Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy [Q] fastboot detects device but adb doesn't.

OP Kyuubi10

21st February 2014, 01:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Ok...so here is my problem, my first time installing CyanogenMod, so I tried looking for tutorials, and conveniently CM has a wiki...
From there it kept saying that I MAYBE needed to flash boot.img
But it never specified when, or at which step I needed to do this, now I know.
Therefore I flashed it first thing....coz I wasn't thinking straight.
Well...bottom line is that my phone doesnt boot the OS, but it freezes at the HTC One X logo screen.

I can easily open recovery, I have CWM touch.
And on fastboot mode the phone is detected.

But adb doesnt detect the device, and the storage mounting on CWM is not working, and adb isn't detecting it there either.
I tried restoring a backup but it is not working....and neither factory reset.
The only thing I can think of is reflashing the boot with the original boot. But i cannot seem to find this anywhere.
Since I ddnt save the CM zip file in my sdcard I cannot install it using CWM but I cant either push it using adb....I am stuck.

I have searched everywhere for similar problems....I thought it could be drivers so I reinstalled all of them, but to no avail.

Can anyone please help me?
21st February 2014, 06:45 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Which version of CM are you trying to install?

Usual way of changing a rom is usually flashing the boot.img first then flashing the rom.
21st February 2014, 08:02 AM   |  #3  
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,842
 
14,372 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Downgrade the recovery to philz 5.15 and mount the sd again. Leave it for a few minutes and wait for it to pop up.

Then copy the rom and change the recovery if needed to install the rom.

Sent from my HTC One X using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
21st February 2014, 12:59 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flame0n

Which version of CM are you trying to install?

Usual way of changing a rom is usually flashing the boot.img first then flashing the rom.

Well, the xda forum's tutorial said to install CM from SD, since it is a zip you can't exactly flash it.
I am trying to install the latest STABLE version available for endeavoru which is 10.2.1
21st February 2014, 01:01 PM   |  #5  
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,842
 
14,372 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
What do you mean, you take out the boot.img (from inside the CM.zip) and flash it with Fastboot, then enter the recovery ....make a full wipe and install the CM.zip from the sdcard.....

Done

Sent from my HTC One X using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
21st February 2014, 01:56 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs

What do you mean, you take out the boot.img (from inside the CM.zip) and flash it with Fastboot, then enter the recovery ....make a full wipe and install the CM.zip from the sdcard.....

Done

Sent from my HTC One X using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


This is the post I read this on:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2583037

It says that the last thing is flash boot.img then reboot...
anyways I think I have just solved my problem I will post again with what I did XD
21st February 2014, 02:02 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Talking
Ok....so the problem which I was having originally is that I couldn't access the sdcard.

Luckily I have dual boot windows and linux (Ubuntu) on my Laptop.

Therefore to solve this you will need do have both linux and windows or grab a friend with linux....otherwise it wont work.

Ok when I created my linux partition and installed linux and whatnot, windows would not recognize it for some reason, my best guess is that it was in a format which windows did not recognize (ext3).

The phone I noticed is ext4 therefore windows was having problems with drivers and all of that. So it wasnt detecting.

Once I rebooted into linux and connected my phone and mounted the sdcard from recovery BOOM it worked!!

So from linux I can put the zip files into my sdcard and then switch over to windows to flash boot.img
I have to do this from windows because fastboot is a .exe file, which doesnt work on linux so you will need both.

Thanks guys for the help but it seems I will not be needing it XD hahahaha

I will comeback if it doenst go according to plan though O.O
21st February 2014, 02:08 PM   |  #8  
Thant's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sofia
Thanks Meter: 622
 
2,021 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyuubi10

Ok....so the problem which I was having originally is that I couldn't access the sdcard.

Luckily I have dual boot windows and linux (Ubuntu) on my Laptop.

Therefore to solve this you will need do have both linux and windows or grab a friend with linux....otherwise it wont work.

Ok when I created my linux partition and installed linux and whatnot, windows would not recognize it for some reason, my best guess is that it was in a format which windows did not recognize (ext3).

The phone I noticed is ext4 therefore windows was having problems with drivers and all of that. So it wasnt detecting.

Once I rebooted into linux and connected my phone and mounted the sdcard from recovery BOOM it worked!!

So from linux I can put the zip files into my sdcard and then switch over to windows to flash boot.img
I have to do this from windows because fastboot is a .exe file, which doesnt work on linux so you will need both.

Thanks guys for the help but it seems I will not be needing it XD hahahaha

I will comeback if it doenst go according to plan though O.O

Hehehe there have fastboot for linux I have fastboot for linux windows and mac no need to install windows to use fastboot or oposit
The Following User Says Thank You to Thant For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2014, 02:14 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thant

Hehehe there have fastboot for linux I have fastboot for linux windows and mac no need to install windows to use fastboot or oposit

looool I know...i just ddnt wanna waste anymore time searching for that when I already had it on windows. It switches really quickly so I'm not worried
21st February 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Talking
Ok it worked....CyanogenMod 10.2.1 successfully booted

Ok...I will update this threads title if I manage to find how to do that

Thanks guys for all the help, I hope this threads helps others out there.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes