Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Updating to latest rom.

OP soul_train

18th February 2014, 12:58 PM   |  #1  
soul_train's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Hi all!

Sorry for posting a new thread about this, but I'm really confused about what should I do.

I'm currently on P6-U06V100R001C00B111 - rooted, and I would like to use KitKat stock or custom, doesn't matter. Can I just put ROM files on SD and go on "Local update" in settings? Or do I have to install ADB and fastboot as described here

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
18th February 2014, 01:20 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by soul_train

Hi all!

Sorry for posting a new thread about this, but I'm really confused about what should I do.

I'm currently on P6-U06V100R001C00B111 - rooted, and I would like to use KitKat stock or custom, doesn't matter. Can I just put ROM files on SD and go on "Local update" in settings? Or do I have to install ADB and fastboot as described here

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

First of all, wrong forum..

Second I belive there are many ways of doin this update.
This is what I did:
1. Placed the update.app on a Sdcard and did a locale-update by going into settings
2. The phone will reboot and the update will start.
3. You are know on KK, but you will not have a working PlayStore since the old one is for JB.

Basicly this is what u need to do to be on KK, but if you want Playstore etc you have to install TWRP and flash gapps, and if I remember right you need to flash TWRP via fastboot.
I wanted a clean install so after I had installed TWRP I did a factory reset and wiped the internal memory and installed KK (.zip-file) and Gapps via TWRP from my Sdcard.

This is how I did and maybe someone else can tell u a better way to do it.
Last edited by Fancy Pants; 18th February 2014 at 01:22 PM.
2nd March 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #3  
soul_train's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Can anyone post the link for what rom can i flash?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fancy Pants

First of all, wrong forum..

Second I belive there are many ways of doin this update.
This is what I did:
1. Placed the update.app on a Sdcard and did a locale-update by going into settings
2. The phone will reboot and the update will start.
3. You are know on KK, but you will not have a working PlayStore since the old one is for JB.

Basicly this is what u need to do to be on KK, but if you want Playstore etc you have to install TWRP and flash gapps, and if I remember right you need to flash TWRP via fastboot.
I wanted a clean install so after I had installed TWRP I did a factory reset and wiped the internal memory and installed KK (.zip-file) and Gapps via TWRP from my Sdcard.

This is how I did and maybe someone else can tell u a better way to do it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes