Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,406 Members 42,382 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

phone power button broken. how to i reset to send to verizon

Tip us?
 
makos101
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 80
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsilvania
Default phone power button broken. how to i reset to send to verizon

Hello my phone's power button just died and my phone wont turn on. Its being replaced by verizon for free. Is there any way I can reformat it so I dont get in trouble for an open boot loader and a rooted rom? My phone wont turn on at all because the power button is not connected. So I need to do something when its powered off to reset it. Thank you
 
Chris Kurisu
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jan 2014
I can't try this but maybe it's worth a shot.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2128581

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk
__________________________________________
Use Google to search this forum to find answers to common questions or issues.

Click here: site:forum.xda-developers.com your-question-or-issue-here

 
makos101
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 80
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsilvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Kurisu View Post
I can't try this but maybe it's worth a shot.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2128581

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk
I gave it a try but didnt have any luck. Any other suggestions?
 
Chris Kurisu
Old
(Last edited by Chris Kurisu; 25th February 2014 at 06:39 AM.)
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jan 2014
Googling this brings up many more xda threads than I could reasonably read. However, being much more motivated you might try them. Post back any results. It would be nice to be able to help others.

Cut and paste this search string. Note the site: syntax that returns only results from xda forums and the inclusion of s3 and siii to narrow it to your device.

site:xda-developers.com broken power button turn on "s3" "siii

Edit: replace the emoticon with a : directly followed by an x. Sheesh!
__________________________________________
Use Google to search this forum to find answers to common questions or issues.

Click here: site:forum.xda-developers.com your-question-or-issue-here

 
Jacquestrapp
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 148
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by makos101 View Post
I gave it a try but didnt have any luck. Any other suggestions?
1. Take the battery out of the phone and unplug it from USB power.
2. Plug in USB power.
3. While holding down the volume-down button and the Home button, insert the battery.
4. The phone should start in Download mode, from here you can use Odin to return the phone to stock.
 
Sandman-007
Old
#6  
Sandman-007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 613
Posts: 1,488
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacquestrapp View Post
1. Take the battery out of the phone and unplug it from USB power.
2. Plug in USB power.
3. While holding down the volume-down button and the Home button, insert the battery.
4. The phone should start in Download mode, from here you can use Odin to return the phone to stock.
Maybe you should read the OP before posting. His power button is broken. So he can't enter Odin

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
Samsung Galaxy S3, SOKP
 
Chris Kurisu
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jan 2014
I also read that doing the volume down and home button combo without battery but plugged in enters download mode. Wild. Any luck?

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk
__________________________________________
Use Google to search this forum to find answers to common questions or issues.

Click here: site:forum.xda-developers.com your-question-or-issue-here

 
BadUsername
Old
#8  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 641
Posts: 1,305
Join Date: Mar 2013
You can enter download mode without the power button.

Use terminal emulator,

Su
reboot download

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
 
Jacquestrapp
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 148
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman-007 View Post
Maybe you should read the OP before posting. His power button is broken. So he can't enter Odin

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
Maybe you should read what I wrote. I didn't mention the power button because you don't need it to get into Download mode.
 
Chris Kurisu
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jan 2014
Per Jacquestrapp I took the battery out of my s3, plugged into to usb power, held the home/vol down key combo while re-inserting the battery (not easy) and it's now in download mode. Try it. It should work for you.

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk
__________________________________________
Use Google to search this forum to find answers to common questions or issues.

Click here: site:forum.xda-developers.com your-question-or-issue-here


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes