Microsoft Releases Final Builds of Office for Android

Late last year, Microsoft released a preview of Office for Android, initially as an … more

Samsung Cutting Bloat, Trimming TouchWiz

Reports keep iterating over the rumors that Samsung has been trimming down TouchWiz for its upcoming … more

Google Giving Away Inbox Invites for the Next 24 Hours

Google’s biggest email rethink since the launch of Gmail, Inbox, was launched as … more

Get Extra Note 3 (5.0) Features with this Mod

Dislike the S-Finder and Search buttons in your notification shade? Want to customize your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to Root?

OP pitbullmommy45245

22nd February 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
ok so i know there are issues rooting this phone lol. i am on 4.3. is there any way to root it. i want to flash vipers rom.
22nd February 2014, 05:30 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

ok so i know there are issues rooting this phone lol. i am on 4.3. is there any way to root it. i want to flash vipers rom.

Install custom recovery TWRP
flash superSU
Last edited by mb_guy; 22nd February 2014 at 05:35 AM.
22nd February 2014, 06:11 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy

Install custom recovery TWRP
flash superSU

if i don't have root how can i flash a custom recoverys and flash super user lol. i have heard of firewater but i just need help. im a noob at the htc one lol. i'm not a noob to flashing though.
22nd February 2014, 10:52 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 106
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

if i don't have root how can i flash a custom recoverys and flash super user lol. i have heard of firewater but i just need help. im a noob at the htc one lol. i'm not a noob to flashing though.

first you will have to bootloader unlock your One.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuIq0gmYpFA

Then you will have to root:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE6F-4KjR9I

Then you can flash your ROM
22nd February 2014, 04:34 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

if i don't have root how can i flash a custom recoverys and flash super user lol. i have heard of firewater but i just need help. im a noob at the htc one lol. i'm not a noob to flashing though.

Yes you do need to unlock the bootloader, before you can flash a custom recovery. Rooting comes later. The rom is either rooted or not, you do not need one rom to be rooted to flash another.
Last edited by mb_guy; 22nd February 2014 at 04:37 PM.
22nd February 2014, 04:35 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur

first you will have to bootloader unlock your One.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuIq0gmYpFA

Then you will have to root:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE6F-4KjR9I

Then you can flash your ROM

ok and i just got this phone off of craigslist and i don't have the unlock code. when i do the factory reset it will make the phone locked to att again. is there a free method for the htc one to sim unlock it. i know for the verizon one its already unlocked. and i know theres easy methods for the galaxy phones (s3, s4, note 2).
22nd February 2014, 04:40 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

ok and i just got this phone off of craigslist and i don't have the unlock code. when i do the factory reset it will make the phone locked to att again. is there a free method for the htc one to sim unlock it. i know for the verizon one its already unlocked. and i know theres easy methods for the galaxy phones (s3, s4, note 2).

This is NOT the same as unlocking the bootloader. What is your end goal here?
22nd February 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy

This is NOT the same as unlocking the bootloader. What is your end goal here?

i know lol. i'm not a noob. i just wonder if i'll lose my root. my end goal is to have the phone rooted with viper and have a unlocked sim.
22nd February 2014, 05:02 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245

i know lol. i'm not a noob. i just wonder if i'll lose my root. my end goal is to have the phone rooted with viper and have a unlocked sim.

Most custom roms are already rooted when you install, You will not loose the carrier unlock flashing roms.
I also notice you are on Sprint, be very carefull to use the right custom recovery and a compatible rom with that device.
Last edited by mb_guy; 22nd February 2014 at 05:06 PM.
23rd February 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy

Most custom roms are already rooted when you install, You will not loose the carrier unlock flashing roms.
I also notice you are on Sprint, be very carefull to use the right custom recovery and a compatible rom with that device.

i'm not on sprint. i'm on cincinnati bell. i'm using the att version. i think i might hold off on flashing now i'm scared i'll lose my unlock lol. thanks though.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes