Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to Root?

OP pitbullmommy45245

22nd February 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
ok so i know there are issues rooting this phone lol. i am on 4.3. is there any way to root it. i want to flash vipers rom.
22nd February 2014, 05:30 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

ok so i know there are issues rooting this phone lol. i am on 4.3. is there any way to root it. i want to flash vipers rom.

Install custom recovery TWRP
flash superSU
Last edited by mb_guy; 22nd February 2014 at 05:35 AM.
22nd February 2014, 06:11 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy

Install custom recovery TWRP
flash superSU

if i don't have root how can i flash a custom recoverys and flash super user lol. i have heard of firewater but i just need help. im a noob at the htc one lol. i'm not a noob to flashing though.
22nd February 2014, 10:52 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 105
 
458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

if i don't have root how can i flash a custom recoverys and flash super user lol. i have heard of firewater but i just need help. im a noob at the htc one lol. i'm not a noob to flashing though.

first you will have to bootloader unlock your One.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuIq0gmYpFA

Then you will have to root:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE6F-4KjR9I

Then you can flash your ROM
22nd February 2014, 04:34 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

if i don't have root how can i flash a custom recoverys and flash super user lol. i have heard of firewater but i just need help. im a noob at the htc one lol. i'm not a noob to flashing though.

Yes you do need to unlock the bootloader, before you can flash a custom recovery. Rooting comes later. The rom is either rooted or not, you do not need one rom to be rooted to flash another.
Last edited by mb_guy; 22nd February 2014 at 04:37 PM.
22nd February 2014, 04:35 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur

first you will have to bootloader unlock your One.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuIq0gmYpFA

Then you will have to root:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE6F-4KjR9I

Then you can flash your ROM

ok and i just got this phone off of craigslist and i don't have the unlock code. when i do the factory reset it will make the phone locked to att again. is there a free method for the htc one to sim unlock it. i know for the verizon one its already unlocked. and i know theres easy methods for the galaxy phones (s3, s4, note 2).
22nd February 2014, 04:40 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

ok and i just got this phone off of craigslist and i don't have the unlock code. when i do the factory reset it will make the phone locked to att again. is there a free method for the htc one to sim unlock it. i know for the verizon one its already unlocked. and i know theres easy methods for the galaxy phones (s3, s4, note 2).

This is NOT the same as unlocking the bootloader. What is your end goal here?
22nd February 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy

This is NOT the same as unlocking the bootloader. What is your end goal here?

i know lol. i'm not a noob. i just wonder if i'll lose my root. my end goal is to have the phone rooted with viper and have a unlocked sim.
22nd February 2014, 05:02 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

i know lol. i'm not a noob. i just wonder if i'll lose my root. my end goal is to have the phone rooted with viper and have a unlocked sim.

Most custom roms are already rooted when you install, You will not loose the carrier unlock flashing roms.
I also notice you are on Sprint, be very carefull to use the right custom recovery and a compatible rom with that device.
Last edited by mb_guy; 22nd February 2014 at 05:06 PM.
23rd February 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy

Most custom roms are already rooted when you install, You will not loose the carrier unlock flashing roms.
I also notice you are on Sprint, be very carefull to use the right custom recovery and a compatible rom with that device.

i'm not on sprint. i'm on cincinnati bell. i'm using the att version. i think i might hold off on flashing now i'm scared i'll lose my unlock lol. thanks though.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes