5,597,261 Members 39,624 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Wiped System - can load into recovery - some help.

Tip us?
 
NotoriousPTG
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default [Q] Wiped System - can load into recovery - some help.

I was planning to do a recovery from a good backup. Hit wipe system and that file is, and the current rom, is gone. I have no running OS but I can get into TeamWin Recovery. Can't seem to usb mount from there to drop a rom in though. I know I'm not bricked but I don't know what to do from here. Can I get some help? Thanks!
 
swalter718
Old
#2  
swalter718's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 172
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: [Q] Wiped System - can load into recovery - some help.

You'd be better off downloading a stock restore tar, or One-Click restore and using download/ODIN mode. Look at rwilco12's repository, and the sxtape threads in this forum for files and guides.

Sent from an evil, dark place...
~ ROM: JellyBomb v14.0
~ Radio: L900VPAMA7
~ Kernel: Perseus alpha32
 
NotoriousPTG
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by swalter718 View Post
You'd be better off downloading a stock restore tar, or One-Click restore and using download/ODIN mode. Look at rwilco12's repository, and the sxtape threads in this forum for files and guides.

Sent from an evil, dark place...
~ ROM: JellyBomb v14.0
~ Radio: L900VPAMA7
~ Kernel: Perseus alpha32
Even though I'm already rooted and in teamwin? If I do what you said will i have to root again? Thanks for the help.
 
swalter718
Old
#4  
swalter718's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 172
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: [Q] Wiped System - can load into recovery - some help.

Yep... You're going to have to re-root anyway if you wiped your system and data partitions. You have no backup, so you should rebuild from the ground up. Use billard's LJC stock recovery w/count reset. Then use the root toolkit to re-root. Before rooting, you might want to take the OTA update to MA7.

Sent from an evil, dark place...
~ ROM: JellyBomb v14.0
~ Radio: L900VPAMA7
~ Kernel: Perseus alpha32
 
NotoriousPTG
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Mar 2009
Ok I'm downloading billard's LJC stock recovery w/count reset now. I have klies and odin installed. Can you point me to a tutorial to finish this? Thanks again.
 
NotoriousPTG
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Mar 2009
This post got me back up - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1968136
I'm rooted again and installing Mack all star rom right now. Thanks for helping me get started swalter!
 
KEYofR
Old
#7  
KEYofR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 570
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Re: [Q] Wiped System - can load into recovery - some help.

Yeah I was gonna say, if you already have twrp you can just pop any already rooted rom you want on your sd card and flash away.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to KEYofR For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
NotoriousPTG
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Mar 2009
For some reason my twrp won't let me select external sd is there a workaround for that? I would have tried that before even coming here.
 
swalter718
Old
#9  
swalter718's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 172
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: [Q] Wiped System - can load into recovery - some help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NotoriousPTG View Post
For some reason my twrp won't let me select external sd is there a workaround for that? I would have tried that before even coming here.
What version of TWRP are you using?

Sent from an evil, dark place...
~ ROM: JellyBomb v14.0
~ Radio: L900VPAMA7
~ Kernel: Perseus alpha32
 
Zarathustra06
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotoriousPTG View Post
Ok I'm downloading billard's LJC stock recovery w/count reset now. I have klies and odin installed. Can you point me to a tutorial to finish this? Thanks again.
uninstall odin

---------- Post added at 05:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:40 PM ----------

JellyBomb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes