5,598,938 Members 31,265 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root not working properly and binary not updating

Tip us?
 
solaris11
Old
#1  
solaris11's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 63
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Root not working properly and binary not updating

So I updated to stock 4.3(I747M) via Odin, then flashed TWRP with Odin, then Flashed a 4.4 ROM with TWRP.

The Super SU app is failing to update the binary. And it's not giving root access to apps. Does this have anything to do with the MK5 bootloader?

I can't seem to find a fix? If someone could point me in the right direction, that'd be great.

Thanks!

Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S III (i747M) 16g Blue
ROM: Omni ROM

Tablet: Asus Transformer TF101
ROM: Omni ROM

Old Devices: Samsung Galaxy S I9000M
Samsung Wave I
Palm Pre
Sony Ericson w580i
 
audit13
Old
#2  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 1,680
Join Date: Jun 2012
Try flashing a another ROM such a Validus or CM11 as ROMs are pre-rooted.

Also, I prefer Philz Touch over TWRP. Maybe the recovery program makes a difference?
 
jmppe3
Old
(Last edited by jmppe3; 22nd February 2014 at 10:59 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by solaris11 View Post
So I updated to stock 4.3(I747M) via Odin, then flashed TWRP with Odin, then Flashed a 4.4 ROM with TWRP.

The Super SU app is failing to update the binary. And it's not giving root access to apps. Does this have anything to do with the MK5 bootloader?

I can't seem to find a fix? If someone could point me in the right direction, that'd be great.

Thanks!
I did this procedure with the same bootloader on a Koodo phone, no problem. I I rooted and installed TWRP 2.6.3.1 and then I flashed Quantum ROM. Which ROM did you flash? (Oh, I see now you tried OmniRom.) Only difference with how I did it is I had already taken the stock OTA from Koodo.
 
solaris11
Old
#4  
solaris11's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 63
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmppe3 View Post
I did this procedure with the same bootloader on a Koodo phone, no problem. I I rooted and installed TWRP 2.6.3.1 and then I flashed Quantum ROM. Which ROM did you flash? (Oh, I see now you tried OmniRom.) Only difference with how I did it is I had already taken the stock OTA from Koodo.
Yeah I bricked my phone messing with bootloaders...used an SD boot image to get to download mode and odined stock 4.3. Odined twrp. Twrp flashed omni's latest build. Does omni not come prerooted? That doesn't make much sense. I'll try another ROM.

It should also be noted I tried rooting stock 4.3 but it really didn't like that at all.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S III (i747M) 16g Blue
ROM: Omni ROM

Tablet: Asus Transformer TF101
ROM: Omni ROM

Old Devices: Samsung Galaxy S I9000M
Samsung Wave I
Palm Pre
Sony Ericson w580i
 
solaris11
Old
#5  
solaris11's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 63
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Try flashing a another ROM such a Validus or CM11 as ROMs are pre-rooted.

Also, I prefer Philz Touch over TWRP. Maybe the recovery program makes a difference?
On validus now...same thing

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S III (i747M) 16g Blue
ROM: Omni ROM

Tablet: Asus Transformer TF101
ROM: Omni ROM

Old Devices: Samsung Galaxy S I9000M
Samsung Wave I
Palm Pre
Sony Ericson w580i
 
audit13
Old
(Last edited by audit13; 23rd February 2014 at 01:09 PM.)
#6  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 1,680
Join Date: Jun 2012
Weird that you don't have root. I have Validus and apps like root explorer ask for root access which I can grant.

Maybe the 4.3 bootloader is causing a problem?
 
jmppe3
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Weird that you don't have root. I have Validus and apps like root explorer ask for root access which I can grant.

Maybe the 4.3 bootloader is causing a problem?
Yeah, this whole thing is weird. I had the 4.3 bootloader (rooted at end of Dec 2013) and didn't have an issue. I went to Quantum ROM FWIW. Have you tried a full wipe (system, cache, dalvik, data) with a clean flash of the ROM?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes