Post Reply

(Solved) Wifi speed problem after KitKat update

OP cmdauria

22nd February 2014, 11:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 234
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
I am scratching my head of this one. Ever since I upgraded to KitKat my wifi speed has dropped to almost no existent. It was always rock solid on jellybean. Every other wireless device in my house is capable of normal download and upload speeds except my phone.

I am using freezas stockish rom if that helps. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda premium
Last edited by cmdauria; 23rd February 2014 at 12:31 PM.
22nd February 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #2  
DarkManX4lf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 295
 
2,956 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Maybe try reflashing?

I'm on the NABD leak and wifi is working fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to DarkManX4lf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2014, 11:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 234
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkManX4lf

Maybe try reflashing?

I'm on the NABD leak and wifi is working fine.

Have you actually ran a speed test. I can connect and stay connected no problem. The speed is not good at all

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda premium
22nd February 2014, 11:49 PM   |  #4  
DarkManX4lf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 295
 
2,956 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Yes speeds are fine for me. It's the same as it was on JB or CM11.
The Following User Says Thank You to DarkManX4lf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2014, 11:51 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 234
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
I guess I will try and reflash and see what happens.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda premium
23rd February 2014, 12:28 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 234
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Just because I received the answer deep in another thread, I wanted to post the solution here as well. The problem seems to be under settings, location, mode... If you are set to powersave, change it to any other mode and your speed will immediately come back to normal. I hope this info helps!

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda premium
23rd February 2014, 02:49 PM   |  #7  
mjs2011's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,682
 
4,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdauria

Just because I received the answer deep in another thread, I wanted to post the solution here as well. The problem seems to be under settings, location, mode... If you are set to powersave, change it to any other mode and your speed will immediately come back to normal. I hope this info helps!

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda premium

I think the big remaining issue here is that it likes to switch back to Power Save on its own.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 08:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:24 AM ----------

Update. I think the solution is to leave gps on all the time. Then it won't switch back to Power Saving. Kitkat changed some things with location. On my Nexus 5, my gps was always on by default. Luckily it doesn't seem like there's extra battery drain to go with it like we have in previous Android versions.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mjs2011 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2014, 02:51 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 234
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjs2011

I think the big remaining issue here is that it likes to switch back to Power Save on its own.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 08:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:24 AM ----------

Update. I think the solution is to leave gps on all the time. Then it won't switch back to Power Saving. Kitkat changed some things with location. On my Nexus 5, my gps was always on by default. Luckily it doesn't seem like there's extra battery drain to go with it like we have in previous Android versions.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk

You are correct... Leave gps on and problem solved!

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sprint Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank