Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] HELP Rooting (MK2)?? But On STOCK 4.2.2 DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO NEXT

OP Skitts

23rd February 2014, 02:15 AM   |  #1  
Skitts's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
In the begin I rooted my S4 On the MDL baseband (4.2.2) and had OUDHS recovery installed but i decided to to install Wicked_v10 (4.3) which required for to update to the 4.3 modem and i followed these steps http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2544612 i followed all the steps with Odin BUT it said that it fail to Update.And it well reboot its self say back to download mode saying "firmware upgrade encountered an issue. please select recovery mode in kies & try again" so basically my phone was Soft-bricked i manage resorting it back use this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2258628 And soon enough my s4 was back alive But only one problem now i take a look in my setting and i was on the MK2 Baseband As you can see in the screenshot and on top of the i get the error my notification bar saying "The device has detected an application attempting unpermitted actions and has
stopped loading. To protect your device, it is recommended you reboot." So im stuck now and i dont know what to next
should i just revert back to the MDL baseband because im not sure what to
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-02-22-17-34-16.png
Views:	558
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	2595116   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-02-22-17-35-00.png
Views:	511
Size:	116.3 KB
ID:	2595122  
Last edited by Skitts; 23rd February 2014 at 02:32 AM.
23rd February 2014, 02:48 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitts

In the begin I rooted my S4 On the MDL baseband (4.2.2) and had OUDHS recovery installed but i decided to to install Wicked_v10 (4.3) which required for to update to the 4.3 modem and i followed these steps http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2544612 i followed all the steps with Odin BUT it said that it fail to Update.And it well reboot its self say back to download mode saying "firmware upgrade encountered an issue. please select recovery mode in kies & try again" so basically my phone was Soft-bricked i manage resorting it back use this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2258628 And soon enough my s4 was back alive But only one problem now i take a look in my setting and i was on the MK2 Baseband As you can see in the screenshot and on top of the i get the error my notification bar saying "The device has detected an application attempting unpermitted actions and has
stopped loading. To protect your device, it is recommended you reboot." So im stuck now and i dont know what to next
should i just revert back to the MDL baseband because im not sure what to

According to the screenshots you uploaded, you are not on MDL firmware. In fact, you are on MDB firmware. MDB was released when the T-Mobile Galaxy S4 came out. Use Odin and flash the MDL firmware (use that same restore thread again, but do NOT download the link that says Stock Tar, instead download UVUAMDL Official TAR). Flashing this should restore the baseband version from MK2 to MDL.
Last edited by Vigz; 23rd February 2014 at 03:09 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Vigz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2014, 03:15 AM   |  #3  
Skitts's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vigz

According to the screenshots you uploaded, you are not on MDL firmware. In fact, you are on MDB firmware. MDB was released when the T-Mobile Galaxy S4 came out. Use Odin and flash the MDL firmware (use that same restore thread again, but do NOT download the link that says Stock Tar, instead download UVUAMDL Official TAR). Flashing this should restore the baseband version from MK2 to MDL.

Thanks i did not see that i was to busy worrying I think thats why my Wifi wasnt working , But other then that you got and suggestions why the modem MK2 gave me a error through odin ?
23rd February 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitts

Thanks i did not see that i was to busy worrying I think thats why my Wifi wasnt working , But other then that you got and suggestions why the modem MK2 gave me a error through odin ?

I'm not sure. I actually used that tutorial to upgrade my baseband and it worked just fine. Another person also had this issue as well. I told them that it could have something to do with the custom binary counter. Apparently, the phone prevents you from flashing unsigned items if the counter is high. You can reset it with an app called TriangleAway.
The Following User Says Thank You to Vigz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2014, 03:45 AM   |  #5  
Skitts's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vigz

I'm not sure. I actually used that tutorial to upgrade my baseband and it worked just fine. Another person also had this issue as well. I told them that it could have something to do with the custom binary counter. Apparently, the phone prevents you from flashing unsigned items if the counter is high. You can reset it with an app called TriangleAway.


Hmm could be Because I never did reset the counter when i flashed the recovery but ill give it a try.Ill tell you how it goes Thanks man for all your Help
One more thing ..... Do i have to put the "SS_DL.dll" under the odin folder like it say ?
Last edited by Skitts; 23rd February 2014 at 03:53 AM.
23rd February 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #6  
Skitts's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitts

Hmm could be Because I never did reset the counter when i flashed the recovery but ill give it a try.Ill tell you how it goes Thanks man for all your Help
One more thing ..... Do i have to put the "SS_DL.dll" under the odin folder like it say ?

IT WORK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes