FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

[Q] How long does it usually take to flash 10MB stock recovery?

100 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By frojnd, Senior Member on 26th February 2014, 11:27 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
HI there. I want to update the latest OTA for UK (bought my phone from amazon.co.uk)

So I downloaded Blur_Version.174.44.9.falcon_umts.Retail.en.GB kitkat version since I have 4.4 and extracted it and tried to install stock recovery over not working TWRP. So I did fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

This is what I see in windoze terminal:
Code:
>fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
target reported max download size of 536870912 bytes
sending 'recovery' (10240 KB)...
OKAY [  0.375s]
writing 'recovery'...
This is what I see in fastboot:
Code:
cmd: getvar:partition-type:recovery
cmd: getvar:max-download-size
cmd: download:00a00000
cmd: flash:recovery
What could be wrong with not properly installing stock recovery?
Last edited by frojnd; 26th February 2014 at 11:27 PM. Reason: code not properly wrapped
 
 
26th February 2014, 11:42 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Where can I get stock recovery for xt1032 bought from amazon.co.uk running kitkat?

I have no problem installing TWRP (which is buggy in my case and has not features of backing up or restoring).
27th February 2014, 12:22 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
It happens the same with Blur_Version.14.71.8.falcon_umts.Retail.en.GB jelly bean version.

Any ideas where I can get stock recovery for xt1032?

Found one here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2616399

However I get the same as with previous ones:
Code:
target reported max download size of 536870912 bytes
sending 'recovery' (10240 KB)...
OKAY [  0.378s]
writing 'recovery'...
Last edited by frojnd; 27th February 2014 at 12:32 AM. Reason: found recovery
27th February 2014, 07:14 AM |#4  
mokkami's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pune (IN), Düsseldorf (DE)
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
Hmmm...no solution for your problem atm.
But you'll find the stock recovery in the zip you've downloaded.
So just extract recovery.img

....maybe something ist wrong with the partition.
If you want you can try to erase it:

Quote:

fastboot erase recovery

27th February 2014, 10:02 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mokkami

Hmmm...no solution for your problem atm.
But you'll find the stock recovery in the zip you've downloaded.
So just extract recovery.img

....maybe something ist wrong with the partition.
If you want you can try to erase it:


If I erase partition, will fastboot flash recovery recovery.img recreate it? Or do I have to create it by hand before I try to flash new recovery?

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
27th February 2014, 10:29 AM |#6  
mokkami's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pune (IN), Düsseldorf (DE)
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frojnd

If I erase partition, will fastboot flash recovery recovery.img recreate it?

Yes
27th February 2014, 05:23 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mokkami

Yes

I tried and it's the same. I can't flash stock recovery. It hangs at
Code:
writing 'recovery'...
So for me as I have rooted, unlocked bootloader and encrypted. The only solution for installing newst update that fixes loss of signal is to:

1) factory reset my phone -> loose encryption
2) try to install stock recovery afterwards?

or:

1) Follow this guide for installing stock recovery http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7#post47820707

which will also have stock recovery or not? And do I have to factory reset before I perform this (due to my phone being encrypted) or not?

Doesn't factory reset needs working recovery?
27th February 2014, 09:49 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
With awesome user on @freenode, awesome user @utkanos helped me with ditching /data by making f2fs file system:

1) go to recover (in my case broken TWRP)
2) adb shell (from OS)
3) mkfs.f2fs /dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/userdata (from OS)

All done. Reboot and you are out of encryption and all user data and apps. Will try to flash stock recovery now.

edit1: tried to flash it with fastboot command but it hanged like in all previous attempts. So I installed OTA even thoug I had philz recovery. The effect was like that that it went to philz recovery and wrote about this signature is not ok.... I taped ignore and it did go to a ahalf of bar progress and then just rebooted and went into system. After couple of seconds it just rebooted and the procedure repeated itself.

edit2: Managed to flash it with mfastboot.exe flash boot boot.img
mfastboot.exe flash recovery recovery.img

FINALYY! And then it installed update properly 176.44.1.en.GB rooted, unlocked
Last edited by frojnd; 27th February 2014 at 11:16 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
kitkat, recovery, stock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes