Post Reply

[TUT] [100% WORKING] Install leaked WP 8.1 SDK on your PC!

OP myst02

23rd February 2014, 09:48 AM   |  #1  
myst02's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 105
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
EDIT: Windows Phone 8.1 is released! You can now download the official SDK from here

Hey,

the installation of the Windows Phone 8.1 SDK leak was discussed here very much, sometimes it works, sometimes not.
So I written a tutorial how to install it!

How to:


1) Download the SDK ISO from here ALL OTHER LINKS WILL NOT WORK!

1b) Download Visual Studio 2013 Express for Windows in English from here

2) Extract the VS 2013 ISO and install it.

3) Extract the leak ISO and run the installer as administrator.

4) The installation should take an half hour. You can drink one or two coffee

5) Start cmd as administrator and run "cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\8.1"

6) Enter "XDE.exe -vhd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows Phone\v8.1\Emulation\Images\Flash.vhd"". First boot will take 5-10 minutes.

7) THE EMULATOR IS WORKING!

You can also create an shortcut on desktop that saves you time. Location is: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\8.1\XDE.exe" -vhd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows Phone\v8.1\Emulation\Images\Flash.vhd"".


FAQ



How to install it on windows 7?

You need to install SP1, then it should work.

After clicking the VS link, a logon field appears, what should I do?

Just login with your outlook account and click download

Can I run it on 32-bit?

Yes, you can. You need to install VirtualBox or VMware. Create a new virtual machine and select the Flash.vhd in the SDK location. To get it to work, you must run it as administrator.

What are the minimal requirements for it?

It works on any computer with 64-bit W7 or W8(.1) For 32-bit look above.


If this guide helped you please press thanks!

Thanks @DaviUnic for a easier way to start the emulator!

Yes, I'm seeing my tutorial was landed in the news! Thanks at all what thanked me and followed this tutorial!
Last edited by myst02; 30th April 2014 at 11:30 AM. Reason: official download page provide
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to myst02 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2014, 10:01 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
There's easier ways to start the emulator than deploying an empty app... You can use the following command in CMD to start a desired VHD: xde.exe -vhd "[vhd location]".
23rd February 2014, 10:06 AM   |  #3  
myst02's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 105
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaviUnic

There's easier ways to start the emulator than deploying an empty app... You can use the following command in CMD to start a desired VHD: xde.exe -vhd "[vhd location]".

Thanks, already tried this, for 8.1 emulator, it didn't works
23rd February 2014, 10:08 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Last time I tried it worked... O_o

Hold on, I have to re-install VS2013 and the SDK, then I'll try again.

EDIT: Just tried and it works fine for me. Just go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\ with CMD and then type XDE.exe -vhd "C:\Example\Path\example.vhd" and it works fine.
Last edited by DaviUnic; 23rd February 2014 at 10:45 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to DaviUnic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2014, 10:49 AM   |  #5  
myst02's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 105
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaviUnic


Just tried and it works fine for me. Just go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\ with CMD and then type XDE.exe -vhd "C:\Example\Path\example.vhd" and it works fine.

Thanks, will test it when i'm at home

OK, edited it in the tutorial. Thanks!
Last edited by myst02; 23rd February 2014 at 11:00 AM. Reason: edit
23rd February 2014, 11:01 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
You can also make a shortcut for this, saves you a bunch of time.
23rd February 2014, 11:21 AM   |  #7  
myst02's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 105
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaviUnic

You can also make a shortcut for this, saves you a bunch of time.

Thanks a lot, you make my tutorial perfect
24th February 2014, 08:44 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Pearland, TX
Thanks Meter: 17
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Got any other links handy? That site isn't working. It just says "An error occurred. Please click here to reload the page"
25th February 2014, 12:08 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Question minimum
What's the minimum requirements to run this

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Windows Phone 8 General by ThreadRank