5,601,062 Members 46,493 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Undervolting??

Tip us?
 
AhmadLight
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 79
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Cairo

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Undervolting??

Has anyone tried to undervolt his Note 8?
I'll be undervolting my N5110 soon...
So, am I the first one to it or what?

Please share your sets.
 
Alastor_ru
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 47
Join Date: May 2009
Here's my settings. I run CivZ ROM with built-in kernel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-02-21-10-57-16.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	2591784  
 
gooberdude
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 163
Join Date: Oct 2010
I messed with the same rom... yes I undervolted and overclocked and done as much as I could do. Went back to 4.2.2 stock and still get about the same performance, and battery life. One thing that I could not live without, is my 64gb SD card. Too many issues with FAT32 and my music and video files. EXFAT is the only way to go with 64gb SD cards. With my stock ROM, I get 8 to 10 percent every hour, and 15 percent every hour playing HD video through miracast to my TV.
 
bradipovsky
Old
#4  
bradipovsky's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 41
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Faenza (IT)
I'm doing it right now, following this guide (not as closely as I should, most likely).

@Alastor_ru : how did you get your values? Mine are generally lower, besides the fact that Voltage Control allows 850 mV as a minimum.
 
AhmadLight
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 79
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Cairo

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks, but what about the higher freq's voltages
I think that you have up to 1.9 GHZ or 1.8 at least


@bradipovsky, that's the same guide I will follow
 
Alastor_ru
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 47
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradipovsky View Post
@Alastor_ru : how did you get your values? Mine are generally lower, besides the fact that Voltage Control allows 850 mV as a minimum.
I use SetCPU, it has 600mV as a minimum.
I perform several steps while set voltage to lower and lower values and stop to play with it, when I get my current settings. As I noticed, the biggest power eater is the screen, so undervaluing doesn't bring the big savings

Quote:
Originally Posted by AhmadLight View Post
Thanks, but what about the higher freq's voltages
I think that you have up to 1.9 GHZ or 1.8 at least
I don't use the highest freq's, cause it's not needed for me. I limit the highest CPU freq to 1GHz.
 
bradipovsky
Old
#7  
bradipovsky's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 41
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Faenza (IT)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alastor_ru View Post
I use SetCPU, it has 600mV as a minimum.
I perform several steps while set voltage to lower and lower values and stop to play with it, when I get my current settings. As I noticed, the biggest power eater is the screen, so undervaluing doesn't bring the big savings


I don't use the highest freq's, cause it's not needed for me. I limit the highest CPU freq to 1GHz.
Well, 8" of screen of course don't help the battery I'm doimg it mainly to limit the heating, so high frequencies are the most important. I think it's a better option than underclocking, but that's just my opinion.

I'll share my values later, but I don't think they're ideal yet.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes