Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,079 Members 51,172 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Actually considering trading my S4 Active for a SIII. Should I or shouldnt I?

Tip us?
 
cablemirc
Old
(Last edited by cablemirc; 27th February 2014 at 11:00 PM.) Reason: title truncated
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Oct 2006
Question [Q] Actually considering trading my S4 Active for a SIII. Should I or shouldnt I?

now i know it seems like a crazy idea, as the s4 active is a much newer phone. but since the s4a bootloader is locked, and i cant run any other roms (4.3 with ML2.. can't even root), i'm contemplating the choice. see, i'm an independent contractor, and i depend on near instantaneous system response to nab work orders from my platform ( I cant have my platform app take 5 seconds to boot because other bloatware programs are running and hogging memory), and without the ability to deactivate the at&t bloat or run something like CM, or a clean rom i find myself sometimes missing valuable jobs by fractions of a second.

i'm sure there are a lot of S4 active fans here, so i'll ask you before i make this trade.
what do you feel i can do short of swapping my new phone for an older phone to increase system responsiveness?
I've about had it with this S4 Active.

edit: GAH. title truncated. was supposed to say "what can you recommend i do before i resort to this trade"
 
Vattu
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablemirc View Post
now i know it seems like a crazy idea, as the s4 active is a much newer phone. but since the s4a bootloader is locked, and i cant run any other roms (4.3 with ML2.. can't even root), i'm contemplating the choice. see, i'm an independent contractor, and i depend on near instantaneous system response to nab work orders from my platform ( I cant have my platform app take 5 seconds to boot because other bloatware programs are running and hogging memory), and without the ability to deactivate the at&t bloat or run something like CM, or a clean rom i find myself sometimes missing valuable jobs by fractions of a second.

i'm sure there are a lot of S4 active fans here, so i'll ask you before i make this trade.
what do you feel i can do short of swapping my new phone for an older phone to increase system responsiveness?
I've about had it with this S4 Active.

edit: GAH. title truncated. was supposed to say "what can you recommend i do before i resort to this trade"
see if the international version can work in the USA. It doesn't have the bootloader locked, neither is it bound with any carrier.
 
adelynn2006
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2013
I went from the S3 to the S4A after buying a broken S4A and fixing the screen. I keep the S3 as a backup. Same as you I am sad that the 4.3 isn't rooted yet. I can fix the phones physically but I am no where near a software writing type of gal.

I would say sure do it. The S3 is a great phone. The regular S4 is too and I believe is rooted because it is a popular phone. Once thing I would be wary of is that the S4 screens are running about 180-200 dollars where as the S4A are about 120$ and the S3 are about 80-90. I keep all of mine in cases but I have had a screen break in a Waterproof/dustproof/everything proof case before

Just something to think about.
 
Naddict
Old
#4  
Naddict's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 13662
Posts: 8,351
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: 28.2S, 92.1W
please take this here...http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2660608
Every time you don't use search, a kitten, bunny, baby turtle, and fuzzy Harp Seal are killed.

Read the Rules! -- Search Before You Post! -- Learn about XDA -- Need A Moderators Help? -- Get the Most out of XDA! -- Curious about GPL?
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes