Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,721 Members 51,792 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC One M7 - Possibly bricked?

Tip us?
 
PaulusJ93
Old
#1  
PaulusJ93's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Feb 2011
Question [Q] HTC One M7 - Possibly bricked?

Hi everybody,

Normally i dont get stuck but this time ive hit a rock, basically Ive got a HTC One which then had the bootloader unlocked and a GE ROM with CWM installed.

What I did was possibly stupid as i S-Offed to clear the tampered/relocked status and before running the stock RUU I relocked the bootloader and S-Oned (this is to later sell the handset as close to stock as possible).

What happens now is the phone will boot into the bootloader/fastboot with a TAMPERED/LOCKED/Security Warning status however any attempt to flash ZIP will backfire in signature verify failed.

Ive tried any number of RUU/img/recovery/ZIPs to get it functioning however the closest I've been is using the rom.zip from "RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_HTC_Europe_1.28.401.7_Radio_4A.13 .3231.27_10.31.1131.05_release_310878_signed.exe" which stalled due to the main-version being above the RUU.

My info:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.54.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.14
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 2.24.61.1
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno:
(bootloader) imei:
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4272mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: RUU
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-d16dc66985
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0

- to note it was ORANG001 before i changed the CID to HTC__001

From what i can tell as i cant boot into anything i cant get S-OFF or unlock the bootloader again, can anyone think of a way to either downgrade/edit the main-version or make it skip the check?

Thanks in advance
 
alray
Old
#2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 943
Posts: 2,423
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulusJ93 View Post
Hi everybody,

Normally i dont get stuck but this time ive hit a rock, basically Ive got a HTC One which then had the bootloader unlocked and a GE ROM with CWM installed.

What I did was possibly stupid as i S-Offed to clear the tampered/relocked status and before running the stock RUU I relocked the bootloader and S-Oned (this is to later sell the handset as close to stock as possible).

What happens now is the phone will boot into the bootloader/fastboot with a TAMPERED/LOCKED/Security Warning status however any attempt to flash ZIP will backfire in signature verify failed.

Ive tried any number of RUU/img/recovery/ZIPs to get it functioning however the closest I've been is using the rom.zip from "RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_HTC_Europe_1.28.401.7_Radio_4A.13 .3231.27_10.31.1131.05_release_310878_signed.exe" which stalled due to the main-version being above the RUU.

My info:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.54.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.14
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 2.24.61.1
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno:
(bootloader) imei:
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4272mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: RUU
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-d16dc66985
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0

- to note it was ORANG001 before i changed the CID to HTC__001

From what i can tell as i cant boot into anything i cant get S-OFF or unlock the bootloader again, can anyone think of a way to either downgrade/edit the main-version or make it skip the check?

Thanks in advance
You need s-off to use that ruu (1.28.401) and you need to downgrade hboot to 1.44.

can you still boot in cwm? Why can't you unlock the bootloader again?
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
PaulusJ93
Old
(Last edited by PaulusJ93; 30th January 2014 at 01:39 AM.)
#3  
PaulusJ93's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
You need s-off to use that ruu (1.28.401) and you need to downgrade hboot to 1.44.

can you still boot in cwm? Why can't you unlock the bootloader again?
It wont boot into anything but the bootloader, i cant unlock the bootloader as when trying to push the unlock code the error "FAILED (remote: unlock token check failed)" is generated.

In my current sticky situation would there be anyway to get an older hboot or the ENG hboot on the device?
 
alray
Old
#4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 943
Posts: 2,423
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulusJ93 View Post
It wont boot into anything but the bootloader, i cant unlock the bootloader as when trying to push the unlock code the error "FAILED (remote: unlock token check failed)" is generated.

In my current sticky situation would there be anyway to get an older hboot or the ENG hboot on the device?
are you using the same token you used to unlock the bootloader for the first time?
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
PaulusJ93
Old
#5  
PaulusJ93's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
You need s-off to use that ruu (1.28.401) and you need to downgrade hboot to 1.44.

can you still boot in cwm? Why can't you unlock the bootloader again?
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
are you using the same token you used to unlock the bootloader for the first time?
That is something i dont know as it wasnt me who unlocked it first, ive generated it twice from HTCDev and tried applying via Mac and Windows
 
alray
Old
#6  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 943
Posts: 2,423
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulusJ93 View Post
That is something i dont know as it wasnt me who unlocked it first, ive generated it twice from HTCDev and tried applying via Mac and Windows
can you post a screenshot of your cmd prompt?
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
PaulusJ93
Old
#7  
PaulusJ93's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
can you post a screenshot of your cmd prompt?
Added below for you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CMD1.PNG
Views:	24
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	2547890  
 
alray
Old
#8  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 943
Posts: 2,423
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulusJ93 View Post
Added below for you
and your unlock_code.bin was generated with this identifier token from htcdev?
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
PaulusJ93
Old
#9  
PaulusJ93's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
and your unlock_code.bin was generated with this identifier token from htcdev?
Yes, also done with an unlock_code.bin generated from the token on the last attempt before too.
 
PaulusJ93
Old
#10  
PaulusJ93's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Feb 2011
sorry for the bump?

any further ideas? I've looked at possibly decrypting a rom.zip and altering the version numbers so it will play ball however again it looks like it will need S-Off to flash that edited zip without HTCs private encryption.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes