FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Error while trying to update to 4.4 (D800)

19 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By rohan611, Junior Member on 24th February 2014, 04:51 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey all. I have a rooted D800 (AT&T variant) with stock recovery and on firmware version D80010q. I am trying to update to the KitKat, but It's giving me an error every time I download and try to update. The error is: Err: 0x1111004. When the phone reboots, it says "This device is suspected in rooting. Software update is not available for rooted device".

I have tried using OTA rootkeeper to temporarily unroot, but it doesn't seem to work. Is there any way for me to get the update without having to flash back to stock?
 
 
24th February 2014, 05:31 PM |#2  
dirty2k9's Avatar
Senior Member
Not Of This World
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
This is my problem too. Hopefully there is a way.

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app
24th February 2014, 06:45 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Maybe doing a factory reset from stock recovery?

Sent from my LG-D805 using xda app-developers app
24th February 2014, 09:39 PM |#4  
antawnm26's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan611

Hey all. I have a rooted D800 (AT&T variant) with stock recovery and on firmware version D80010q. I am trying to update to the KitKat, but It's giving me an error every time I download and try to update. The error is: Err: 0x1111004. When the phone reboots, it says "This device is suspected in rooting. Software update is not available for rooted device".

I have tried using OTA rootkeeper to temporarily unroot, but it doesn't seem to work. Is there any way for me to get the update without having to flash back to stock?

Its due to the custom recovery you have on it..Go back to stock dont root and update...maybe try root keeper to see if that can help
24th February 2014, 09:40 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by antawnm26

Its due to the custom recovery you have on it..Go back to stock dont root and update...maybe try root keeper to see if that can help

nope. as i said in the OP< i have a stock recovery.
24th February 2014, 09:42 PM |#6  
antawnm26's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan611

nope. as i said in the OP< i have a stock recovery.

then try root keeper it will disable root but back up root path and reinstate it once the update is done
24th February 2014, 09:45 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by antawnm26

then try root keeper it will disable root but back up root path and reinstate it once the update is done

as i said in the OP...I tried root keeper to temporarily unroot and it didn't work. I'm going back to stock and going from there.
24th February 2014, 09:49 PM |#8  
antawnm26's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan611

as i said in the OP...I tried root keeper to temporarily unroot and it didn't work. I'm going back to stock and going from there.

lol..yeah i read each statement in your OP just wanted to get to that last part of you saying your going back to stock and going from there, because thats your next option....
24th February 2014, 10:46 PM |#9  
Member
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Let us know if you went back to stock then did the update and it worked.
25th February 2014, 07:09 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Lincoln
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
I've read that some people kept root through their OTA. Why are some people able to update and others aren't. I've been reading up on this for the VZW update whenever that happens. I hope I haven't kept all this bloatware on my phone for no reason!!

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
25th February 2014, 04:23 PM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hinduboy74

Let us know if you went back to stock then did the update and it worked.

I reverted back to stock using the instructions in the Stickied post. I was then able to update to D80010o. I had to call to request a rep to push out the D80010q update again though. They're calling it a "security update" so you should use that phrase when talking to the rep so that they don't get confused and think that you're just requesting that they push out the KitKat update.

Once I got the D80010q update, the KitKat update was available and I was able to update. Unfortunately, I didn't try to root it prior to updating - though to be honest, I don't really feel the need to root anymore. Only reason I had it rooted before was to get the multitasking button, but I'm okay with using an S3 layout (Menu, Home, Back) since that's the phone I'm coming from.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes