Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Info 2 Identify the binning of the SoC

OP Hammer_Of_The_Gods

Hammer_Of_The_Gods
19th October 2013, 11:18 AM   |  #1  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Hi,

I make this thread like there is one for the Qualcomm S600 in the HTC One forum for example, or Nexus 4, Galaxy SIV, etc... (explanation here).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbotab

Each SoC Qualcomm produces is tested (binned), the closer it comes to the ideal the better, these superior chips are described as higher binned. A higher binned chip will requires less voltage, to achieve a certain frequency than a lower performing part.

This means that the 'superior' chips can be overclocked further or undervolted more aggressively, so this info is important for overclockers / modders.

You can see the binning of your SoC in the last_kmsg located in /proc/last_kmsg.

You can also found it in /sys/devices/system/soc0 and search for pvs_bin and speed_bin
or /d/acpuclk.

It's the easiest method for me.

EDIT: can be found also from the hidden menu:

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefan063


1. Enter the following based on your device model:

  • 3845#*800# (for At&T model)
  • 3845#*801# (for T-Mobile variants)
  • 3845#*802# (for European variants)
  • 3845#*803# (for AT&T and Canadian variants)
  • 5689#*980# (Sprint version)

Settings-> version info under PVS bin.

Mine is:

pvs_bin 2
speed_bin 1


We can have pvs_bin 0/1/2/3/4/5/6 or slow/nominal/fast (it's the same thing but I don't know if, for example, slow correspond to 0, 1 or 2... ) for ours SoC if I'm not wrong.

My stock voltage:

Quote:

CPU_KHz VDD_Core
300000 -> 775000
422400 -> 775000
652800 -> 795000
729600 -> 805000
883200 -> 825000
960000 -> 835000
1036800 -> 845000
1190400 -> 865000
1267200 -> 875000
1497600 -> 910000
1574400 -> 925000
1728000 -> 955000
1958400 -> 995000
2265600 -> 1050000



In this thread you can post your pvs_bin and speed_bin with your voltage table if different than mine to see the different binning of ours SoC.

The stock voltage table is located in /d/acpuclk/acpu_table (VDD_Core).

This can help for undervolt.

Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 3rd December 2013 at 04:15 PM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th October 2013, 11:31 AM   |  #2  
gm007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,419
 
4,958 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
You can also check it in the service menu in settings-version info
3845#*802#
Mine is pvs bin 2

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda premium
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1382175071175.jpg
Views:	1879
Size:	125.9 KB
ID:	2335587  
The Following User Says Thank You to gm007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th October 2013, 11:32 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Auburn Hills, Michigan
Thanks Meter: 80
 
432 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
My pvs_bin is 1, speed_bin 1.

Also my voltages are different:
CPU_KHz VDD_Core
300000 -> 800000
422400 -> 800000
652800 -> 810000
729600 -> 820000
883200 -> 840000
960000 -> 850000
1036800 -> 860000
1190400 -> 885000
1267200 -> 895000
1497600 -> 930000
1574400 -> 945000
1728000 -> 975000
1958400 -> 102000
2265600 -> 1075000

Pretty interesting that there are differences in retail devices.
The Following User Says Thank You to drkow19 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
19th October 2013, 11:40 AM   |  #4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gm007

You can also check it in the service menu in settings-version info
3845#*802#
Mine is pvs bin 2

Hi,

Ha ha LOL, I didn't know that you could see it in this menu (I used it to the "High Temperature Property Off")

Thanks for the tip
Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 19th October 2013 at 11:49 AM. Reason: Typo
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
19th October 2013, 11:41 AM   |  #5  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkow19

My pvs_bin is 1, speed_bin 1.

Also my voltages are different:
CPU_KHz VDD_Core
300000 -> 800000
422400 -> 800000
652800 -> 810000
729600 -> 820000
883200 -> 840000
960000 -> 850000
1036800 -> 860000
1190400 -> 885000
1267200 -> 895000
1497600 -> 930000
1574400 -> 945000
1728000 -> 975000
1958400 -> 102000
2265600 -> 1075000

Pretty interesting that there are differences in retail devices.

Thanks for the table, yes it's interesting. I'm curious to see a pvs_bin 4 or more to see the voltage table...

19th October 2013, 11:47 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag nottingham
Thanks Meter: 8
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Mine is

pvs_bin4
speed_1

CPU Khz VDD core
0300000-775000
0422400-775000
0652800-775000
0729600-780000
0883200-800000
0960000-810000
1036800-820000
1190400-840000
1267200-850000
1497600-880000
1574400-895000
1728000-920000
1958400-950000
2265600-100000

The Following User Says Thank You to Ght10 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
19th October 2013, 11:50 AM   |  #7  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Yes, a pvs_bin 4 , thanks

We can compare the voltage between pvs_bin 1 and pvs_bin 4, -75mV... not too much.

For me it's the first time I have a Qualcomm SoC with such a low pvs_bin . But in any case I do not play too much with undervolt, so...
Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 19th October 2013 at 11:56 AM.
19th October 2013, 12:31 PM   |  #8  
nic85's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Italy
Thanks Meter: 255
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by viking37

Yes, a pvs_bin 4 , thanks

We can compare the voltage between pvs_bin 1 and pvs_bin 4, -75mV... not too much.

For me it's the first time I have a Qualcomm SoC with such a low pvs_bin . But in any case I do not play too much with undervolt, so...

so higher bin = better UV

PSV_BIN 3

CPU_KHz VDD_Core
300000 -> 775000
422400 -> 775000
652800 -> 780000
729600 -> 790000
883200 -> 810000
960000 -> 820000
1036800 -> 830000
1190400 -> 850000
1267200 -> 860000
1497600 -> 895000
1574400 -> 910000
1728000 -> 935000
1958400 -> 970000
2265600 -> 1025000
Last edited by nic85; 19th October 2013 at 12:40 PM.
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
19th October 2013, 12:36 PM   |  #9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nic85

so higher bin = better cpu?

PSV_BIN 3

Hi,

Read te OP the quote from Turbotab... This is mainly for undervolt.

19th October 2013, 12:37 PM   |  #10  
nic85's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Italy
Thanks Meter: 255
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by viking37

Hi,

Read te OP the quote from Turbotab... This is mainly for undervolt.

yes better cpu i meant..better undervolt and at stock it needs less energy

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes