5,605,519 Members 45,987 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

MK802 III Android based TV Stick. My experiences so far.......

Tip us?
 
85gallon
Old
(Last edited by 85gallon; 26th December 2012 at 06:10 AM.)
#1  
85gallon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 653
Posts: 2,153
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: BFE
Video MK802 III Android based TV Stick. My experiences so far.......

Okay, so I picked up an 8 Gig MK802III from Amazon.com. Got a good deal on it. Could have gotten it cheaper if I had wanted to wait for a slow boat from China.

It is a pretty solid unit with the exception of the wifi speed issues. I am pretty sure it is hardware related. Some people have no problems and some do have speed issues. More on that later.

It is a versatile unit. Out of the box it is stable with 720P. The latest factory firmware is JB and it is rooted. That came on my unit. It is dated 11/29/2012 so I am sure there is a lot of stock out there floating around with the older firmware on it. The latest update also includes a remote control server and it also has the .apk for the client software to install on your phone or tablet.

Within a day of me getting it though, I found my tinkering taking over. I found a site that had some custom ROMs. www.freaktab.com

The ROMs that work on this unit are actually written for a UG802. Same unit different seller. They are identical units. The ROM is made by Finless and 2dark4u. They are very responsive in supporting their work.

When flashing the ROM you have several options with which to choose when it comes to a kernel. You can choose between 720P or 1080P, and processor speeds of 1272Hz or 1608Hz with the GPU at 466. Then there is the option of 1080P 1608Hz and GPU at 500. That is a total of 5 custom kernels. Although the MK802III is an Arm 9 capable of peaks of 1608Hz, IF YOU RUN A ROM AT 1608Hz KERNEL YOU MUST RUN A HEAT SINK OR YOU WILL BURN IT UP.

I chose 1080P at 1272Hz because I didn't want to mess with a heat sink at this time.

Back to WIFI. I may end up getting an RMA if an easy fix is not found soon and try another MK802. I like it that much. The mfg is working on a fix supposedly for the units that are having trouble. Again it is not everyone having a problem. I can connect fine. DL is extremely slow at around 500k and upload at 2Mbps. Not sure why upload will reach the limit set by my ISP while the download sucks. I have ruled out under-powered power supply, encryption bottlenecks (I tried my AP wide open), and case interference. As a temporary measure I picked up a USB LAN adapter at Best Buy for $19. It is marketed as and adapter for a Wii but it works fine. But i really need the wifi so i can make this unit portable.

With the wired LAN I am getting DL of anywhere from 25Mbps to 29Mbps down and 2Mbps up. That is what my cable connection is capable of. So no complaints there.

It streams fine over my LAN from NAS. Youtube and Netflix stream great as well. I don't have HBO Go so I haven't tested that. It has taken everything I have thrown at it so far video wise. And in full blown 1080P!!!

With the 1080P interface it was kind of unreadable on my 50" TV when sitting on the couch. So I set the font size to HUGE in settings and also adjusted the DPI to 240 using ROM Toolbox for making the icons larger. It is not recommended setting it higher than 240. It can cause some problems with the Play store and other apps. ROM Toolbox worked great for this. Prior to trying that, LCD Density monitor from the Play Store locked it up on reboot. This Forced me to flash recovery. When it comes to recovery, everything I am seeing is saying it is almost impossible to brick. To force a full flash it is a matter of shorting two pins on a chip for a few seconds and loading up recovery software and image on your laptop. CWM and TWRP have not been set up reliably yet that I have seen.

As mentioned earlier, it comes with remote software. I initially had problems with it on my RAZR but it worked great on my Kindle Fire. I have now found out that the initial problems on my phone were tied to the JB rotation problem that many are having on custom ROMs. It works fine on stock JB. The problem I was having was the app would close if the screen rotated. This would happen when setting it down or moving your arm the wrong way. Like I said it works great now on stock JB.

When I first set it up I had a wireless mouse hooked up to the USB. That worked flawlessly. I have had to remove it since it only has one USB port and I now have LAN connected to it. But I have one of these on the way which should solve that problem.



That's about it for now but I am sure I am missing a lot. I know I focused a lot on things that weren't perfect but that is how I tend to be. I love this unit and it plays video and browses the web great. And on a 50" screen!!! The apps and few games that I have tried do great.

The unit cannot be expected to be perfect as these TV sticks are very new and emerging. Expect to be somewhat of a beta tester.


EDIT: Stock out of the box AnTuTu was 8080. On the 1080P 1272Hz Rom it rose to 8878. I've seen even higher with the 720P ROM. Can't find the post but i am trying to say it was near 10,000
Transmitter and Receiver Of Laser Light

If I helped, please hit the Thanks button. It only takes one finger.


The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to 85gallon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jufo
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2007
hi

i have got mk802 ii. it is just single core unit. everything works fine but play avchd files from my camera. could you try it to play some avchd files on your dual core unit?

i can send you a sample video if you are interested.

thanks in advance.

jufo
 
85gallon
Old
#3  
85gallon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 653
Posts: 2,153
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: BFE
Quote:
Originally Posted by jufo View Post
hi

i have got mk802 ii. it is just single core unit. everything works fine but play avchd files from my camera. could you try it to play some avchd files on your dual core unit?

i can send you a sample video if you are interested.

thanks in advance.

jufo
Send me a PM with what you are using to play them. I will send you my email address. You can send there provided they are not too large for email.
Transmitter and Receiver Of Laser Light

If I helped, please hit the Thanks button. It only takes one finger.


 
SirVilhelm
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 385
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thank you for this. I just picked up the MK802 III today and your write up helped a lot. Now to go find some good roms.
 
85gallon
Old
#5  
85gallon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 653
Posts: 2,153
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: BFE
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirVilhelm View Post
Thank you for this. I just picked up the MK802 III today and your write up helped a lot. Now to go find some good roms.
Here is the best one I have found so far.

http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.p...rformance-ever!

I know it says it is for the UG802, but hardware is identical to MK802III and most people on the site with an MK802 III are running this rom.. I made the mods listed in my first post here as to resolution ROM, text size in settings, and DPI changes using ROM Toolbox for easy viewing from my couch.

I also modded the boot animation to reflect it being an MK802 III. That thread is here if you wish to use. http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.p...-v1-7-Download

When picking your kernel, do not go above the 1272 HZ unless you install a heat sink. I know the MK803 III is advertised as 1.6 GHZ, but that is peak speed. It will over heat at that if sustained. In the fastest CPU speed (1.6GHZ) there is also overclocking of the GPU option. Same thing. Don't use that without heat sink.

It is stable and works great.
Transmitter and Receiver Of Laser Light

If I helped, please hit the Thanks button. It only takes one finger.


 
SirVilhelm
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 385
Join Date: Dec 2008
Where can I find the ROM Toolbox for changing DPI?
 
85gallon
Old
(Last edited by 85gallon; 15th January 2013 at 05:34 PM.)
#7  
85gallon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 653
Posts: 2,153
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: BFE
The Play store. The free version should work for it.

The adjustment is under the build.prop editor. Lcd density

Sent from my Kindle Fire running CM10
Transmitter and Receiver Of Laser Light

If I helped, please hit the Thanks button. It only takes one finger.


 
SirVilhelm
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 385
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thank you

One other question, is the micro usb port only for power or can I push data through it? I don't have a USB-A to USB-A cable.
 
wapvirus
Old
#9  
wapvirus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 1,716
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirVilhelm View Post
Thank you

One other question, is the micro usb port only for power or can I push data through it? I don't have a USB-A to USB-A cable.
It's power only i have the same issue need USB-A to USB-A cable to flash new ROMs
HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e
Viper S 5.0.0 Sense 5 JB Pro
S-Off Super CID
Revolutionary

HBOOT-1.27.1100
Radio-11.24a 3504.31_M

Kernel: SebastianFM kernel 1.0.3
MODS: Crossbreeder MultiSwap

My Beats Inspired Wallpapers for Sensation


 
pmco
Old
#10  
pmco's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 96
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Barstow
Quote:
Originally Posted by wapvirus View Post
It's power only i have the same issue need USB-A to USB-A cable to flash new ROMs
You don't need an A to A to flash.

I just flashed a UG802 rom on my MK802III last night, worked great. Device seems smoother, especially after locking CPU to minimum of 1000Mhz / Max 1272Mhz

1. plug MK802III into PC using A side of cable
2. plug micro-b side of cable into mk802III into power port of device
3 plug hdmi of mk802iii into TV
4 after device boots, goto settings -> USB, click connect to computer. ( at this time, computer should start finding the device as a removeable drive, and assign it 2 drive letters, I believe)
5. After computer finds device and loads driver, use RKFlashTool to flash ROM.
(if you get 'change to flash mode failed', or No Rock Android device found, or whatever it says, make sure you have no "unknown" or failed drivers in device manager)

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit was used.

I had some probs getting the correct driver, but a bunch of googling found me the correct RK30usb driver.

If anybody needs the files I used, I can post them tonight, when I get home.
-- -.-- / -. .- -- . / .. ... / .--. .- ..- .-.. .-.-.-
Sent from my teletype



Current Devices:
VZW 32GB Samsung Galaxy S III - Marble White - rooted/rom'ed - ROM seems to change a lot lately.....
ASUS Transformer TF101 (Team EOS JB)
HP TouchPad 16GB - Paranoid Android 2.99

Retired Devices:
Droid X - donated to daughters (2 x's, that is)
BB 9930
BB 9630
VZW (HTC) WinMo slider something or other..
And a sh!tload of flippers from just about every carrier possible.

The Following User Says Thank You to pmco For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes