Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[solved] OTA update (176.44.1) fails w/ CWM or ends in bootloop w/ stock recovery

OP Kleo2

22nd February 2014, 02:06 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Hi guys,

I'm running my Moto G 16GB on Kitkat 4.4.2 system version 175.44.1.falcon_umts.Retail.en.DE. Today it offered to download and install the latest OTA update (called 176.44.1.en.DE). I started the download and tried to install it.

After downloading the update was placed in /cache. The file name was 'Blur_Version.175.44.1.falcon_umts.Retail.en.DE.zi p', which surprised me. I was expecting something like 'Blur_Version.176.44.1.falcon_umts.Retail.en.DE.zi p'.

When I tried to install it without removing root and without going back to stock recovery it ended with a signature error in CWM. Installing the untrusted zip manually didn't work as well - as expected.

Then I tried to follow advise from other threads and went back to stock recovery (extracted from a full install package 'Blur_Version.175.44.1.falcon_umts.Retail.en.DE' - 444MB) That seemed to work and the install of the OTA update went fine before getting stuck on the boot animation on the first boot. It sat there for 10 minutes before I rebooted and restored a CWM backup.

I'm running out of ideas. Some say it's sufficient to go back to stock recovery temporarily. Others say you need to go back to full stock.

I have to repeat that I'm rooted and that I've de-activated a few unused apps (mainly harmless google stuff (hangout, search, music and so on) and Motorola Assist, Migrate and 'Context Services') .

Are there further findings about what stops the OTA from succeeding?

Many thanks in advance,
Kleo2
Last edited by Kleo2; 22nd February 2014 at 07:24 PM.
22nd February 2014, 11:00 AM   |  #2  
S0bes's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tomsk
Thanks Meter: 422
 
421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kleo2

Hi guys,

I'm running my Moto G 16GB on Kitkat 4.4.2 system version 175.44.1.falcon_umts.Retail.en.DE. Today it offered to download and install the latest OTA update (called 176.44.1.en.DE). I started the download and tried to install it.

After downloading the update was placed in /cache. The file name was 'Blur_Version.175.44.1.falcon_umts.Retail.en.DE.zi p', which surprised me. I was expecting something like 'Blur_Version.176.44.1.falcon_umts.Retail.en.DE.zi p'.

When I tried to install it without removing root and without going back to stock recovery it ended with a signature error in CWM. Installing the untrusted zip manually didn't work as well - as expected.

Then I tried to follow advise from other threads and went back to stock recovery (extracted from a full install package 'Blur_Version.175.44.1.falcon_umts.Retail.en.DE' - 444MB) That seemed to work and the install of the OTA update went fine before getting stuck on the boot animation on the first boot. It sat there for 10 minutes before I rebooted and restored a CWM backup.

I'm running out of ideas. Some say it's sufficient to go back to stock recovery temporarily. Others say you need to go back to full stock.

I have to repeat that I'm rooted and that I've de-activated a few unused apps (mainly harmless google stuff (hangout, search, music and so on) and Motorola Assist, Migrate and 'Context Services') .

Are there further findings about what stops the OTA from succeeding?

Many thanks in advance,
Kleo2

If your phone is rooted or there is a CWM installed or there is any change in system files then ota will fail till you flash stock rom. You can't just bring back stock recovery. You have to "delete" root as well.
There is some info http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...50&postcount=6
22nd February 2014, 01:12 PM   |  #3  
CromoPT's Avatar
Member
Flag Pombal
Thanks Meter: 12
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
I will post my case here, I had the same problem, I had CWM and root and when I rebooted to update I get installation failed and boot loop.

Then I just flashed stock recovery (only) rebooted and now I already have the update installed
22nd February 2014, 01:35 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CromoPT

I will post my case here, I had the same problem, I had CWM and root and when I rebooted to update I get installation failed and boot loop.

Then I just flashed stock recovery (only) rebooted and now I already have the update installed

Hi, thanks for your replies. Because of your report and others, who state the same (installing stock recovery only to get the update working) I was hoping to get around going back to full stock. It always takes a lot of time to configure the phone the way it was configured before essentially wiping.

Just to repeat what I did: when I try to install the OTA while CWM is installed there's just an error message in CWM, the update fails, but the phone is working normally afterwards. It's just not updated.

When I try with stock recovery the update process finishes without errors, but the phone get stuck during the boot animation.
Maybe there's a way to fix the boot loop?

Looking forward to any suggestions
Cheers, Kleo2
22nd February 2014, 07:17 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
I tried again and found a way without going back to full stock.

1. flashed stock recovery from full 175.44.1 image
2. let the phone download the OTA and restart to install it
3. ota install in stock recovery went fine
4. reboot -> stuck on boot animation again
5. flashed CWM and wiped cache AND dalvik cache
6. next boot took longer than normal but got past the boot animation
7. android optimized/cached my apps and then started normally
8. version is now 176.44.1 and the phone seems to work normally (after 30 minutes of usage)

Hope that helps someone and that I won't have issues going forward because I did it this way.

Cheers, Kleo2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kleo2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2014, 08:08 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kleo2

I tried again and found a way without going back to full stock.

Thanks. Did 1 to 3 and phone booted just fine (not stuck on boot animation)

My phone: No logo fix, root, Xposed Framework
After update root was still there, Xposed needed a new install
The Following User Says Thank You to rygel16 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2014, 03:38 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
total noob
i would so much like to update my rooted moto g.. because of my card reader.

does anyone know a step-by-step-for-complete-noobs-post and could provide a link?

i'm just starting.. and so happy and proud that i got my phone rooted.. and that i got rid of this rebooting problem by erasing the cache.

but i'm already lost when i read "flashed stock recovery".. yeah i know: that much noob!

help would be much appreciated!
Papshmir
26th February 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Info 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Papshmir

i would so much like to update my rooted moto g.. because of my card reader.

does anyone know a step-by-step-for-complete-noobs-post and could provide a link?

i'm just starting.. and so happy and proud that i got my phone rooted.. and that i got rid of this rebooting problem by erasing the cache.

but i'm already lost when i read "flashed stock recovery".. yeah i know: that much noob!

help would be much appreciated!
Papshmir


I UPDATED my rooted Kitkat Tesco version SUCCESFULLY! and still rooted.

What I did:

1. install Motorola Device Manager (RESTART computer and telephone)
2. downloaded MotoTool
3. Made a Nandroid backup in CMW, made a backup with MotoTool too. Just in case
And deactived (did not uninstall) my Xposed framework modules (if you dont have it, you dont need to)
I have some system apps disabled, but didnt re-activate it. :P (was too lazy haha)

4. downloaded the correct ROM from: http://sbf.droid-developers.org/phone.php?device=14 (Tesco UK 4.4.2)
5. unzipped the ROM and rename and overwrite the recovery.img to the exact name as in the MotoTool All In One 2.6\Data\KitKat\StockKitKatrecovery.img (Just for sure it's the same as my ROM, I dont know if all the ROMs have the same recovery sooo )
6. started MotoTool, unplug&replug device. Checked KitKat option in the program, did a connection check, it was okay. Did a NORMAL restart via progam. You have to grant permisson on your phone.
7. after reboot, rebooted the phone to FASTBOOT.
8. Checked Stock Fastboot in the program, it flashed succesfully. Then I went into recovery (1×down volume, then 1× up volume) checked if the recovery was working. It was working (android logo+ no command error message)
9. reboot (long press power button)
10. Updeted OTA, settings/inf./update.. blabla okay okay next next. Wait until it downloads (only 7.9 MB )
11. wait for the update to be done, then it reboots, then apps are being updated. Everything looks fine and working

+1 flash CMW or other recovery again.

Hope this helps! I was afraid to do it too. I'm not used to MotoTool and other Motorola stuff because I had a HTC Desire, it was much simplier with that. But no risk here either! Good luck!
Last edited by Hui91; 26th February 2014 at 02:30 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hui91 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2014, 08:59 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
So I am trying to put back my stock recovery so I can take the OTA, but after I flash the recovery and try to reboot to it, it says "No Command". I have reflashed TWRP and then the stock recovery again with the same result. The phone itself will boot fine, but I can't install the OTA as it gets an error part of the way into the install. Any ideas? I have the 1034.


EDIT: Well I remembered I did the H+ mod, so after reverting that the OTA flashed I had Faux Kernel before hand, but after reflashing it my wi-fi wont enable, any ideas?
Last edited by draco259; 26th February 2014 at 10:12 PM.
26th February 2014, 11:40 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
boot loop, cwm, ota, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes