boot loader masking script, that I belive will appear to be bone stock. Or pm him and ask, he is a helpful guy.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
8th February 2014, 07:39 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 5
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblaze10

Check around the threads. Rootlinux created a boot loader masking script, that I belive will appear to be bone stock. Or pm him and ask, he is a helpful guy.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk

I was able to fix this with "fastboot oem writesecureflag 3", now locked/s-on.

Thanks though!
8th February 2014, 09:42 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 282
 
1,316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Lol that's what I did about 2 days ago. Phone just arrived at Houston this morning . Kinda worried about how it goes though hoping they don't charge me for anything.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to luigi311 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th February 2014, 12:22 AM   |  #5  
jblaze10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gold Canyon,Az
Thanks Meter: 102
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luigi311

Lol that's what I did about 2 days ago. Phone just arrived at Houston this morning . Kinda worried about how it goes though hoping they don't charge me for anything.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Well please update if it was successful. Would be nice to know if it an option!!

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
9th February 2014, 07:03 AM   |  #6  
benny3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag MICH
Thanks Meter: 2,824
 
2,253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
If you ask me HTC should fix the camera issue with out question. I see more stock unrooted users with the problem then rooted users. HTC see's a opportunity to get out of spending money to make things right. I been a HTC user for a long time and things like this really bothers me and i may go with a different brand next time around.
11th February 2014, 04:46 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
FYI, I've done about five insurance claims/replacements and each one that was returned was rooted/rommed and I've never had any issues, I've just usually had to pay the 100(twice) or 10(three times) bucks (old phone was an evo 3d, super cheap)
11th February 2014, 05:15 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag American Canyon
Thanks Meter: 338
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefritob

FYI, I've done about five insurance claims/replacements and each one that was returned was rooted/rommed and I've never had any issues, I've just usually had to pay the 100(twice) or 10(three times) bucks (old phone was an evo 3d, super cheap)

An insurance fix is at your expense and covers everything from water damage to user stupidity which is why they don't care if you had a custom rom or were rooted. A warranty exchange for the camera issue is covered by HTC and the end user usually only pays shipping.
11th February 2014, 08:15 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraizk

An insurance fix is at your expense and covers everything from water damage to user stupidity which is why they don't care if you had a custom rom or were rooted. A warranty exchange for the camera issue is covered by HTC and the end user usually only pays shipping.

Ahh okay, I guess that makes a difference.
12th February 2014, 12:47 AM   |  #10  
nwo122383's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag dover plains
Thanks Meter: 66
 
344 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
I have this problem with mine and sent it out however due to it saying relocked on the boot loader they now want to charge me 200 to fix a hardware defect. I guess I should have done better locking it. But come on this should have been a recall and should not matter whether or not in warranty. I'm not asking to get a brand new phone just want this fixed. Will keep everyone updated as I get more updates from them.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ruu hboot s-off 1.56
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes