Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy [Q] TF700T no screen

OP asus_boy

9th February 2014, 06:24 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Hi there,

My tablet wouldn't turned on, but now, It is turning on but the screen is not working. The tablet itself is working, sounds, wifi, even Touch screen.
But the screen, is just a gray screen with a minimum brightness.

Anything guys?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bfef1b77dd2936e37d6242ef098bdc4074a5c12121425ca08b73f1cc92b02b7f.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	219.5 KB
ID:	2569208  
9th February 2014, 06:38 PM   |  #2  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,058
 
3,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Looks like a dead digitizer to me..... I had to return a 5 day old TF701 and it looked just like your picture there. If you can return and exchange it with your seller, do that. If that is no option and you still have warranty fill out an RMA at Asus and send it in.
You should get all your files off the tablet and Factory Reset it before you do so. MTP should still be working, so you can use your PC to copy everything over.
Another option is to use Asus Backup to back up your stuff and restore it to the new or repaired tablet. You would have to connect the tablet via HDMI cable to a TV for anything you do on the tablet and believe me: It's a PIA to hunt and peck for just the right spot to touch on the tablet's screen while looking at the TV.... But with some persistence a high tolerance for frustration it can be done.
9th February 2014, 06:45 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Thank You Berndblb

I backed up all the files, and the warranty is finished. The service here told me they don't have extra motherboard in their warehouse.

I don't know what to do. I can't let this alone.
9th February 2014, 07:24 PM   |  #4  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,058
 
3,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
You don't need a motherboard - just a digitizer.
You could try to find one on ebay from someone selling TF700 parts.
You find tear down instructions and videos on ifixit.com. Also search YouTube for instruction videos. Check them out and decide if you think you can do it yourself. Or you have to find someone to do it for you.
Asus will do it, but that is going to cost a pretty penny.....
9th February 2014, 07:42 PM   |  #5  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,513
 
3,545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

You don't need a motherboard - just a digitizer.

The digitizer is the touch screen. If there is no picture, something else is broken.
9th February 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Thanks guys, I can do it, I can open the tablet and do the stuff.

I don't know digitizer, and as I said, the touch screen is working and fully responsive. The only thing is the screen which shows nothing but a high brightness page.
9th February 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #7  
vt220's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
It might just be that one of the ribbon cable connections has come loose.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk
10th February 2014, 09:40 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by vt220

It might just be that one of the ribbon cable connections has come loose.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk

No, I checked the ribbons myself. They are all correct.
10th February 2014, 04:09 PM   |  #9  
flhthemi's Avatar
Senior Member
Statesville, NC
Thanks Meter: 26
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
If you need to see the tablet's desktop you can connect it to an HDMI input on a TV. This might also indicate if it is a motherboard or GPU or other problem if the TV won't display the video signal.
10th February 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by flhthemi

If you need to see the tablet's desktop you can connect it to an HDMI input on a TV. This might also indicate if it is a motherboard or GPU or other problem if the TV won't display the video signal.

Thanks!

If the TV won't display the output, so the problem is not the motherboard right?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes