5,596,179 Members 33,935 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Defy Plus No Recovery

Tip us?
 
deMangler
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default [Q] Defy Plus No Recovery

Hi,
I have had my motorola Defy Plus running cyanogen for a year or so. Various versions, 2nd init.
Recently I decided to upgrade to Cyanogen version http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2515036
Got it installed and running ok but there were some glitches (maybe) so I started from scratch to be sure.
The method I used to completely re-initialise the phone is as follows.

repartitioned SD, wiped and flashed
DEFYPLUS_U3_4.5.1-134_DFP-231_BLUR_SIGN_USADEFYEMARAB1B8RTGB005.0R_PDS03C_US AJRDNGIBRRTGB_P023_A025_M002_Service1FF.sbf.gz
booted into stock android. installed framaroot - rooted.
installed 2nd init
installed twrp
updated recovery
wipe/reset
install cyanogen

The first time I did this it worked (but with some gapps glitches so to trouble shoot I thought I would start again.

Now this is the problem.
the second time when I tried to flash the stock rom RSD lite hung with "please manually reboot the phone"
After this it is impossible to get into stock recovery from the android triangle screen. When pressing both volume buttons the only thing that happens is the screen brightness toggles between light and dim.
I can get the phone to connect to RSD lite and I can flash ROMS - I have tried a few but I cannot get recovery, Always after flashing RSD says please manually reboot phone. The automatic reboot does nothing but get to the motorola or triangle screen, or a black screen sometimes.

Just to clarify - I have googled and tried many solutions, the main problem is that there is no stock recovery from the triangle screen so no solution that relies on this is working,
Any help appreciated. Thanks.
 
pgreed
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 290
Join Date: Jan 2013
Stock recovery is included in the ... stock ROM (duh) so you need to install completely the stock ROM. But anyway at what serve stock recovery for you?
 
deMangler
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgreed View Post
Stock recovery is included in the ... stock ROM (duh) so you need to install completely the stock ROM. But anyway at what serve stock recovery for you?
The one that usually works is DEFYPLUS_U3_4.5.1-134_DFP-231_BLUR_SIGN_USADEFYEMARAB1B8RTGB005.0R_PDS03C_US AJRDNGIBRRTGB_P023_A025_M002_Service1FF.sbf.gz

Which is the retail UK version for my phone. However when I try to flash it now with RSD it gets to the reboot stage but I am not sure it completes.
 
deMangler
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by deMangler View Post
The one that usually works is DEFYPLUS_U3_4.5.1-134_DFP-231_BLUR_SIGN_USADEFYEMARAB1B8RTGB005.0R_PDS03C_US AJRDNGIBRRTGB_P023_A025_M002_Service1FF.sbf.gz

Which is the retail UK version for my phone. However when I try to flash it now with RSD it gets to the reboot stage but I am not sure it completes.
I think what would solve my problem would be a way of installing the above rom (which I believe includes the bootloader). I need to solve the problem of the flashing not progressing beyond the reboot stage.
I am using RSD Lite version 6.1.4
Any help appreciated. Thanks.
 
pgreed
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 290
Join Date: Jan 2013
Boot in recovery. Do a total wipe (factory reset). Reboot in bootloader. Flash the .sbf.
 
deMangler
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgreed View Post
Boot in recovery. Do a total wipe (factory reset). Reboot in bootloader. Flash the .sbf.
There is no functioning recovery, so it is impossible to do a wipe. It is possible to flash a stock ROM (which should restore the recovery) using RSD lite but the process does not get past the reboot stage.
 
pgreed
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 290
Join Date: Jan 2013
download again the sbf or flash another sbf.
 
deMangler
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgreed View Post
download again the sbf or flash another sbf.
Thanks - good advice I have been trying that. Meanwhile I will be looking out for other ways of solving the problem. I will let this thread know if anything works.
Thanks everyone.
 
pgreed
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 290
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by deMangler View Post
Thanks - good advice I have been trying that. Meanwhile I will be looking out for other ways of solving the problem. I will let this thread know if anything works.
Thanks everyone.
I am not supposed to be cynic. That was happened to me a few times and eventually I can managed to make a complete flash. Try again.
 
deMangler
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgreed View Post
I am not supposed to be cynic. That was happened to me a few times and eventually I can managed to make a complete flash. Try again.
Thanks - I will let you know if it works.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes