5,596,700 Members 46,572 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Stuck Updating - S-ON, Re-Locked, 4.4 KitKat T-Mobile

Tip us?
 
Sparkydsm
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Unhappy [Q] Stuck Updating - S-ON, Re-Locked, 4.4 KitKat T-Mobile

Tried updating to
OTA_M7_UL_K44_SENSE55_MR_TMOUS_4.19.531.10-3.24.531.3_release_351678n41r1lfticqo8m4c.zip
MD5 = 5f4a4c44524a38297ea18d0b0a9d099f

and must have gotten partially finished (or tried something else first and failed), because now i'm stuck on 4.19.531.10, with S-ON, Relocked.

I can get into fastboot, but otherwise doesn't boot normally (shuts off after logo), and I can't flash any 4.3 RUU's via command line zip ( fails ) or windows exe (error 155)

here's my getvar:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.56.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.24.3263.09
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 4.19.531.10
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON


(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0713000
(bootloader) cidnum: T-MOB010
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4274mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-4dab9d12
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.039s


So I'm pretty sure I know what to do, but not how!
1. I partially succeeded, so i'm on 4.19.531.10 now,
2. can't flash 4.3 stock without s-off
3. Can't get s-off without working rom? (hboot 1.56)

All the information is in front of me but not sure what to do. My ideas are:

a. S-off my hoot 1.56 from recovery and proceed.
b. wait for a 4.4 t-mo RUU exe to try.
 
nkk71
Old
#2  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2084
Posts: 4,295
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparkydsm View Post
All the information is in front of me but not sure what to do. My ideas are:

a. S-off my hoot 1.56 from recovery and proceed.
b. wait for a 4.4 t-mo RUU exe to try.
you can't s-off from recovery, you need a working ROM.

unlock using HTCdev, then get a ROM onto your phone, and then proceed to s-off using rumrunner or firewater
 
Sparkydsm
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2011
I know I can't. But I know I need to, to be able to downgrade.

So i've updated my plan of attack:

1. Unlock first. Did this already
2. re-install twrp because it wasn't my recovery anymore. Done.
3. flash custom rom with at least version '4.19.531.10' so it doesn't count as a downgrade ( downloading a 4.4 rom now.)
4. Once booted, continue getting s-off however I need to.
5. Back to 4.3 RUU
6. Try OTA Again.

I'll post an update once i've tried this.
 
Sparkydsm
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Well it seemed to succeed installing ViperOne, but then hung at boot with the " HTC One Beats Audio " screen.

Trying a different rom. Also noticed that it's 4.19.401.8 for viper one not 4.19.531.10, am I failing because I'm still trying to downgrade without s-off?

Should I try Stock 4.4.2 Google edt.?
 
Sparkydsm
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2011
And i think i've got it solved?

So the original problem: Was S-ON and unlocked to begin with, failed 4.3 -> 4.4 update. Unable to downgrade with ruu (s-off required)

Steps to resolve it:

1. Unlock. ( I relocked while i was trying stuff)
2. Install custom recovery (twrp)
3. Flashed Android Revolution HD 4.4 (counted as equal instead of downgrade, has root & prereq for s-off)
4. S-off hboot 1.56 with firewater
5. flash 4.3 ruu zip (this step flashes stock recovery also)
6. copy/push/otg 4.4 ota zip to /sdcard/Downloads
7. reboot into stock recovery, flash ota? (still on this step, wish me luck.)
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 297
Posts: 1,367
Join Date: Jan 2011
Should let it do it automatically without pushing but sure..

sent from my mobile device
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Sony Xperia Z, ZL, ZR, and Tablet Z to Receive Official KitKat Update in May

It’s no secret that although Sony is one of the most … more

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more