Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy [Q] SD card appears as only 48MB. how come?

OP puwa

26th September 2013, 12:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Hi, seems like my One S's sdcard partition has corrupted. been using TWRP 2.500 and recently upadted to 2.6.30 to use the new Maximus Rom. During the rom installation, I wiped the sdcard sectrion by mistake so I couldn't get to flash the zip file, then, I've tried multiple times of recovery.img flashings via RUU mode or on the bootloader screen. Finally when I got the TWRP recovery mode again, it says the sdcard folder only accepts 48 MB so I cannot push any custom roms since they are bigger than 500MB... Any ideas? Should I send it to the repair shops? Please Help!! Thank you!


FYI, my phone was

Tampered, Unlocked, S-off
also, when I press mount button on TWRP, this list appears
Cache
Data
Internal SDcard
System
USB-OTG

but I select Internal SD, the computer says the removable disk has only 48MB of available space.(I wiped it multiple times!)
26th September 2013, 12:26 PM   |  #2  
tominozh's Avatar
Senior Member
Dublin
Thanks Meter: 154
 
468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by puwa

Hi, seems like my One S's sdcard partition has corrupted. been using TWRP 2.500 and recently upadted to 2.6.30 to use the new Maximus Rom. During the rom installation, I wiped the sdcard sectrion by mistake so I couldn't get to flash the zip file, then, I've tried multiple times of recovery.img flashings via RUU mode or on the bootloader screen. Finally when I got the TWRP recovery mode again, it says the sdcard folder only accepts 48 MB so I cannot push any custom roms since they are bigger than 500MB... Any ideas? Should I send it to the repair shops? Please Help!! Thank you!


FYI, my phone was

Tampered, Unlocked, S-off
also, when I press mount button on TWRP, this list appears
Cache
Data
Internal SDcard
System
USB-OTG

but I select Internal SD, the computer says the removable disk has only 48MB of available space.(I wiped it multiple times!)

Omg. Why the people dont read op before they are going to flash new Rom. Just follow the instructions.

Sent from my HTC One S
26th September 2013, 01:23 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tominozh

Omg. Why the people dont read op before they are going to flash new Rom. Just follow the instructions.

Sent from my HTC One S

Could you please tell me at least it's repairable or not? I want your help..
Also, I wonder what part I missed so it happened...hmm
26th September 2013, 01:36 PM   |  #4  
tominozh's Avatar
Senior Member
Dublin
Thanks Meter: 154
 
468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by puwa

Could you please tell me at least it's repairable or not? I want your help..
Also, I wonder what part I missed so it happened...hmm

Yes, don't sweat it. It is repairable.

It's hard for my to tell what you missed, because you didn't write what you did. So just follow installation instructions in the first post of maximus Rom. (flash new firmware, modified recovery, then Rom).

Sent from my HTC One S
The Following User Says Thank You to tominozh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th September 2013, 02:35 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tominozh

Yes, don't sweat it. It is repairable.

It's hard for my to tell what you missed, because you didn't write what you did. So just follow installation instructions in the first post of maximus Rom. (flash new firmware, modified recovery, then Rom).

Sent from my HTC One S


thank you! so, for flashing a new firmware, what would be a good firmware to start? any recommendations? i tried the firmware.zip in the install kit but not worked. same 48MB limit on the /sdcard/. any ideas?
27th September 2013, 03:26 AM   |  #6  
gelo01's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Caloocan
Thanks Meter: 331
 
1,531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Just follow this. It worked for almost all of us..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=45621060
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gelo01 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th September 2013, 05:18 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gelo01

Just follow this. It worked for almost all of us..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=45621060

GRT!! Thanks so much for saving my LIFE!!
The Following User Says Thank You to puwa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st October 2013, 07:58 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gelo01

Just follow this. It worked for almost all of us..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=45621060

All of these steps work for me except flashing the recovery as a ZIP. I get the wrong CID error (code 42 if i remember correctly). Thing is, I flash the .img directly usign fastboot flash recovery and that works but then the install process says, in android, transfer ROM. At this point, I don't have access to the SD card and the ROM is not in my sd card (it was wiped anyway?)

*EDIT*
Ok I changed my CID to 1111111 and now it works to flash the firmware. I still get partitions errors it seems though.

What I did is flash the stock recovery, clear storage, factory reset, reflashed the firmware given in Maximus thread, then the TWRP given and still, I get problems with my sdcard not mounting?
Last edited by GabeyC; 1st October 2013 at 08:21 PM.
2nd October 2013, 11:45 AM   |  #9  
tivofool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 182
 
583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GabeyC

All of these steps work for me except flashing the recovery as a ZIP. I get the wrong CID error (code 42 if i remember correctly). Thing is, I flash the .img directly usign fastboot flash recovery and that works but then the install process says, in android, transfer ROM. At this point, I don't have access to the SD card and the ROM is not in my sd card (it was wiped anyway?)

*EDIT*
Ok I changed my CID to 1111111 and now it works to flash the firmware. I still get partitions errors it seems though.

What I did is flash the stock recovery, clear storage, factory reset, reflashed the firmware given in Maximus thread, then the TWRP given and still, I get problems with my sdcard not mounting?

if you are talking about mounting usb storage in recovery, then no, you cannot do that on Maximus HD rom. (it's a modified TWRP to work on the new firmware)

You can sideload in TWRP or ADB push the rom to your sdcard.
I would give you a link to a page describing it, but search is unavailable right now, have to try later.

But just search that thread with keyword sideload. There you will find the exact commands to load the rom onto your sdcard.
The Following User Says Thank You to tivofool For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd October 2013, 10:21 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivofool

if you are talking about mounting usb storage in recovery, then no, you cannot do that on Maximus HD rom. (it's a modified TWRP to work on the new firmware)

You can sideload in TWRP or ADB push the rom to your sdcard.
I would give you a link to a page describing it, but search is unavailable right now, have to try later.

But just search that thread with keyword sideload. There you will find the exact commands to load the rom onto your sdcard.

Yea, that's exactly what I ended up doing... it's not clear on any thread though...

Thanks

I went back to CM, didn't like maximus so much and it didn't fix my EDGE only problem so

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes